Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Origin Spirits of the Past
I was so looking forward to this film that I had to put it in the DVD player as soon as it dropped through my letterbox; and from the powerful and beautifully animated opening credits, with evocative music and stirring imagery, I knew I was going to be in for a treat. This film has excellent post apocalyptic and environmental themes that infuse it with a sense of drama...
Published on 19 July 2008 by Spider Monkey

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New to anime? An ideal starting point
Origin is visually gorgeous, and offers an ideal introduction to feature-film style anime if you've not watched much before. Like much of the best anime it combines simplicity with creativity; stunning artwork and subtlety with occasionally crass naivety, one-dimensional characters and blunt (or pointless) plotting. Origin is littered with clever little ideas and wistful,...
Published on 29 July 2008 by Rowena Hoseason


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Particularly New Or Exciting, 27 Aug. 2008
By 
A. Provan "Bolt Vanderhuge" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Origin Spirits Of The Past - The Movie

Origin Spirits Of The Past is one of those movies that initially seems to offer a lot. It looks stunning, with the design of Neutral City in particular something to behold. But it becomes apparent very quickly that the story is the same old man vs. nature bit with a boy having to realise his destiny to save mankind and so on and so on.

It's a shame as Origins looked like it could have been something approaching the brilliance of Hayao Miyazaki. As it stands it's nothing of much interest to anyone besides animation buffs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great film delivered on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 6 Mar. 2010
This review is from: Origin Spirits Of The Past - The Movie [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Good graphics and lovely scenery but a lousy storyline full of shortcuts and clichés. For tree-lovers only
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 29 July 2008
By 
Baz Douglas (Thames Valley, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I like anime movies and looked forward to this. It looked wonderful, the anime is terrific, visually stunning. The story is topically set after a climatic apocalypse in a world run by Japanese druids. It is utter rubbish and very hard to follow or care about what's happening. I fell asleep. A real wasted opportunity, given the debate about climate change and possible disaster for the planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
perfect and fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
one of my favourite anime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nausicca rip off thats wide of the mark, 17 Sept. 2008
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Have you seen Naussica: Princess of the Valley of Wind?
You know, the early 80's anime by the director of Spirited Away and Howl's Moving Castle?
It's an environmentalist distopian vision of a future Earth, generations after an apocalyptic war featuring a doomsday weapon. It centers on a young girl and her struggle to make sense of her life and pick sides in a war that doesn't make much sense. It features a strong messianic theme and a villian who appears to repent of his evil in a vision after his own death and an evil plan from the past that could destroy the future (in the manga anyway). Although the animation techniques are dated it still has the power to move and inspire an audience. If you haven't seen it please do, it's a milestone movie. If you have seen it and you want more of the same avoid Origin like the plague and track down the Nausicaa manga instead as it takes the story further into Tolkien-esq flights of wonder.
But DON'T BOTHER WITH ORIGIN! It will make you very cross indeed.

If you haven't seen or read Nausicaa the chances are you might enjoy this movie, it might even seem fresh compared to western films like Water World that deal with similar ideas. There are even some cool 'super power' scenes that I'm sure you will enjoy. But I expect it will still leave a nasty taste in your mouth. The ideas just aren't explored very well. The computer graphics and traditional cel animation took terrible together in some places (the baddy's train looks like a Play Station 1 game, not a cartoon movie). I'm not against thsi technique, it has been done brilliantly else were, just not here. And the dialog....oh the dialog, it's just rank.
So go and enjoy Nausicca instead, even if it's for the 10th time it will be more rewarding then this poorly realized tripe.

I'm telling you, somebody out there will thank me for this one day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great just as expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 10 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Origin Spirits Of The Past - The Movie [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I got this as I've been into studio Ghibli stuff for a while and this looked pretty good for the price. Its a pretty decent film worth the watch, impressive animation, the story becomes a bit clichéd after a while, non the less its worth a watch. Great opening sequence some nice incidental music as well, really well scored, something about the story just doesnt push it onto the same level as the Ghibli films, not so quirky, not so dark but for this price I'm glad I watched it and I'm sure I'll give it repeat viewings as well. Reminded me a little of the old final fantasy games on the PS One!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unusual, 16 Jan. 2009
By 
E. Heckingbottom "elaineheck143" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm not quite sure how to review this DVD - my impressions were very mixed. The title sequences were beautifully done, and the music was lovely; however, once the real story began, I found myself becoming less and less intrigued. Although some aspects were fun, i have to say that some aspects were really silly. I particularly object to clips which show people running, but not actually moving anywhere, because the background never changes! However, it is well dubbed and the story line is intriguing with good links to ecological themes.

I'm not sure if it's the genre that i don't enjoy - or if it was just this particular movie - but I don't think I'll be looking for any more like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Origin Spirits Of The Past - The Movie [Blu-ray]
Origin Spirits Of The Past - The Movie [Blu-ray] by Keiichi Sugiyama (Blu-ray - 2009)
£5.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews