Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, smart, and entertaining
Mozart and the Whale is a simple premise: two people meet, fall in love, and go through the ups-and-downs of all relationships. If that sounds all too ordinary, then Donald and Isabelle, the two principal characters, are not ordinary people: they have Asperger's Syndrome, a form of Autism that, among other things, makes social interaction difficult. I also have Asperger's...
Published on 9 Mar 2010 by Mike Williams

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected
Firstly, the acting in this film is really good, it gets across what it's like to suffer from aspergers from the point of view of those suffering from it, rather than from an outsiders view, as is so often the case with these films. I'm not a fan of Harnett, but I really admire him for this role.

I wont be doing a run down of the plot as others have already...
Published on 21 Aug 2010 by Larewen Evenstar


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, smart, and entertaining, 9 Mar 2010
By 
Mike Williams (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mozart and the Whale [DVD] (DVD)
Mozart and the Whale is a simple premise: two people meet, fall in love, and go through the ups-and-downs of all relationships. If that sounds all too ordinary, then Donald and Isabelle, the two principal characters, are not ordinary people: they have Asperger's Syndrome, a form of Autism that, among other things, makes social interaction difficult. I also have Asperger's and I want to review the film on that basis. The film starts with Donald, who runs an Autism group for adults. They are an odd assortment but, as the film moves on, you sense that they really are a community of kind, caring individuals who genuinely support Donald through his troubles. One of the members of the group also provides the best line of the film: (said to Donald), `Stick with the group; next to us you're a God'. Indeed, Donald does seem very normal until, that is, Isabelle joins the group and they fall for each other. The film is based on an actual couple and what they went through trying to form a relationship is sad, funny, and immensely touching. For those without the condition, it may also be a little bizarre although, I can attest, this really is the world as we experience it. There are a lot of funny lines - Asperger's people can be very amusing - and you desperately want the characters to find a way of being together by the end of the film. I won't spoil that part for you though. For those without Asperger's, the film is a quirky, offbeat, romantic-comedy that is gentle and good fun. You won't feel like you are being preached at, you won't feel as if you are watching a documentary about mental illness, and you might well think that Asperger's people are no different to ordinary people - we just freak about different things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "It's the metal sound, it makes me freak out!", 2 Jan 2007
Asperger's syndrome is usually marked by those who have normal intelligence and language development, but who also exhibit autistic-like behavior and marked deficiencies in social and communication skills. In this quiet and understated little film, Josh Hartnet and Australian actress Rahda Mitchell play two young people afflicted.

Hartnet stars as Donald Morton, a cab-driver who maintains a support group for disorder-laden individuals. Although he is afflicted himself, Donald has a phenomenal talent for numbers whilst also seeming to lead a pretty ordinary life, although he gets fired from jobs on a regular basis and has trouble keeping his apartment clean and tidy, especially with his collection of birds that constantly run amok.

Donald is a bit of a kind-hearted and shy loner, who refuses to look people in the eye and or directly respond to questions. This causes a problem when he meets the gorgeous Isabelle (Mitchell) who joins the group. Whilst Donald is bashful and introverted, Isabelle is full of energy and life, she says what's on her mind and is impulsively creative - she loves to paint and is musical.

It doesn't take long for Donald and Isabelle to get together, with Isabelle making the first move. She invites him to a Halloween fancy dress party, where is dresses as Mozart and he as a whale. When he nervously brings her his cluttered apartment, Isabelle announces that "this is all about sex," but you can tell that there's obviously a bourgening emotional connection happening.

The rest of the story details their efforts to form some sort of meaningful attachment. The film mostly works, mostly because of the fine work of the talented Mitchell and Hartnett - you can really sense their connection here, and also because the story manages mostly to avoid being cloying and contrived. There's no fake Hollywood sentimentality here.

This is also an important film for Josh Hartnett, because its his first screen performance that shows he's not just a pretty face and that he has some serious acting chops. Of course, how Donald and Isabelle navigate through their various insecurities is why we keep watching. Donald falls in love and wants to marry, but Isabelle is haunted by sexual abuse and can't seem to commit.

Also, the tiniest slight unhinges Isabelle, creating legitimate doubt as to whether she, more than Donald, can ever handle a permanent relationship. The film provides a lot of good solid detail into how these people function and cope on a daily basis and nothing is ever condescending or viewed as superfluous.

As one of Australia's most talented actresses, Mitchell socks her role as the fragile and brittle Isabelle, whose emotional insecurity is buried under a fabulously attractive exterior; and by virtue of her character's assertiveness, she dominates the screen. But it is Hartnett's beautifully nuanced performance as the awkward and retiring Donald that is equally closely observed, as the actor makes quite affecting his character's hopes, desires and dreams. Mike Leonard January 07.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great film!, 20 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Mozart and the Whale [DVD] (DVD)
A very touching and intersting movie, I was not expecting it to be as good as it was. Get it you will enjoy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little classic, technically flawless and with convincing acting all round., 24 April 2009
/This review contains no plot-spoilers/ Technically this is a flawlessly made film. The story is well-told, with convincing and consistent acting from all the cast. The dialogue is precise and well-crafted. The characters are varied, and while this usefully conveys that that 'all aspergers people are different', they also work well together in the ensemble scenes. Some reviewers have not initially been able to see the female lead as 'having aspergers' - I also had some initial doubts, but I was convinced after a second and third viewing. A worthy and moving film that is gripping on the first viewing, and which starts to shine ever-brighter as a little classic after several viewings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars one great film, 31 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart and the Whale [DVD] (DVD)
i see it has rainman just funnier with a better story line. i love josh hartnett so i can sit through most films with this is but even one of my friends said it was good which i was suprise about.

this film is about two austic people who find love. its about the struggles they go through to get together and through the arguements getting closer. this film reminds you of when you first fell in love and what you had to do to keep that person there.

this film is brilliant and i would recomeend it to anyone that has a heart and i good sense of humour :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 21 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart and the Whale [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly, the acting in this film is really good, it gets across what it's like to suffer from aspergers from the point of view of those suffering from it, rather than from an outsiders view, as is so often the case with these films. I'm not a fan of Harnett, but I really admire him for this role.

I wont be doing a run down of the plot as others have already done that.

It doesn't focus on one particular variance of Apergers, instead showing you lots of different sufferers, although the two main characters have a similar variance, which is really what brings them together.

I have to say that although I enjoyed this greatly while watching it, it hasn't left much of a lasting impression on me. That, coupled with the fact that I felt the storyline was a little too formulaiac, is what has caused my lower score on this.

So I think this is a really good film to see, as it is an enjoyable watch, with some deeper meaning to it, but for me, not something I think I'd watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps they should have copied a real life person with autism who was in an emotional relationship and used that for a storylin, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart and the Whale [DVD] (DVD)
I watched it once. I have a chid with high functioning autism and I couldn't really relate to the characters especially the part played by the female. She was so eccentric and I doubt in the real world would want a relationship or be able to have one with another autistic person, I can't see how it would work. I think more likely they would not want an emotional relationship at all. Perhaps they should have copied a real life person with autism who was in an emotional relationship and used that for a storyline as I would not recommend this film at all. I think Josh did well to portray his character as best you can that can't be easy part to play but the story... don't bother watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart and the Whale [DVD] (DVD)
This story is very funny and sad at the same time. It shows the ups and downs of a very unique relationship. Recommend to everybody who is interested in Autism or Asperger's syndrome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but could have been much better., 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart and the Whale [DVD] (DVD)
The story was very well acted. and I liked it, however, the musical scoring is awful. It is unfortunate because it rather wrecks the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yep, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart and the Whale [DVD] (DVD)
I have aspergers and as having it this is a good film to watch to understand how it feels as it best for parents to understand people who are in there teens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mozart and the Whale [DVD]
Mozart and the Whale [DVD] by Petter Næss (DVD - 2008)
Used & New from: £11.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews