Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars10
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 1 August 2005
Any one who has heard the same group's "All'Improvisso" (a BBC Radio 3 CD Review record of the year '04) should check this CD out. It doesn't have the same element of jazz cross-over, but does share the same spirit of improvisation and sense of sheer enjoyment in the music. I'm not sure what sort of music it is exactly - traditional, folk, - not classical in the sticter senses of the word. All the tunes here are based on traditional dances that were used to cure those apparently afflicted by Tarantula bites in Italy - as much a symbolic complaint as a medical one, as the fascinating booklet explains. Lavishly (and slightly eccentrically) packaged in the finest Alpha traditions, this should appeal to fans of some of Jordi Savall's more "off the beaten track" recordings, purchasers of the Pluhar CD mentioned above, and anyone who appreciates a rattling good tune.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2011
In the Middle Ages, there was thought to be a disease called "Tarantismo", which was supposed to be caused by the bite of a tarantula. The only way of dealing with this was by music therapy (no, I am not kidding) and through the dance known as the Tarantella. Intrigued? Well, I was - and this album doesn't disappoint. It is a collection of tarantellas, about half of which were written in the 17th century, the rest of them being more modern - largely because the dance was so infectious. Played by this astonishing group, the music really comes to life and the recording quality is beyond reproach.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
The rythm in some of these Italian baroque pieces is so good that you just feel like dancing and the old-Italian words have a charm of their own.
The CD booklet is a very interesting read too, with explananations on the music, traditional instruments used and the middle-age belief that you could be cured from tarentula spider bites with music!!
(PS: I first heard the music when watching a French film called "Tous les soleils" (also excellent) and just had to find the CD - Not disappointed I did!)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2010
This CD was purchased after buying two other L'Arpeggiata CD's after hearing a piece on Radio 3, I didn't need to see a review before purchasing this; I knew it would be good. The music is magical and the story of La Tarantella is intriguing. I looked on their website for concert venues and realised it was likely to be a trip to Holland, Spain etc to see them; but then noticed they are at the Wigmore Hall next year - so the magic will continue by being able to see and hear them live.

Sue Davies
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
Another fascinating and highly enjoyable collection from Arpeggiata, clearly stamped with their style and type of content I have come to appreciate so much. A sheer delight for me & I can recommend this disc very highly to anyone keen on investigating the traditional/ classical/ medieval world of music this formation covers so brilliantly. A joy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2011
Came across L'Arpeggiata quite by chance and am very glad I did so. The other two reviews say all there is about this fantastic CD but just to add... it's great and just goes to show that good music stands the test of time - especially if played by such outstanding musicians!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
Beautiful eclectic collection of folk / jazz / classical music. Haunting vocals and exciting instrumentals throughout. Some tracks (especially Luna Lunedda) insist you get up and dance, others that you listen to the soulful voices. Lovely!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
I cannot stop listening this cd. Those people who did it are very talented, very gifted. Their songs bring joy .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Marco Beasley has a wonderful voice and Arpeggiata produces beautiful cds
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
as do I
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.