Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not 'epic' but electric
First things first... Coheed are not emo, they're progressive rock.

Now that aside, I'll talk about this masterpiece.

Rather than offer an epic conclusion to the saga, this album offers a different, yet interesting approach. With its often claustrophobic riffs and lyrics and nostalgic melodies, this is a bitter-sweet creation.

We open with...
Published on 26 Oct 2007 by L. J. Warren

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something's not quite right.
I've been a big fan of 'Coheed and Cambria' since their first recordings, and have enjoyed hearing their new work improve and mature, but there's something not quite right on this album, whether it be the loss of members or the threat of almost splitting up I don't know, but I don't feel that they've taken these things and used them positively. I think the main thing that...
Published on 18 Feb 2008 by R. Willison


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not 'epic' but electric, 26 Oct 2007
By 
L. J. Warren - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First things first... Coheed are not emo, they're progressive rock.

Now that aside, I'll talk about this masterpiece.

Rather than offer an epic conclusion to the saga, this album offers a different, yet interesting approach. With its often claustrophobic riffs and lyrics and nostalgic melodies, this is a bitter-sweet creation.

We open with an atmospheric, haunting piece entitled 'The Reaping'. Claudio's sweet, childlike lyrics offer us a 'calm before the storm' feeling as it quickly kicks into the title track "No World For Tomorrow". These two songs alone set the tone of the entire album, introducing a speed-up, slow-down formula to the saga.
We are then guided through the highs and lows of the characters final struggle. We feel the 'highs' in such songs as: 'The Running Free' and 'Radio Bye Bye'. But also the lows in songs such as: 'Mother Superior' and 'The End Complete'. AND IT WORKS!!!

Now I can guarantee that MOST will not know what to make of this album the first time they listen to it. But listen to it a couple more times and you'll find that tracks start to stand out rapidly and that the whole album is woven together beautifully.

To sum up... this is a strangely appealing album that gets better every time you hear it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something's not quite right., 18 Feb 2008
By 
R. Willison "richwillison" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've been a big fan of 'Coheed and Cambria' since their first recordings, and have enjoyed hearing their new work improve and mature, but there's something not quite right on this album, whether it be the loss of members or the threat of almost splitting up I don't know, but I don't feel that they've taken these things and used them positively. I think the main thing that stands out is how horribly boring the drums are compared to what Coheed can usually produce, Taylor Hawkins' playing is very standard. Chris Pennie is the new drummer and I am wondering if he doesn't change the drums how he can be excited to play after coming from the challenging mathcore band Dillinger Escape Plan. Apart from that, the guitars sound awesome (but a bit more 'classic rock' than usual) and the vocal parts sound as great as always. I'm very much looking forward to what they can produce with their new members on their next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coheed for Christmas, 26 Dec 2007
I'm impressed. The last CD of theirs I bought was their first, the Second Stage Turbine Blade, which I must say was a little disappointing. No such qualms with this. It's more catchy than epic, with many singalongs, and Sanchez' unique voice as ever makes it very entertaining. The guitar work is also very good, with some new styles of track, in 'Mother Superior' especially. Lyrically it's more of the same, but 'Gravemeakers and Gunslingers' has some really cool lyrics. The choruses are some of Coheed's strongest ever, and although there are no tracks really rivalling 'The Crowing' or 'Welcome Home' from previous albums, as a whole this album is probably stronger than 'From Fear Through The Eyes Of Madness.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite there, but close enough, 25 Oct 2007
This is the second half of the fourth and final part of C&C's mammoth space-prog-rock epic, which is meant to be the last section of the story with the first being released some time in the future. Confused? You should be.

Trying to make sense of the complex story aside, this continues much in the same way as its predecessors, though is somewhat lacking in the 'epic' stakes. There isn't really a towering, monolithic track on this record that stands out in the same way that "In Keeping Secrets" or "Welcome Home" do on previous albums. However, it isn't without its fair share of good tunes. "Feathers" sounds reminiscent of Bon Jovi/Bryan Adams melodic rock, "Gravemakers and Gunslingers" kicks as much behind as its uber-cool name suggests and is quite possibly the best song Iron Maiden never wrote. The first single, "The Running Free" is a bit simplistic, but "Mother Superior" returns to the melodic Bon Jovi-esque power ballad.

Overall, this is a worthy collection to the Coheed and Cambria canon, although as a supposed climax to the overarching story it is somewhat subdued - in many ways its predecessor sounds more like a closing act. I'd give it 3 and a half stars if I could, so I've rounded it up to four. It is still well worth a listen, though it does seem to be missing its battle-cry...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Are we talking about the same album?, 15 Dec 2007
By 
J. Powling - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I suggest that anyone who calls this album a 'masterpiece' probably didn't listen to and marvel in the greatness of The Second Stage Turbine, or In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth 3.

Nothing in No World for Tomorrow rivals the awe inspiring self titled track of In Keeping Secrets, or the beautiful but diverse three tracks of the Velorium Camper, or the gritty A Favour House Atlantic and Cuts Marked in the March of Men, or the splendid 'Delirium Trigger' and 'Devil in Jersey City.'

Even the track 'The Running Free' pales compared to 'Ten Speed', 'Welcome Home', and 'Once Upon your dead body'. Only 'The End Complete II: Radio Bye Bye' really stands up in sound qualiy to the first volume of Good Apollo.

I think a lot of this album can be tarnished with the brush of similarity and staleness. And while occasionally you can hear the sound which made this band so great in its own way, it wholly lacks the epic sound that catapulted it onto the stage it possesses today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No World For Tomorrow (Audio CD)
Been a fan of Coheed for a couple of years now. This was the next album to add to my collection and it doesn't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely to have a seller you can rely on, 2 July 2013
By 
Mrs. Sheila Watson "sheilawatson" (Newcastle,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No World For Tomorrow (Audio CD)
This was a gift and the and the receiver was delighted with it. I as the purchaser was equally delighted with all aspects of this purchase and would happily recommend this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great end to the series, 3 Nov 2009
By 
D. Hunter (Maldon, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great record, fitting end to the series, and contrary to most people's opinions, I think the drumming of Taylor Hawkins is spot-on. Play for the song, as the old adage goes. As good as any in the series, just different that's all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Space-Prog Rock Opera? No Way!!, 7 July 2008
By 
A. Peppiatt (Derbyshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Being a fan of Coheed for a good 4 years, I have grown to know a lot about them. And when I read in Kerrang! magazine, (prior to release) that the album/songs from it qualify as a 'Space Prog-rock opera' and are 'over-the-top' I can't help but feel... unclean.
There is a backstory to the Coheed saga, and this gives all the songs a passion that is both touching and fantastic; frontman and creative genius Claudio Sanchez lends his vocals so well to every song, you quickly 'get over' his high-pitch voice (I know this has put a lot of people off Coheed's music.)
Travis Stever (guitarist) lashes the songs with smooth licks of his guitar and some catchy and beautiful riffs. (Catchy; Feathers. Beautiful; Mother Superior).
The whole album screams with oozing talent and pure, mesmerizing melodies. If looking for a genre, you would probably settle on Prog-Rock (or the controversial'New-Prog) but this album rather defies classification. Every song is differnt. You have the acoustic, disturbing hauntings of The Reaping to open, heavy metal guitar solos galore in Gravemakers and Gunslingers, progressive stylings in Mother Superior and what can only be described as Jazz-come-Blues-come-Rock-come-Shredding in the End Complete V: On the Brink to finish it all off.
This album (coming in at exactly an hour long) if fifteen tracks of pure heaven... though I won't lie to you - a Foo Fighters fan I'm not, and (this could make it or break it for you) Taylor Hawkins hasn't made a decent job on the drums that I think new drummer Chris Pennie would. This isn' bad drumming, don't get me wrong, but compared to the sheer power of Pennie... But that's just me being a fanboy. It's a good album, aside from that one flaw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome (again!), 16 April 2008
By 
Weaver (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Their most accessible and commercial album yet? Maybe, but to my mind Claudio & Co haven't sold out - this is still brilliant stuff. The 'making of' DVD goes some way to explaining why NWFT seems perhaps less cohesive than the other albums, but there's a wealth of fine music here nonetheless. Its got more of an 80s rock sound and less of the 'prog' elements than before, but that's where they were at in 2007. To these ears the best band on the planet right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No World For Tomorrow [Explicit]
No World For Tomorrow [Explicit] by Coheed and Cambria
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews