Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome entertainment!!!
I think,as with most people I imagine, I wanted to see this program to see how Mr Swayze could cope acting a whole season in his condition...and I must say he does this with the same grit and determination he is showing his disease! He is astounding as FBI agent Charles Barker. He is given a new rookie partner,Ellis Dove (Travis Fimmel) who unbeknownst to Barker, is...
Published on 28 Aug. 2009 by Mr. J. W. Mc Evoy

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cliched nonsense
Oh dear I don't know why people loved this so much as I really hated it.
It seems the writers took all of the cliches from cop dramas and added them in.
Let me see: tough, no-nonsense grizzled old cop who will cut all corners and throw the rule book out of the window to get results.
A young rookie who varies between completely useless and actually not too...
Published 9 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome entertainment!!!, 28 Aug. 2009
By 
Mr. J. W. Mc Evoy - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beast: Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I think,as with most people I imagine, I wanted to see this program to see how Mr Swayze could cope acting a whole season in his condition...and I must say he does this with the same grit and determination he is showing his disease! He is astounding as FBI agent Charles Barker. He is given a new rookie partner,Ellis Dove (Travis Fimmel) who unbeknownst to Barker, is actually there to investigate the rumour that Barker is a rogue agent. As the series progresses, Dove begins to understand Barker and respects his ways, as does Barker of Dove. Together they uncover a conspiracy about a group of rogue FBI agents that operate outside the law. An absolute gem of a TV series, full of action and suspense. I am just gutted that ABC have cancelled it, because the show ends on a cliffhanger. Please if anyone involved with the show reads this, make a feature lentgh episode to tie off the loose ends.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED ENTERTAINMENT!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beast, 18 Nov. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beast: Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Brilliant drama. Patrick Swazye was fantastic. So sad that this was his last appearance. Not sure how they could make series 2, but as a tribute to him - they should
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent performance by Patrick Swayze, 24 Jun. 2011
By 
Uenna (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beast: Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I watched this series as a tribute to Patrick Swayze as this was his last acting performance before his death. It was a remarkable performance considering the circumstances under which he filmed this series. His grit and determination showed the strength of character he exhibited in trying to overcome his failing health. `The Beast' portrays the life of an eccentric and unconventional FBI agent Charles Barker who was assigned a new rookie partner, an ex- marine. However unknown to Barker he was also a double agent sent to investigate him. The story reaches fever pitch in the final episodes when Charles Barker rattles the cage of some corrupt FBI agents who have were like a firm within the firm and had to take them on to avenge their using him years ago to eliminate an innocent, a friend of his. The hunter became the hunted, Can he outsmart and out run the rest of the force that were after him?
I found some of the episodes too dark and would probably not revisit this series in a hurry. However the acting was superb and the storylines were very believable. The DVD comes packed with a lot of special features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beast, 17 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beast: Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Loved this series, dealt with some interesting story lines, very realistic, great acting, brilliant, complex characters just great. One to watch. I am a Patrick fan through and through and am sad that he has moved on to the next world, R.I.P.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEAST, The BEST, 16 April 2010
By 
Paul J. Jackson (UK , Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beast: Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This series is 1 of the BEST i have seen. forget ponsy Kiefer in 24. swayze is hard as nails. he gives it his all throughout the whole series. ACTION PACKED! Sad that they cancelled the show, they should do a second season Deddicated to Patrick with his brother Don in his role. R.I.P "The names Dalton" "Be Nice" "No body puts Baby in the corner" "Its my way or the Highway" BUY IT NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swayze at his best, 19 Sept. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beast: Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
The Beast is simply fantastic. If you enjoyed Patrick Swayze in Dirty Dancing and any of his other films you will love this series. I believe from his autobiography that he got this series as he was diagnosed with cancer. His character Charles Barker is an edgy undercover agent always slightly on the edge of wrong and right. Barker and his newly qualified partner played by Travis Fimmel take on arms dealers among others and try to keep personal and professional lives seperate. I personally think this is Patrick Swayze at his best. The Beast is action packed and at the end wants you leaving more. I don't think you could continue without Mr Swayze. This isn't a particularly long series 13 episodes but is very entertaining and well worth a watch. 5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent drama., 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beast: Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This was gripping right from the first episode. You very quickly get hooked on the complexity of the relationship between the characters played by Patrick Swayze and Travis Fimmel. This is truth AND consequences... Just who is out to get them? It has been said in tv review pages that this is the character that Patrick was born to play - I would have to agree, It was such a shame that the series didn't continue after Patricks death with Travis Fimmels character and how he moved forward from all the revelations and coped with the things he had done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty, witty and good storylines., 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beast: Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Swayze's performance is great. Excellent series and definitely worth buying. Shame there will be no more.
Certainly not with Swayze anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beast: Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Although Patrick wasn't well while he was filming this he still gave a great performance and the story was good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beast, 4 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beast: Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I really enjoyed watching this series, such a shame that Patrick died he was brilliant in this. Unfortunately no one else could replace Patrick in the lead role, he made it his own. I would definitely recommend purchasing this series if you are a Swayze fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beast: Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2009]
The Beast: Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2009] by Michael Dinner (DVD - 2009)
Used & New from: £6.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews