Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


309 of 311 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll take a potato chip ... and eat it!
All of these reviews are about the anime, so I'm going to write about the DVD box set contents, so people know what they're getting for their money. ^.^

* The Packaging:
The box set houses 9 thin DVD cases. Each DVD has a different character printed on the cover, and is 'dedicated' to that character i.e. most of the artwork, galleries & voice actor...
Published on 26 Jan 2010 by Jo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars recommended, thank you
item as described, quick delivery, recommended, thank you!!
Published 4 months ago by Debra Hercules


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

309 of 311 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll take a potato chip ... and eat it!, 26 Jan 2010
This review is from: Death Note Complete [DVD] (DVD)
All of these reviews are about the anime, so I'm going to write about the DVD box set contents, so people know what they're getting for their money. ^.^

* The Packaging:
The box set houses 9 thin DVD cases. Each DVD has a different character printed on the cover, and is 'dedicated' to that character i.e. most of the artwork, galleries & voice actor interviews on that disc are based on the cover character.

* The main contents:
Each DVD has 4 episodes of Death Note, DVD 9 has 5 episodes. In total there are 37 episodes of Death Note.

The language settings:
You have 4 options
1: English Dubbed
2. Japanese
3. Japanese with English Subs
4. English Dubbed with English Subs*

* The english DUBs and english SUBs are not the same (as the SUB is the literal translation whereas the DUB has been altered to fit the animation). So if you want to watch the English dub with english subs on at the same time (e.g. for the hard of hearing), they will not match up.

All of these are in Dolby Digital 2.0 sound. The sound is still very good though. ^.^

* The extra contents *
- Production Artwork galleries on 8 of the DVDs (images of initial artwork in a slide show)

- Behind the scenes - interviews with the english voice actors and clips of their recording sessions
Each of the 9 DVDs has a 20 minute behind-the-scenes recording session with a different character (usually the character on the cover of the DVD case). Being able to see Kirby Morrow (Mikami) in action ('Delete, Delete, DELEEEETE!') is just awesome. XD

- An interview with the director and one of the character designers
- Audio commentaries by english voice actors (on a few selected episodes: 7, 17, 23, 25, 30, 37)
- Clean opening and closing (opening and closing animation without credits)
- Trailers of other animes (Bleach etc.)

This also comes with a 67 page illustration booklet. This has sketches of all the main characters, and full colour images of some of the locations.

*The DVD extras & booklet contain spoilers.*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and compelling, 14 July 2009
By 
J. Cheung "jc158" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death Note Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Death Note is an excellent example of how well anime writers can adapt a small idea and create something original and imaginative. The story is based around the idea of Shinigami, Death God(s), who in this series use humans' deaths as a means to prolong their own lives. They are depicted in different ways in other anime.

The main character is Yagami Light- an intelligent and ambitious teenager who stumbles upon a "Death Note" in the middle of his schools courtyard. Inside the book are written instructions on how the book works, which he tests on some thugs that are assualting a woman in the street. When Light realises that he has the power of a "God" in his possession he decides to start killing off all the criminals who have committed the worst crimes.

Light believes that fate has given him his calling, to be the Leader of a new order where people will live obedient and peaceful lives, free of crime and war. The city begins to stir, through both fear and admiration, that there is someone who is willing to step up to the responsibility of getting rid of scum that the law protects. He is subsequently given the name "Kira" (to sound like killer). However, the police department see his actions as nothing but cold blooded murder and a huge task force is set up to hunt and catch him.

I will stop there as I only want to give you a general idea of how the series begins, if I go into any more it will spoil the experience when you watch it. The series is an extremely clever game of "cat and mouse" as Light strives to continue living his normal life but also adopting his alter ego as Kira, doing his utmost to avoid police detection.

What's also interesting is the realistic, yet alarming, change that a person goes through in order to simply survive. Human nature's ability to adapt simply for self-preservation is shown in shocking and (at times)breath taking form. Death Note will take your mind through several twists and turns as you struggle to figure out how things will work out. Ultimately, you pose the question: how much power can one handle?

The series is relatively short, there are only 37 episodes spanning the nine discs. It won't take you long to watch them all but it is thoroughly enjoyable and gripping, and you will be surprised how your views change towards each character as the fast-paced action reaches a climax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Deadly Notebook. A Cult Phenomenon, 14 Jun 2009
By 
J. Snook "Ichigo_2020 - Anime Buff" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death Note Complete [DVD] (DVD)
A hit series in it's native Japan and now a growing phenomenon in the west, Death Note the entire anime series has been comprised in one boxset. If you have never seen death note, this is the time to do so. The story revolves around Light Yagami, an intelligent, good looking and confident teenager with a strong sense of justice. At the start, Light comes across a mysterious book called the Death Note. Inside it are some instructions and rules of use; some of the main ones being 'the person whos name is written in this note shall die' and 'if the cause of death is specified within 40 seconds, it will happen, if not, the person will simply die of a heart attack. Light initially takes no notice of the Death Note, however, when he later tries it out, he is astonished to see that it really works. With this power at his hand, Light plans to create a new world by ridding the world of all criminals. Later on, Light is introduced to Ryuk, a Shinigami from the demon world, and the real owner of the Death Note. Seeing potential in Light's sense of justice as well as his willingness to kill, Ryuk decides to act as a spectator to his actions. As Light goes about creating his utopia, he soon earns the name Kira (which comes from the english word - killer) and he also attracts the attention of genius detective L who has never failed a case. Soon thereafter a deadly game of cat and mouse is set up with either side convinced that they are justice and determined that they are going to win. So begins the epic thriller that is Death Note.

If your a fan of anime or manga, you're bound to have heard of this title. If you haven't seen it already, then you need to buy this set set as this is one series that deserves to be in every true fans collection. The collection consists of 37 episodes over 9 discs, most of which will fly by so quickly as it is really difficult to watch just one episode at a time. The series is crafted so beautifully that each episode draws you in and keeps your attention hooked throughout. The number of twists and turns in this series is unbelievable, making this one of the most intricate and well thought out animes ever. The sheer concept of the series alone is enough to draw you in with the argument whether Light/Kira's Death Note killings are justified and whether he has the right to play God. Depending on which side of the argument you side with, you may find yourself either rooting for Kira, or hoping that he gets whats coming to him. The cat and mouse situation between Light and L is ingenious as they go about outsmarting eachother. Just when you think one of them has won, they throw another twist in your face that you would never have seen coming. This series is also good at creating some genuinely unbearable tension, especially in the really early and really late episodes.

Created by studio Madhouse who produced hits such as Ninja Scroll and Trigun, Death Note is series that looks absolutely gorgeous. The sheer detail of the animation coupled with the rich colour pallet and a delectable display of CGI really makes the series look high budget and unique. As for music, the series has quite a few good tunes, some of the best are the opening and closing theme songs. The first set of theme songs are from a J-rock band called Nightmare, and the second set are from a Japanese metal band called Maximum the hormone. All of these tracks are really catchy and also go well with the feel of the show. Another thing that deserves mention is the terrific english vocal cast. If, like me, you prefer not to read text then you will be pleased with the dub for this series. The voice of Light is brilliantly portrayed by Brad Swaile who played Rumina Asagi in Tokyo Underground and Keisaku Satou in Shakugan No Shana. Battlestar Gallactica fans may recognise the voice of L who is played by Allessandro Juiliani who also plays Felix Gaeta in the cult sci fi series.

Death Note is a series that is just too addictive. The quality of story and plot lines, as well as the numerous twists and turns are so well thought out and brilliantly devised that it rivals major American shows such as 24 and Lost. This is one series that wont take you long to watch as I said before, it is really difficult not to watch more than one episode at a time. Although the series does see some weaker episodes at around the sixth and seventh discs, the pace really does pick up to deliver a truly memorable and beautiful finale. Death Note is truly a series you need to have on your shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing, 23 Aug 2011
By 
A. Dalby (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death Note Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Death note is considered by many fans of anime to be the best anime series of all time, this series is also great for people that aren't into anime! I know about 3 people that denounce anime but love death note.
The series is about a High school student called Light that discovers a book that was dropped by a god of death, whoever's name is written in the book will die and the author can specify how and when that person will die as long as the author can visualise the persons face when writing. Light uses this book to cleanse the world of crime but a detective known as L has to try to stop him.
If you have seen the movies you can still watch this, and vice versa, the movies came after the series and ended in a completely different way.
This box set comes with 9 DVDs, each with 4 episodes (except disk 9 that has 5) each disk comes in a slim case. All episodes on each disk comes in 4 language settings: English dub, Japanese, Japanese with English subtitles and English with Japanese subtitles.
As well as the episodes each disk has bonus features such as interviews with voice actors, directors and writers but there is also production art.
The box set also includes a 67 page concept art book which I recommend looking at after watching the series as some of it may be considered as spoilers. The art book contains sketches of characters, important items and locations.

Watching Death note was an extremely memorable experience and I recommend that everyone that is a fan of crime fiction, anime and even if you're not an fan of anime maybe just heard about it from someone you should check it out.
An easy 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great box set!, 7 Dec 2011
This review is from: Death Note Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I must say I am really happy after purchasing this product.

Before buying it, I thought this box set would be much bigger in size, but actually it is not so big, which in the end is a good thing.
The whole set consists of 9 DVDs (4 episodes per disc). Each DVD is presented in an independent DVD case (not the regular size, but half width).

You also get a 67 page booklet with illustrations, and everything comes together in a cardboard box.

I really want to put emphasis on the fact that the price of this box set is really good, considering what you get.
You are paying less than a pound per episode, and the audio/video quality is much better than anything you can find on the internet.

The only flaw I can find is how the subtitles look. They are yellow, in my opinion they could have looked better, but anyway you get used to them.

I did not mention the plot itself because it needs no comments, it is simply the best series I have ever seen, the plot is amazing.

In conclusion, go ahead and get it ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Story & Brilliant Characters!, 18 Feb 2010
By 
MyKeyReviews (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Death Note Complete [DVD] (DVD)
This anime is so cleverly done and everything has really been thought out.
The storyline is so gripping and will drag you in from the first episode and it just gets better & BETTER!

You get a real connection with all the characters which to me is very important, you see what other peoples views are to the situation:
You have light, a genius who hates criminals and wants to elimate them from this planet; he thinks he's doing good, however when the police are on his tail he corrupts himself and will kill anyone who gets in his way!
Then you have L the worlds best detective in the world who has solved every case he goes on, however this case proves some difficulty. He regards whoever is doing the killing is a murderer and a criminal and should be executed themselves!

Another thing I love about this anime is that it's not too long and it actually has an ending, I hate things that go on and on, so watching Death Note was a joy for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly Brilliant If You Dont Like Anime This Will Change Your Mind, 26 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Note Complete [DVD] (DVD)
(Wish this series would come out on a big Blu-Ray boxset)
First i will start off with this anime is a Masterpiece! It is the most powerfull, gripping, episodic series i have ever seen.
I have friends that literally walk out the room when i put animation on the tv they hate it so much but when they eventually sat down to watch this they all changed thier minds begging me to let them see the next episode.
i cant really rate this highly enough, i have seen alot of anime which sometimes make me hold the question why was this even made its so boring or the storyline is going no where, but Deathnote is utterly fantastic!
The soundtrack is incredible best i have heard in an anime.
The boxset comes with 9 volumes 37 episodes all together, some boxsets come with the booklet (mine did) some dont and bonus featurres. ENGLISH DUBBED and also in Japenese
im not going to go on about what its about check out other reviews for that :)
Its About Light Yagami, a student who comes accross a Notebook with Deathnote on the front inside it has the rules of the deathnote long story short you write someones name in it they die. There are so many twists and turns in this.
i dont want to write to much about it as you really just need to watch it. i promise you, you will not have seen anything as gripping as this, trust me.
I personally prefer the English dubb i dont really see the point in watching it in another language with subtitles but thats just me.
The englsih dubb is just as good or in my opinion better than the japanese version but each to thier own.
Basically as long as your old enough you will appreciate how brilliant this is from any age over 15.
I am sure like the rest of us i hope Hollywood doesnt Destroy this stunning series.
I am just a huge fan of this and reccomend this to anyone, thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly jaw-dropping, 26 April 2011
This review is from: Death Note Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I just finished the series yesterday in a span of 3 days. Literally, when he final credits came rolling, my jaw was still on the ground from the previous episode. It was amazing! The plot is credible (as credible as it can get for a supernatural genre). The characters were perfectly developed and bonds were made quickly between character and viewer.

The plot in a sentence, is about a high school lad who earns the ability to kill WHOEVER he wishes. What will he do with that power? Well you gotta see that for yourself. As the plot thickens, so do the schemes. The characters are so intelligent that you have to smile at their capability of 'planning ahead'.

If you're a manga/anime fan, this is a must-see! You know what, even if you're not, you came on this page for a reason so buy it already! I even got my anti-anime brothers hooked on it and I'm watching it from scratch again with them today :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most dramatic eating of potato chips in history!, 7 Jan 2011
This review is from: Death Note Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Well firstly I would like to say that the product arrived 2 days earlier than expected so that is kudos to Amazon for incredably fast shipping and delivery.
Arrived fully boxed and complete with paper padding on the inside has ensured it arrived with absolutly no visable damage whatsoever.
To the product itself:
9 discs, all in their own seperate box and a lovely art booklet accompanying the set, admittidly, the art will only appeal to some people but for what it is worth I love it.
The quality of the anime itself is exactly what you would expect and personally I would advise anyone who has seen it before, read the books (which I also own) or just has a passing interest in this sort of anime, to get this collection, well worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars two pence exactly, 21 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Note Complete [DVD] (DVD)
not much i can say that the others didnt, but i will say that i usually only like actioned packed fighting or completely supernatural animes but this is one of the best I've ever seen. the story did get thin towards the end though where things seemed to get drawn out, also for me the ending was a let down yet with a series as good as this it would be difficult to make an ending that could match it. nice box set to add to the collection and watching it again gives you the opportunity to find many more hidden gems in the story. dvds are slimline and excellent value for the asking price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Death Note Complete [DVD]
Death Note Complete [DVD] by Shusuke Kaneko (DVD - 2009)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews