Customer Reviews


179 Reviews
5 star:
 (125)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best toys
One of the best (and cheapest) things I have ever bought and believe me i've been through lots of toys. had so much fun with these bought another one for friends little one. Takes them through lots of stages and ages stacking and the best bit knocking them down, (which pleases my 9 month old) learning colours, counting and threading. (which my 3 year old with development...
Published on 20 Oct. 2010 by happy harry

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good basic toy - wish I'd got it when she was 2
This amused my 3 year old daughter for 10 minutes when it first came out the box, but she has shown no interest since when I suggest it. I think she would have got more out of this a year ago - now she is happy with her colours, and can build towers of bricks etc fairly easily, so that only leaves the threading, which only kept her busy for a little while. She's old...
Published on 10 April 2011 by Liz


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best toys, 20 Oct. 2010
By 
happy harry (Norfolk England) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cotton Reels (Toy)
One of the best (and cheapest) things I have ever bought and believe me i've been through lots of toys. had so much fun with these bought another one for friends little one. Takes them through lots of stages and ages stacking and the best bit knocking them down, (which pleases my 9 month old) learning colours, counting and threading. (which my 3 year old with development delays has really enjoyed) Great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best child's toy ever!!, 20 Jan. 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cotton Reels (Toy)
WOW!!! These are just as I remember them, lots of fun, very durable and great for teaching colours, numbers and balancing!!!!

My little fellow loves playing with these, he's 3 and we play counting games, balancing games, colour games and make things with them!!

Hours of good clean fun to be had with these!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Good, 22 Dec. 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cotton Reels (Toy)
Bought this for my 2yr olds birthday as a bit of a filler present - she loves it! It's been good for learning to thread, colours, counting, turn taking, building towers and learning all the language that goes with these games - oh and of course just plain rolling them about for fun! I'd highly recommend them for 18mths +
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant yet simple., 3 Sept. 2011
By 
KM (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cotton Reels (Toy)
I've bought this educational toy for my nephew. There are 20 cotton reels in four different colours so five of each in Red, Blue, Yellow amd Green. Also a thick threading string. That's it! The reels are of standard size and are perfect for little hands to handle as is the string. The reels are well finished so no sharp bits at all as you'd expect. They are great! So many uses for stacking up, colour sorting, counting, threading of course which kids love! You could even play in water with the reels I suppose? My nephew is two soon so a perfect age I think for these as preperation for early nursery as well as them being fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cotton Pickin fun, 11 Feb. 2011
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cotton Reels (Toy)
My son who's autistic loves these cotton reels as they help him concentrate & help with his fine motor skills, each time he plays with it he gets 10-15 mins of entertainment out of it, which is great in my opinion for such a cheap & simple idea, well worth having as an extra item in the games cupbard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The cotton reels themselves are fantastic! I use them with a home made 'posting ..., 16 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cotton Reels (Toy)
The cotton reels themselves are fantastic! I use them with a home made 'posting tin' with kids aged from 1 - 4. In case anyone's interested, you get one of those 'sharing' tubs that you get snacks (Twiglets, cheese footballs etc) in at Christmas, trace round one of the ends of the cotton reels in the middle of the lid, cut out the circle shape and show the children how to post the reels in. Literally hours of entertainment! However, for some reason they've changed the thread that comes in the box, specifically the plastic coated end, making it much smaller and harder to manage which is a shame. the first set I bought the thread was great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good basic toy - wish I'd got it when she was 2, 10 April 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cotton Reels (Toy)
This amused my 3 year old daughter for 10 minutes when it first came out the box, but she has shown no interest since when I suggest it. I think she would have got more out of this a year ago - now she is happy with her colours, and can build towers of bricks etc fairly easily, so that only leaves the threading, which only kept her busy for a little while. She's old enough now to understand that beads or something pretty would make a better necklace, but would lack the co-ordination to thread that sort of thing.

The plastic cotton reels are very durable and could be played with by a very young child, although you'd obviously need to take the cord away. Lots of interesting holes to shove your fingers in :-)

Very good value, but of limited interest to a 3 year old (well mine, anyway!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So many ways to play!, 16 April 2010
By 
S. Evison (Lincs, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cotton Reels (Toy)
Bought this for my one year old, it's a good price and will have a long shelf-life. He loves it now - he plays with the reels individually, they're good for little hands and there are lots of ways we can play in the future, they can be used for learning colours, stacking, rolling, threading, banging together etc. They're also good for slipping into a bag for a bit of entertainment on the move as they're quite versatile and quite compact. Recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simple but effective toy, 5 Jan. 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cotton Reels (Toy)
I bought this after my little boy was kept "quiet" for an hour by this toy which belonged to a friend of mine. That same week, the health visitor also used a version of this toy with which she assessed his development at his two year health check. I knew it was a winner and couldn't wait to give him this gift at Christmas. He said "oh wow" when he opened it as he knew what it was and it did indeed do its job. He loves to thread these cotton reels or bobbins for hours. They are brightly coloured so he plays with the different colours separately and then he plays about with the rope. The only draw back is perhaps the lenght of the rope, not entirely safe if your a paranoid mum like me and has visions of him wrapping it round his neck but supervised (like any toy or play) it is absolutely fine. If you want your little one to be amused for a while (e.g. while traveling) this toy is hard to beat. Simplicity itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple but fun, 21 Jan. 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cotton Reels (Toy)
So simple but so many ways to use these. We havent got to the lacing stage yet but the building and sorting by colour is great. Big fan of galt products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cotton Reels
Cotton Reels by Galt Toys
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews