Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good price for a good product
The product is good value for the money. The tweezers should have been plastic ones for the purpose of handling batteries. Other than that I'm happy with the kit. Delivery was quick.
Published on 29 Dec 2009 by Y. Tori

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good enough, but might not open all backs
Received this today, but, frustratingly, the included tool wasn't able to expand enough to fit the back of one of my watches. Apart from that, it's an okay kit, with a handy bag to keep the stuff inside. No instructions with it, so you'd better be intuitive or have a search engine at hand.
Published on 15 Sep 2011 by Privateofcourse


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good price for a good product, 29 Dec 2009
By 
Y. Tori "YT" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rolson 59230 4pc Watch Care Kit (DIY & Tools)
The product is good value for the money. The tweezers should have been plastic ones for the purpose of handling batteries. Other than that I'm happy with the kit. Delivery was quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pays for itself very quickly, 27 Jun 2009
This review is from: Rolson 59230 4pc Watch Care Kit (DIY & Tools)
If you own a watch that has it's back screwed on this is a must have. The case opener need to be set up to the watch but there are several tips supplied to meet most needs. I have now replaced batteries on two watches and are in profit. This kit will be of no use for clip on backs.Watchmakers Watch Case Knife Opener
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good kit - Does the job right!, 20 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rolson 59230 4pc Watch Care Kit (DIY & Tools)
I got the product this morning thursday (ordered it last friday evening), so I got it first class and very quick.
I was surprised of the good quality of the elements. Especially the air duster is impressive. I will use it also for cleaning my camara lenses, as it give a really good blow and it is made of good rubber, nothing plastic.
The main tool is the one for removing the back of some watches. If you have a watch which has some kind of little holes at the outside of the back of your watch than this is the tool you want. Otherwhise you need a cap remover (looks like a small butterknife).
There are some bits of different size to match the holes. Ii did needed to use some force as the back of my Casio watch has been closed for more than 15 years. It did the job perfect without scratching the watch.

I haven't used the tweezers or brush, but the quality is good. And everything is kept in a bag which can be closed.

I can recommend this product to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good enough, but might not open all backs, 15 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rolson 59230 4pc Watch Care Kit (DIY & Tools)
Received this today, but, frustratingly, the included tool wasn't able to expand enough to fit the back of one of my watches. Apart from that, it's an okay kit, with a handy bag to keep the stuff inside. No instructions with it, so you'd better be intuitive or have a search engine at hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works well, 31 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. K. I. Read "assessor69" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rolson 59230 4pc Watch Care Kit (DIY & Tools)
This tool-kit is a bit limited in what it can do, but it does do what it is supposed to do. Puffer and brush are good and work well, the tweezers could do with a bit more spring in them. The watch case back remover is a little stiff but works well. If I have a criticism it is the tool-bag, it smells horrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rolson Watch Care Kit, 24 Sep 2011
By 
S. OWEN - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rolson 59230 4pc Watch Care Kit (DIY & Tools)
This does exactly what it says on the box.
Having taken my watch to two high street jewellers to a have a new battery fitted and both failed to remove the back I was left with no alternative but to do the job myself.
The kit was brilliant and very easy to use.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy-peasy, 22 Feb 2011
By 
Philip King (Leics. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rolson 59230 4pc Watch Care Kit (DIY & Tools)
Had loads of watches with screw backs & flat batteries. This super little tool removed the backs with ease & the tweezers were great for battery changing. Well worth the purchase if you're fed up with paying jewellers prices for simple battery replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good little kit - Does the JOB!, 6 Aug 2010
By 
David Robson "RV Gypsy" (aNTEQUERA, sPAIN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rolson 59230 4pc Watch Care Kit (DIY & Tools)
This kit is ideal for removing 'better quality' or waterproof watch backs. That being said it's worth having the "Watch Case Holder With 4 Pins", (sold elsewhere), to hold the watch case firmly. My Seiko back was on particularly tightly and without the holder would have been very difficult to hold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rolson Tools 59230 4 Piece Watch Care Kit, 31 Jan 2010
By 
R. Wolfe (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rolson 59230 4pc Watch Care Kit (DIY & Tools)
Great starter kit for price. JAXA-style case-opener works well but requires correct bit selection and careful adjustment for successful operation. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You'll be glad you bought it when you need it!, 20 Aug 2012
By 
IOWBOY - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rolson 59230 4pc Watch Care Kit (DIY & Tools)
I had this item, the 'Rolson 4 Piece Watch Care Kit', on my Amazon Wish List for quite some time, but there were always other items that I would choose to buy instead; to be honest a watch care kit just didn't excite me, and I figured that it could potentially be something that I would never use!

However, I gradually worked through my wish list and found myself in the position where I had a bit of spare cash and the item in question had been reduced to 9.99, instead of the RRP of 14.99 that it usually 'hovered' around.

Anyway, I ordered it, it arrived, and now here I am writing a review! I will start with descriptions and basic specifications of the contents:

1. Watch case opener - This a metal tool that can easily be adjusted to open the majority of the most common screw back type cases; the adjustments are done by using the knurled (easy grip) handle and the adjustable thumb wheel. The overall length of this tool is 140mm, with the handle section being 60mm in length and 13mm in diameter; the head of the tool, where the watch case is removed, is 80mm in length and is 50mm at it's widest part. It is a solidly built tool and is very straightforward to use, there are attachments that go with this tool.........

2. Screw Back Case tool bits - The main difference between many screw back cases on watches, apart from the obvious variance in dimensions, is the different shapes and sizes of the 'notches' that are provided for a tool to use when removal is required. This kit comes with twelve tool bits that fit into the head of the watch case opener; the bits are all 11mm long, but they are a variety of different shapes to hopefully fit most designs. They come supplied in a small plastic case, it's not made of a particularly strong plastic but as long as it's treated with care it should last.

3. Dusting brush - This brush has a plastic handle and a brush made from nylon bristles; the total length of the brush is 110mm, and the bristles themselves are 20mm in length. The brush is quite lightweight and probably won't stand up to too much of a battering, but then again it's intended for delicate use with watches, so why would you be too rough with it?!

4. Tweezers - A set of extra fine curved point tweezers; they are 188mm in length, made from stainless steel and are non-magnetic. The tips are very sharp, which is excellent for the detailed type of work they are intended for, but I would have liked to see them come with some sort of protector for the tips, a slight omission.

5. Dusting pump - A rubber dusting pump with metal nozzle designed to provide a precise air flow, it also has a one-way intake valve that prevents reverse air flow. The pump is 110mm in length, and the metal nozzle has an opening of approximately 0.7mm. A dusting pump is used for cleaning and dusting delicate objects, so watches aren't the only thing this will be useful for!

6. Canvas storage bag - Finally the kit comes supplied with a handy canvas storage bag, it is approximately 100mm by 200mm and stores the entire kit with plenty of room to spare. It has a velcro strip for fastening and has a information panel printed on the front indicating it's contents.

Overall this is a good value, good quality kit; it's one of those things that you may go months without using (if not years!), and even then you'll only use one of the tools; but if any of you have ever tried removing the cover of a screw back case watch without the correct tools, the likelihood is you've either failed to do so or you have damaged or scratched the back of the watch in the attempt. Find out how much a Jewellers will charge you for the change of a battery; I am pretty confident that it won't be much less (if at all) than the price of this kit!

If it is looked after this kit should provide many years of use, and I'm pretty sure that (in my case at least) it will be paid for many times over with the savings it brings me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rolson 59230 4pc Watch Care Kit
12.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews