Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Original take on a tired genre. More comedy than a horror.
I found this very enjoyable. It will appeal to fans of "Fido" and "Shaun Of The Dead". A very unique take on the zombie medium, lots of fresh ideas, amusing and witty dialogue, and genuinely likeable characters (something that you don't get too often these days). Not to be taken too seriously. Yes, the premise does borrow a little from Return of the Living Dead, but that...
Published on 15 Sept. 2011 by Mr Underground

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Original, but needs work
This film is very very original, but needs work. The storyline is simple and brilliant. A zombie movie from the point of view of the zombie. Awesome right? Well yes and no. The Idea is good but unfortunatly it hasn't been worked on hard enough. Here's a sum up of the plot, a group of friends mix ice-cream with beer and eat it, but the ice-cream has been contamenated with...
Published on 31 Mar. 2010 by Dezza


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Original take on a tired genre. More comedy than a horror., 15 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Wasting Away [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I found this very enjoyable. It will appeal to fans of "Fido" and "Shaun Of The Dead". A very unique take on the zombie medium, lots of fresh ideas, amusing and witty dialogue, and genuinely likeable characters (something that you don't get too often these days). Not to be taken too seriously. Yes, the premise does borrow a little from Return of the Living Dead, but that is merely the background of the story; the main character plots are very different in style and tone. I like how the film starts of very comic book, and how the film switches from black and white to colour in various parts of the film to show the difference between what the humans perceive and what the zombies perceive. I found the idea highly amusing, that the only uninfected people that could communicate with the zombies on their level were those who were blind drunk. This whole premise was a stroke of genius in my opinion and executed extremely well for a low budget film. There are a little tips of the hat to Romero films too, but this is basically it's own boss and tosses convention to it's side. I was very impressed with the special FX and makeup and the general look of the film too. Nice camera work and editing. I won;t go to much into the plot as others have already. Not an out-and-out classic, and maybe not one for the hardcore blood-and-guts brigade, but a good fun, beer and friends movie, which is worthy of minor cult status. I would rate this on a par with Fido, which is another ingenius twist on the satirical zom-com theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great original Zombie Comedy, 9 Oct. 2009
By 
I love New York (Not in New York) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wasting Away [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This is a great film. As the other reviewer has stated it is totally original and tells the story from the Zombie point of view. They see themselves as normal but when the films changes to the human point of view they are the walking dead.

I haven't seen a film like this before and makes a welcome alternative addition to the Zombie genre.

Only found out about it from itun*s and refuse to buy films from them when Amazon offers for so much less.

Buy this film and sit back and laugh.

4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bonkers genius!, 8 Oct. 2009
By 
I Am Tyler Durden (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wasting Away [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
What a great idea; A classic Romero style Zombie outbreak told from the point of view of the zombies. To them everything seems normal and they think everyone else has gone crazy. We follow the zombies on thier quest to save the world with what they think are superhero powers to take bullets and dismemberment and much hilarity ensues as we see the mayhem from the points of view of both sides. The plot is great with characters I rooted for. Less gory than Shaun of the Dead but enough to service the plot and in a comedy context it's easy going. Overall just totally original and it does a great job of running with the concept and taking it as far as it can and in unexpected directions. I only knocked off a star because it just needed a little more oomph at the end but still a top rate B-Movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "..FUN AND ORIGINAL..", 24 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wasting Away [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
For a straight to DVD low budget film this is pretty good. It certainly is original in every way and has allot to offer that other zombie films in the past do not have. The story is pretty straight forward but is very funny in the way it plays out and there are some great new and fresh ideas like the zombies thinking they are still human because that's how they see each other. There is not too much gore or anything in this movie but does have a pretty decent budget and there are some cool effects like talking heads and rouge hands walking about and stuff like that. Overall a very funny and fresh original zombie comedy worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Zombie Movie, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wasting Away [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
If you like a bit more thought put into your zombies, how about a movie where the zombies are the heroes. These guys don't even know they are the zombies. Cool use of black & white versus colour to give 2 worldviews and traditional style zombie footage versus what the zombies experience themselves. Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Original, but needs work, 31 Mar. 2010
By 
Dezza (Bernera, Isle of Lewis) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wasting Away [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This film is very very original, but needs work. The storyline is simple and brilliant. A zombie movie from the point of view of the zombie. Awesome right? Well yes and no. The Idea is good but unfortunatly it hasn't been worked on hard enough. Here's a sum up of the plot, a group of friends mix ice-cream with beer and eat it, but the ice-cream has been contamenated with a green substance and turns the group into zombies. But here's the twist, they all think there super soldiers and everyone else is diseased. Yes it's paper-thin but enjoyable. Like I said it needs work, but don't worry am sure there will be plenty more movies of this kind in the future, good and bad. To sum up it's a good original film, with some good laughs, enjoy.

Buy if you like - Zombie films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A very B-rated movie, 24 July 2012
By 
Cakeole (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wasting Away [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Such a great concept; a view from the zobie side. However I feel that the psuedo 50's style comic approach and grainy edited colouring detracted totally from the theme. I watched the first 15 minutes waiting for the real film to begin, and that feeling never left me. The makers of Shaun of the dead, I hope, would have made a far better film and less gimmicky. I couldn't decide whether the acting was stilted or just the script very bad. It had some excellent ideas which should have made the film, instead it was like fools gold. I would suggest renting or borrowing the film first before buying. I left mine at a friends house where we watched it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious take on the Zombie genre, 3 Dec. 2012
By 
A L H (Oswestry) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wasting Away [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
There are many zombie movies to choose from, some genuinely scary, some playing it for laughs, but this one is a little different telling the story from the zombie point of view, as four friends do not realise they have become zombies and attempt to carry on as normal. Yes, it is clearly very cheaply made and the acting is not oscar worthy but this is one of those films you can put on after going to the pub with friends and just enjoy the laughs. I find it funny even after several viewings and I also think it is very clever. If you like zombies, give it a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, original zombie movie on a budget, 13 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wasting Away [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I really liked this film, which works really well on a budget.
Tightly edited, for the most part, its original viewpoint makes for a great plot and storyline.
Let down by a couple of scenes only, which is perhaps just me quibbling.
I loved the premise and the acting and direction is perfectly pitched.
I'd compare it favourably to Reanimator/Bride of Reanimator for production values and humour - in other words, well worth a punt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars "Good dead are hard to find" - And impossible to find in this film., 3 Dec. 2014
By 
J. Gates "Monster of the Midway" (Wirral, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wasting Away [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This is one of the worst films I've ever seen, who ever thought of putting the funniest British comedian ever in a role where he has no lines is a complete idiot. The reviews claim how "hysterical" the film is yet I waited the full 88 minutes for even one funny joke but it never appeared. Stay well clear of this one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wasting Away [DVD] [2007]
Wasting Away [DVD] [2007] by Matthew Kohnen (DVD - 2009)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews