Customer Reviews


343 Reviews
5 star:
 (254)
4 star:
 (66)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Far Better Than The First
I don't understand all of these negative reviews. Europe got a much better edition of her "Greatest Hits", while the rest of us had to settle for an album of horrible remixes of her hits. This "Ultimate Collection" is a welcome addition, and it does manage to pull together many of her greatest and best-known songs from the past twenty years. All of her staple songs are...
Published on 5 Nov. 2007 by Reno Baldomero

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Collection?
More of a taster really. Could have been so much better if had been a double album perhaps with many more of her best hits.
Published on 23 Mar. 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Far Better Than The First, 5 Nov. 2007
I don't understand all of these negative reviews. Europe got a much better edition of her "Greatest Hits", while the rest of us had to settle for an album of horrible remixes of her hits. This "Ultimate Collection" is a welcome addition, and it does manage to pull together many of her greatest and best-known songs from the past twenty years. All of her staple songs are here; "Greatest Love of All", "I Will Always Love You" and her debut single from 1985 "Saving All My Love for You". The collection, however, is far from definitive as a couple of important songs are missing, most notably "All at Once" and "You Give Good Love", both from her debut album. Despite all of this, the album is still far better than her two-disc remix album, "Greatest Hits", from 2000. What more is there to say? Just sit back and enjoy her golden voice.

Highlights: "I Have Nothing", "Saving All My Love for You", "Run to You" and "I'm Your Baby Tonight".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase!, 3 Nov. 2007
By 
All the negative reviews talk about the same thing, that there's the 2 disc version of the greatest hits, that it hasn't been long since they released a greatest hits, etc. Well, here's why this is a good release:

1- This is the best SINGLE Whitney cd to own. The other greatest hits was a long 2 disc and they split the uptempo and ballads into seperate discs which made it a very difficult listening experience because you get tired after listening to 18 ballads in a row or 18 dance songs in a row. This cd has MOST of Whitney's hits and it's well balanced and it's on one cd, so you don't have to sit for 2 hours to listen to it. Then you have another compilation Love Whitney but it only includes love songs. And there's also Artist Collection but that one doesn't have any of the hits from her soundtracks and has some unknown songs. So this is the most "friendly" greatest hits because it's not too long and it's very well balanced as a listening experience and in terms of hits.

2- This cd is ment for the casual fans or for people who don't own Whitney cds, it's the simplest way to get most of her hits on one cd. Sure there are many hits missing like All The Man That I Need, Step By Step, Could I Have This Kiss Forever, You Give Good Love (although this song wasn't released in the UK), but still overall it has 80% of Whitney's major hits.

So as a cd by itself, anyone who has an interest in Whitney Houston should get this cd. For those who have the 2 disc greatest hits or the big fans who have most of her albums, then you can pass...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WH Review, 2 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
fantastic cd although was disappointed to discover Queen of the Night was not on here. Maybe products like this should have a list of tracks on which customers can preview before they buy it? Otherwise its brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT ALBUM:), 9 Nov. 2009
By 
C. Karikides (cambridge,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this album is really good has loads of her hit songs on it:)
would recommend it to anyone who is a fan i wasn't a big fan before i got the cd but i am now and listen to it all the time:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album, 8 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like this album.A superb,lasting piece of work.Highly recommend it and for any age group, you'll be dead chuffed with it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whitney's Ultimate Collection, 17 Mar. 2012
By 
Mrs KvN (Selsdon, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This collection of Whitney's songs really IS the Ultimate Collection. It is a must have for all die-hard Whitney fans and although released some time prior to her death, it is a fitting legacy and one she can be proud of. I've hardly had it out of my CD player since I bought it. You won't be disappointed. Whitney Houston - The Ultimate Collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars music that lasts, 28 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album that I bought was the best I think anyone can have now that we no longer have a great singer here this is one of her greatest ever CD's that money can buy the greatest voice of all time from someone who appreciates the music I like and this is one of them and from many more great artists that we all love and still enjoy their music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great CD, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
what a fabulous voice and super tracks in the compilation! This is a great CD, so pleased to own something of Whitney's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not truly an ultimate collection, but the best collection so far, 7 Oct. 2012
By 
Mr. D "Mr. D" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is for: Whitney Houston - The Ultimate Collection (18-Track CD)
To call this album "The Ultimate Collection" when it misses the Top 10 hit "Love Will Save The Day" seems strange. There are also other big hits such as "All The Man That I Need", "Step By Step", and "Queen Of The Night" missing. Also key album tracks such as "All At Once" would need to be included for any collection to be truly ultimate. So it soon becomes apparent that this should have been a double CD if it was truly going to be "The Ultimate Collection".

But judging what we have on this disc, I find it to be an exceptional body of work and far better than the strange "Greatest Hits" collection released previously which had some odd sounding remixes included. This time we mostly get the original single versions and in some cases these are different from the album version or the version on the previous collection. For instance "My love Is Your Love" is the UK single version, which to my ears is far preferable to the Wyclef Jean mix on the previous collection. Songs like "Saving All My Love For You" and "The Greatest Love Of All" are slightly remixed from the album versions and are true to the original 7" single versions that were played on the radio. For me this is what a singles compilation should be about, giving us exactly what we heard on the radio and TV at that time. A few tracks are still included in the album version though, such as "So Emotional". It would have been nice to have included the single version, which was remixed by Shep Pettibone because that sounds more familiar.

Comparing the different collections on the market, I would say this is the best one available currently, although it isn't truly ultimate. The record company are still making sure you have to buy more than just the one CD if you want the best of Whitney. But overlooking the dubious title, for this price and the superb quality of music offered here, it is an easy 5 stars.

*** Update November 2012 ***
There is a new compilation "I Will Always Love You: The Best Of Whitney Houston" now available which is a double CD featuring all the tracks from this collection, except 2 tracks: "When You Believe" and "Where Do Broken Hearts Go"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Whitney, Fantastic!........ R.I.P., 17 Mar. 2012
This has it all, for anyone who want a collection to remember WH.
All on one disk which is handy.
Another good thing is many tracks are digitally remastered so A1 quality!!!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews