Customer Reviews


142 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good transfer of the 'other' classic slasher
Having now seen the first three "Friday" films on Blu, I have to say that this is darn close to being the best. Part II maybe just edges it for picture quality, but the original is surprisingly sharp, with night-time scenes very well managed and no objectionable grain levels, for my money. Colours are occasionally a little overcooked, as in the late diner scene, but then...
Published on 10 Dec 2009 by Mr. Blu

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Friday the 13th part?
Hee, with some of the reactions to Marcus Nispel's remake/reimaging/rekindling to the 1980 Friday the 13th movie, you would think he dared to take on a sacred cow. Having already alienated much of the horror loving world after his remake of The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, this appears to be the final straw. However, and as much as I found this latest offering in the "Friday"...
Published 22 months ago by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good transfer of the 'other' classic slasher, 10 Dec 2009
This review is from: Friday The 13th - The Original [Blu-ray] [1980] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Having now seen the first three "Friday" films on Blu, I have to say that this is darn close to being the best. Part II maybe just edges it for picture quality, but the original is surprisingly sharp, with night-time scenes very well managed and no objectionable grain levels, for my money. Colours are occasionally a little overcooked, as in the late diner scene, but then the seventies were just ending and perhaps they really were wearing those colours? That aside, colours and contrasts are generally good, with fairly solid black levels. This film really puts Part III to shame in terms of picture quality.

The soundtrack is also quite impressive for the age. Forceful and sinister, particularly in the last half hour. Dialogue is maybe occasionally a bit light-sounding, but on the whole the True HD 5.1 soundtrack does a terrific job, with respectable surround and subwoofer effects. To compare it with its great rival "Halloween" of which this film was something of an imitation: the sound quality is comfortably better, the colours are richer, and sharpness is also somewhat better. I must say that I disagree with the reviewer who states that this is not a worthwhile upgrade from the DVD. This seems to me unfair as picture quality and sound quality are markedly superior.

It's hard to say how well the film has aged as it leaves such mixed impressions. Much of the acting seems much weaker now than I had remembered. The plot remains the great ace in the sleeve, with a magnificent twist and a truly shocking ending. It is true that the effects are no longer very convincing, especially in HD, and double especially for anyone who has also seen the recent remake! Yet the film has not lost its power to generate suspense and make you jump; it's just that most horror fans are so desensitised these days that it is no longer truly shocking.

Nevertheless, a really great transfer of a much loved classic, albeit a classic indebted to "Halloween" and, in an inverted way, "Psycho". Worth comparing with the Van Nispel remake, or for a truly great horror weekend, take those two plus the original and remade "Halloween" flicks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice Blu-ray presentation., 4 April 2009
By 
Mr Ghostface (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Firstly, for those of you wondering, the US import IS region free. It plays perfectly well on my UK PS3.

The picture quality is very good, but not the best I've seen on blu-ray. But let's be balanced about it, this is a low budget movie shot mostly at night. Not day-for-night, but simply night, which is never easy. The result is graininess in the blacks, although you can significantly compensate for this by adjusting your contrast settings etc. Grain doesn't bother me too much anyway, as I don't sit too close to the screen. However, despite the grain, the image is otherwise very clean and sharp. I do think they've gotten the best transfer out of the negative or interposotives they used, as the sharpness of the image can't be criticised.

The audio has been cleaned up very nicely. Again, the source material was never the strongest, with analogue issues in all previous releases (including the first DVD release) but all that seems to have gone. The dialogue is mostly clear and the score has never sounded better. I think Manfredini's music benefits from this release as much as anything else; it's certainly the aspect I noticed felt "newest" if you know what I mean. It doesn't sound as tinny as it did before, and that's a good thing.

The extras are very nice, if a little short. But what's there is welcome, especially seeing some of the key cast/crew members again. Most of us want to see how everyone's doing, and seeing Betsy Palmer and Adrienne King sitting at the same table after nearly 30 years is great. The cast reunion isn't very well edited, but then it's only really a convention appearance so the filmed material is limited. But yes, it's nice to see them. In the reunion, we see Betsy Palmer, Adrienne King and Ari Lehman (Jason), writer Victor Miller and composer Harry Manfredini, and in one of the other mini-documentaries we also get a nice couple of bits with Robbi Morgan, who played Annie. She's cool.

Anyway, there you go. Like I said, not a perfect picture, but it's sharp and probably the best they could've got without spending a HELL of a lot reprocessing the whole thing frame by frame a la Blade Runner Final Cut. The audio is better than it's been before and clean. The extras are pretty good but I would've liked more.

4.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Slasher movie ever, 22 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As far as slashers go this is one of the best, you can't be a fan of the genre unless you've seen this one. The film is of course uncut although it is only 10 seconds of extra footage. The extra footage is that Anni's death is 2 seconds longer, The sex scene has an extra butt pinch, Jacks death is 4 seconds longer and Marcie's death is also 2 seconds longer. The final beheading has no time difference however it is edited differently. The extra's include the trailer, cast and crew commentary, a reunion, a couple of interviews and a strange short video of 2 people getting killed by an unknown killer possibly Jason it's only about a minute long. all in all this is definitely the best edition out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 13 Feb 2012
This review is from: Friday The 13th [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Great film had to get it to complete box set, would defiantly reccomend to anyone that likes jason, or nightmare on elm streets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Friday the 13th part?, 9 Oct 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Hee, with some of the reactions to Marcus Nispel's remake/reimaging/rekindling to the 1980 Friday the 13th movie, you would think he dared to take on a sacred cow. Having already alienated much of the horror loving world after his remake of The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, this appears to be the final straw. However, and as much as I found this latest offering in the "Friday" franchise to be incredibly dull and unoriginal, the original movie isn't all that anyway. So with that in mind it wasn't sacrilegious to take this particular project on. So to judge Nispel's movie on its own new terms then...

Here's the thing, maybe the director was stung by the vented spleen surrounding the Chainsaw remake? Where he added some new flavours and at least tried to put his own stamp on it. But this version just feels like an extension of the series, there's nothing new here, it may as well be called Friday the 13th part (insert whatever number it is up to now?). Sure, the blood is more flowing, the deaths grisly and there is nudity a go go, but so what? Vorhees stalks and kills youths in wood, whoopee, so what? I can watch any of the other films from the previous 30 years for that. In fact I can watch him do it in space, now that's originality!

Yes, it's true, Jason Vorhees has become boring, even in a reimaging. One or two scenes score well, we like the switch from flour cloth to hockey mask, Jason's underground lair has visual/tense appeal, but other than that it's all so flat. Where a famed movie killer is in desperate need of pizazz, we get only a reason why he should either be left at the bottom of Crystal Lake, or taken elsewhere by film makers with imagination. 4/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Friday the 13th Bluray Uncut, 3 Oct 2012
This review is from: Friday The 13th - The Original [Blu-ray] [1980] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
One of the other reviewers stated that its cut, the arrow in the neck scene so I wasn't to fond of getting this at that time but once I could buy it for 6 I took the chance and viewed it myself. From what I can see the scene isn't cut, looks completely the same as ive seen it previous times but I have to admit I didn't do I side by side comparison just incase I am wrong.
The video quality I have to rate 8 out of 10 which is good but could of been slightly better. Audio was good same chilling effect. Next tonnes of special features, id seen these on YouTube previously unfortunately but even though they have provided quite abit I believe it should of been trimmed down in certain ones cause each time the same people mentioned the same things, id rather of heard it just the once cause its kind of spoiled that for me.
Ive read that we may not expect anymore Blu-ray releases until the next possible movie release which isn't fair, it be nice to have a boxset now and for them to stop raking in the money on previous dvd releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic., 20 Aug 2011
This review is from: Friday The 13th [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
If you think that the Friday the 13 movies are terrible, you should re-visit the original. The movie is a masterpiece. It - along with a few others - is the birth of the slasher flick. Definitely worth checking out. A must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably the most influential slasher film of all time, 28 Oct 2008
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friday The 13th [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
The original Friday the 13th is not the first, the most original, or the best slasher film ever made, but it is arguably the most influential. You almost have to take off one of your socks to count all of the sequels (and impending remake) this slasher granddaddy has spawned, and I daresay the majority of slasher films littering the genre in all the years since were constructed on the generic and simple framework of the Friday the 13th formula. Critics are still foaming at the mouth in indignation over this film all these years later, so you know it did something right. Of course, by today's standards Friday the 13th registers low (if at all) on the fright meter and really isn't all that gory, but no one can dispute the fact that this film set the stage for innumerable bloody slasher films to come.

Halloween, which is technically a much superior film to this one, had already been released and made lots of money, so it's easy to see why Sean S. Cunningham (who had already cut his horror chops on The Last House on the Left) wanted to try his hand at creating a scary slasher film of his own. Cunningham did not have a big studio backing him, so he had to make this an independent, low-budget (barely more than half a million dollars) project. With almost all of the action taking place at Camp Crystal Lake, all Cunningham had to do was to find a viable old campsite, populate it with unknown actors (one of which, Kevin Bacon, went on to become a household name), kill his characters in compellingly different yet simple ways, and smack an ending on top of it. In some ways, it sounds like an almost haphazard project. The controversial gotcha scene near the very end, for example, was never in the original script - instead, it was added late in the game on the advice of special effects makeup guru Tom Savini, who had just seen Carrie. That is only one of several obvious influences worked into the film - even the famous Jason music leaves a trail of musical crumbs back to the shark music in Jaws (30th Anniversary Edition). Despite of everything, though, Paramount liked the final product, bought up the distribution rights, and the film hit box office gold. The rest is horror - and cinema - history.

As we all know by now, little Jason Voorhees drowned in 1957 while the counselors who should have been watching him were busy having sex. A year later, two counselors at the camp were brutally murdered (as they were getting it on, of course), with the murderer never being caught. That was more than Camp Crystal Lake could endure, and it soon closed its cabin doors for good. The residents of Crystal Lake know to stay away from the lake and "Camp Blood," but Steve Christy has decided he's going to open the place back up. He's supposedly been working to get the place ready for a year, but it's still a run-down dump. He's hired all of the requisite randy teens to serve as counselors/murder victims (anybody who plays strip Monopoly out in the middle of the woods is practically begging to be eviscerated by a mad killer), though, so everything is in place for good, old-fashioned bloodbath. All we need is a killer.

The one thing I've always admired most about the slayings in the Friday the 13th movies is the sheer efficiency of them all. Even at the beginning, before Jason himself ever lifted his first machete, the killer is all about getting the job done and going on to the next victim. That's not to say the murders aren't stylish and impressive, though. I just wish they would have been a lot gorier. Clearly, this film does have a few problems and doesn't deserve five stars on its own merits. When you figure in the immense influence this film has had on the horror movie genre and pop culture itself, though, I think it rightly deserves that fifth star.

If you've never seen the original Friday the 13th, you need to see it - especially if you've watched several of the sequels. After all, an incorrect answer to the question of who did the killings in the original Friday the 13th film will get you banned from all horror fan clubs for life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The One that Started it, 12 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Friday The 13th [VHS] (VHS Tape)
In the year 1957 at a Campsite buried in the woods a young boy drowns in the camp lake. The two councillors who were supposed to be watching him were making love at the time. One year later these two councillors are followed into the camp barn by an unseen assasin. They are both murdered.
It is now twelve years later and the camp is being reopened by Steve Christie who has hired seven new councillors. The date is Friday 13th June. The locals are shocked that 'Camp Blood' is being reopened and warn the councillors to quit.
None of the luckless teenagers listen to the warnings about Camp Crystal Lake and roam the campsite carefree. Unknown to them there is an unwelcome presence in the camp. A presence that is watching the councillors at every turn. One by one they fall prey to an unseen killer and when the killer is finally revealed it comes as a bit of a shock. The film is absolutely fantastic and it is the one that started it all. If you're going to watch this film don't decide that there's no plot and switch it off. Watch the whole thing, the plot is explained very clearly when the killer is revealed. There are some great makeup effects when the councillors are killed eg the axe through the head. In this film watch out for a seventeen year old Kevin Bacon! This was probably one of his first big parts. I would recommend this film to anyone who loves horror and likes being scared. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The Worst Friday The 13th film Ever, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a big fan of horror and in particular the Friday The 13th films. I went to see this at the cinema, when it was released in 2009 and I enjoyed it, because I was so excited at seeing a new Friday The 13th film. However, the passing of time has completely changed my opinion of this film. I bought the DVD recently and I decided to watch it again, but this time I was able to see the film for what it really was, without being blinkered by nostalgia. I now regard this film as simply awful, with crap acting and more boobs and sex than in a porno film, which I do not want to see in what is supposed to be a horror film. I am no prude and I fully appreciate that every slasher film has to have at least one sex scene, but this film was loaded with it for no other reason than to make it appeal to it's presumably teenage audience. There was enough horror, but the film was so dark that it was almost impossible to tell what was happening and the violent scenes were also very quick, so you literally missed something if you blinked more than once. I also preferred Kane Hodder as Jason, because he made the part his own and he was much more imposing and menacing and Jason is not supposed to run!!! This film is basically yet another pointless remake and all it succeeds in doing is making me appreciate the original Friday The 13th films even more. I even preferred Jason X and Freddy Vs Jason to this mess of a film. I cannot recommend this film to anyone, apart from people who have not seen the original films, or people who are masochists. My advice is to buy the originals, because they are infinitely more watchable than this rubbish. Simply awful and one star from me. I wish that I could give it less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Friday The 13th - The Original [Blu-ray] [1980] [Region Free]
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews