Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the 35 year wait!
Having been fortunate enough to have been at the concert on May 1st I was interested to see how well this DVD would stack up against the experience. I'm pleased to say that it does so very well. The set starts with the Fanfare, then works sequentially through Tudorture, Catherine Aragon, Kathryn Howard, Jane Seymour, Defender of the Faith, Katherine Parr, Anne of Cleves,...
Published on 11 Oct 2009 by P. W. H. Bradley

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have been a double
I was at the Saturday performance at Hampton Court. On the day I was able to buy a recording of the performance. It was recorded and mixed live so while of a very good quality, could certainly have benefited from a remix as some instruments came out rather loud in the mix and others were rather lost.
The performance was quite long with extended numbers and some new...
Published on 15 Oct 2009 by R. Hughes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the 35 year wait!, 11 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Six Wives Of Henry VIII - Live At Hampton Court Palace (Audio CD)
Having been fortunate enough to have been at the concert on May 1st I was interested to see how well this DVD would stack up against the experience. I'm pleased to say that it does so very well. The set starts with the Fanfare, then works sequentially through Tudorture, Catherine Aragon, Kathryn Howard, Jane Seymour, Defender of the Faith, Katherine Parr, Anne of Cleves, Anne Boleyn, Tudorock.

Camera work is good, sound quality is perfectly acceptable, and the introductory elements by the marvellous Brian Blessed are delightful. There's a bonus feature 'behind the scenes with Rick' which is fine, but nothing particularly exciting. I'd have liked to have seen more of the Hampton court backdrop, with each wife in turn being projected onto it, and the 'extravaganza' element with the raised piano and so on. However, these are minor elements.

Will you enjoy this? If you were at the event on either night the answer is a definate yes; it's a great memory jogger as much as anything else. If you're a fan of Wakeman and were unable to be at the event, this is the next best option. If you have a passing enjoyment of the Six Wives, then I'd suggest that again this is worth getting, because each piece is longer, more intricate and more exciting than the version you'll have heard. Of course, you also get the addition of the 3 extra pieces that should have been included on the original recordings, but which space didn't allow.

This is Henry VIII and the Six Wives as it should have been. Marvellous stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wakeman at his best, 29 Jan 2010
By 
Peter Wintle (Solihull, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Six Wives Of Henry VIII - Live At Hampton Court Palace (Audio CD)
This version of the six wives of Henry VIII is by far more dramatic and exciting, with three extra tracks which differs it from the original, and the fact it is a live recording gives it that edge. Nice to see that Rick has his son Adam in the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have been a double, 15 Oct 2009
By 
R. Hughes "Grumpy Old Git" (Deepest Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Six Wives Of Henry VIII - Live At Hampton Court Palace (Audio CD)
I was at the Saturday performance at Hampton Court. On the day I was able to buy a recording of the performance. It was recorded and mixed live so while of a very good quality, could certainly have benefited from a remix as some instruments came out rather loud in the mix and others were rather lost.
The performance was quite long with extended numbers and some new ones so it was obvious that when the official album came out it would be a double. This has clearly not been the case though. For example, Anne Bolyn was 16:26 on the night but is only 10:12 on the album. While the original LP suffered from the 40 minute limit, the extended piece has now had to be edited to fit the 80 minute format of the CD. I will buy the CD to add to my collection but am disappointed that they did not bite the bullet and go for the double CD format. I will also be getting the DVD and hope that it has not been likewise cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hardly stop playing it, 13 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. DJ KING (Beds., England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Six Wives Of Henry VIII - Live At Hampton Court Palace (Audio CD)
Admittedly I am an avid Rick Wakeman fan but I think this recording is excellent. Worth the price just to hear "Defender of the Faith" alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Prog at its best!, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Six Wives Of Henry VIII - Live At Hampton Court Palace (Audio CD)
Wakeman does it again and he does it by doing it again! Great remake of the 1973 solo album, this time, live. No doubt a prog rock classic of all times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked the original....., 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Six Wives Of Henry VIII - Live At Hampton Court Palace (Audio CD)
I'm sure you'll love this.
Lovely crisp and clear recording, with 'extras' compared to the original studio album.
The only thing that's confusing me (not difficult to do :-))....Is that I notice in the credits that Brian Blessed is named as the narrator.
Did I have a sneezing fit and miss his contribution ?.....Or does he only appear on the DVD ?
A great 'album' anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Six Wives Of Henry VIII, 31 May 2013
By 
This review is from: The Six Wives Of Henry VIII - Live At Hampton Court Palace (Audio CD)
Love this album :o)

Had this album on vynal previously.

Catherine Howard is my favourite track.

I would highly recommend this CD if you had been a fan of him in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good version of classic album, 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Six Wives Of Henry VIII - Live At Hampton Court Palace (Audio CD)
Rick Wakeman's first classic ( and best) album re-interpreted live with added sections not included in original album due to time restraints of vinyl. Hard choice between this and original album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Live Album, 2 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Six Wives Of Henry VIII - Live At Hampton Court Palace (Audio CD)
I remember when the Six Wives was originally released on vinyl. This release is by far much better than the original, with the additional tracks added to the recording. I think the additional tracks complement and complete the original album tracks. Its Rick Wakeman at his best. At this price its a bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars wakeman at his most average, 3 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Six Wives Of Henry VIII - Live At Hampton Court Palace (Audio CD)
As a lifelong wakeman fan and having purchased the original version of the six wives of Henry the VIII I had great expectations for this cd. The production and sound isn't at it's best and some of the tracks are just too long. However, still love rick wakeman's style of playing and would still recommend this album to dire hard wakeman fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews