Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Iron Maiden
Ok so this is another "best of..." album. Ok so it only covers the '80s and misses all of the recent hits. The comments in reviews below seem to cover these points a lot! REALLY, read the title!! Maiden aren't hiding this, if you don't need another best of album don't buy it. You're all big boys aren't you with a mind of you're own? If you're going to post a review,...
Published on 3 Jun 2008 by Stef

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice selection, but.................
When i read that maiden were to release another best of i thought 'not again!'. But after a couple of excelent early days tours, it seems that everyone and his dog are passionate again about the first ten years. however, wouldn't it have been better to release a live album of the current tour instead of this best of, i mean, its no better than edward the great, and its...
Published on 1 May 2008 by Keith Lard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Iron Maiden, 3 Jun 2008
By 
Stef (Moscow, Russia) - See all my reviews
Ok so this is another "best of..." album. Ok so it only covers the '80s and misses all of the recent hits. The comments in reviews below seem to cover these points a lot! REALLY, read the title!! Maiden aren't hiding this, if you don't need another best of album don't buy it. You're all big boys aren't you with a mind of you're own? If you're going to post a review, review the music. This album includes some of the very best IRON MAIDEN around. These are classic tracks from the best British metal band. If you are an old Maiden fan like me you can not help but enjoy this...it's playing in my car every morning on the way to work and if "Can I play with madness" doesn't put you in a good mood I don't know what will. If you're a newbe, then sit back, enjoy and be amazed at some of the best metal tracks around!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's all about the music., 25 May 2008
By 
This CD earns a five star review from me because, simply put, there is not a bad song on it.
Other reviewers have chosen to criticize because they feel that it's a cash in - designed to exploit the die hard fans into shelling out yet again for "another" best of. Not so. This set is aimed at the casual listener and the curious newcomer. Maiden have said that they don't expect their fans to buy everything they release, so guess what people...If you've already got these songs - don't buy them again. For those that think previous "best of" collections should be enough, remember this CD is all about making Maiden's music as accessible as possible for those who are only just discovering the band. People who aren't going to spend time exploring what may or may not have been released previously.
If you are a newcomer - You could do a lot worse than to pick up a copy of this disk. The quality of songs on offer is second to none. This release is a great springboard towards a band that play some of the most life affirming music on offer today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iron Maiden-Somewhere Back In Time, 11 April 2009
By 
Mr. A. D. Humphries (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A collection of some of the early stuff from a classic metal band. Even nearly 30 years on, it still stands the test of time. How many bands would rather that their early stuff would just 'go away?' From the introductory 'Churchill speech' that always raises the hackles on my back of my neck and on through classics like The Trooper, Children of the Damned, Number of the Beast and Run to the Hills, this is a must have album for anyone who likes their music 'on the heavy side'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A record of a great night, 12 July 2008
By 
K. A. Watts "Dartmoor Rock" (Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I know some people will say "not another compilation" but a lot of us at Twickenham have not been avid buyers of the Maiden, for us late converts this is a great disc and a reminder of a great night with a band that played fantastic rock and showed genuine respect to their fans.
Okay so it's a money making venture but it's still good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Missed the point?, 5 Mar 2011
Like reviews for other compilation albums by artists such as Queen etc, we see the same kind of complaints - 'Why are they releasing stuff we already have?' and so on. If you already have the albums, why would you want to buy any compilations? These albums aren't for you, they're for people who have heard of the bands but don't know where to start listening to them (I was the same, coming late to Maiden, and allowed a friend to create a compilation for me which led to my becoming a devoted fan).

The music here is awesome, and will be a treat for people who are just stepping into the waters. People who refer to older compilations don't seem to understand that 'old' compilations have no appeal to younger potential fans - it has to seem current (ie. new packaging, new image), otherwise it's just 'old'. The more we can see old bands re-presented and introduced to new audiences the happier I, for one, will be. And no, I won't be buying this, because I already have all of the songs in their original context - on the albums where they belong. For everyone else, it's a great place to begin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DAVE THINKS IT'S GREAT!!!!, 19 July 2008
By 
Adam Jackson "Symphonic Metal Fan" (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If, like me, you have this band's back catalogue already then there isn't any point in this (especially if you have a CD burner!) as it offers no new material and is simply a nicely packaged compilation!
HOWEVER, I have a mate at work, a couple of years younger than myself, who after several years in the wilderness (marriage, mortgage etc) has returned to the metal fold, and absoluteley LOVES this CD! It's a really good starting block or as a refresher!
I can endorse the 5 stars, as the material here is taken from what were by far the best years of Maiden's career - they still make some decent music today but there is less fire in the belly, now they are the wrong side of 50.
The songs here though are all strong, and heavy - It's easy to see the influence that this era of Iron Maiden played in the birth of Thrash & Speed Metal back in the mid '80s!
Basically, full on Metal, with perhaps the finest Heavy Metal Bass Guitar lines ever from the legendary Steve Harris!!
It's great to see that the Paul Dianno (original singer) years are included here - Dianno, while not having Dickinson's range, is actually my favourite, and his gruff vocals really suited Maidens early, proto-thrash music.(I really rate 1981's Killers).
Incidentally, my mate really rated Maiden's recent Twickenham gig - let us
hope it was filmed......
All I need to do now is convert him to Metallica, then Dimmu Borgir!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metal Maiden At There Very Best, 10 July 2014
By 
Timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Somewhere Back In Time:The Best Of Iron Maiden 1980-89.
Number of CD's: 1.

Track Listings.
1)Intro (Churchill's Speech) (1998 Digital Remaster).
2) Aces High (Live; 1998 Digital Remaster).
3)2 Minutes To Midnight (1998 Digital Remaster).
4)The Trooper (1998 Digital Remaster) .
5)Wasted Years (1998 Digital Remaster).
6)Children Of The Damned (1998 Digital Remaster).
7)The Number Of The Beast (1998 Digital Remaster).
8)Run to the Hills (1998 - Remaster).
9)Phantom Of The Opera (Live; 1998 Digital Remaster).
10)The Evil That Men Do (1998 Digital Remaster).
11)Wrathchild (Live; 1998 Digital Remaster).
12) Can I Play With Madness (1998 Digital Remaster).
13)Powerslave (1998 Digital Remaster).
14)Hallowed Be Thy Name (1998 Digital Remaster).
15)Iron Maiden (Live; 1998 Digital Remaster).

Review.
This is a Excellent album focusing on Rock icons Iron Maidens early years featuring powerful metal anthems, energetic Guitar riffs & Bruce Dickinsons gravelly vocals, this album include classics: 2 Minutes To Midnight, Run To The Hills, Can I Play With Madness & The Number Of The Beast.

My only gripe is why Paul Di'anno isn't included on this album as there some great tracks featured on the Iron Maiden & Killers albums.

This is a ideal purchase & a good starting point for new Iron Maiden fans to get a taste for just how legendary these metal warriors are in the rock industry, This album showcases Maiden at there very best & features a wide range of quality songs & comes free with a mp3 Autorip download, What else can I say except buy it now!

Timelord Rating.
10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For New Fans Rather than Old, 4 Dec 2008
As stated in Maiden's own release info this album is to introduce their new young (U25) fans (mainly from India / Far East) to their older music. Most of these fans have been hooked on the newer material so this album is realesed to coincide with the Back in Time tour and create new interets in the 80's music. If your an older fan who has all the old albums then don't bother (unless you want the art work). If your a newer fan and don't have the old albums this a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iron Maiden - Somewhere Back In Time: The Best of: 1980 - 1989, 13 May 2008
By 
Michael (Hastings, England.) - See all my reviews
Ok, so, if you're a Maiden fan you've heard and got all of these songs I expect, at least four times over, seeing as this is their 4th 'Best Of' compilation (others are Ed Hunter, Best Of The Beast, Edward The Great) and a lot of these songs are on their 4 live albums (Live After Death, a Real Live Dead One, Rock In Rio, Death On The Road). The live tracks from the Di'Anno era on this compilation are live for a reason; they're performed by Bruce Dickinson. So this is a good starting point for someone interested in Maiden's world, as it points their fingers to the better songs throughout the 80's but so much more could've been added, even turned it into a double disc but nevermind all that. The front cover artwork is a genius idea, combining the Powerslave and Somewhere In Time covers together. So you're either gonna buy this if you:
a) want to get into Maiden
b) already have the songs but want to carry on your Maiden collection
c) want it cos the album cover is the best one in years.
Not much else to say really. A standard Best Of to get the money making machine rolling. Still a good selection of some of Maiden's 80's classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice selection, but................., 1 May 2008
When i read that maiden were to release another best of i thought 'not again!'. But after a couple of excelent early days tours, it seems that everyone and his dog are passionate again about the first ten years. however, wouldn't it have been better to release a live album of the current tour instead of this best of, i mean, its no better than edward the great, and its certainly not a patch on the 2cd version of best of the beast. puting all that aside, what you have here, is a cd with great artwork and a collection of songs that were taken from the '98 remasters. Another thing that i noticed about this collection is that the songs they have put on here from the first two albums are live versions, and i have got a funny idea that they are probably live versions featuring bruce on vocals (correct me if i am wrong), even still, they seem to have a real problem with using the original versions from those two albums. i know steve harris never was happy with the production of the first album, but even still its greet to hear what a fantastic contribution paul dianno made to those first two records.... my advice would be, if you are new to the world of maiden would be to go for best of the beast 2cd version.... its nice to have a best of in the collection, but there just seems to be something lacking in this one, still gets a respectable 3 stars.......carry on rockin'!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Somewhere Back In Time
Somewhere Back In Time by Iron Maiden
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews