Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly the very best
In his hey-day in the 1970s, when most of this CD's tracks were recorded, the distinctive image known to fans of John Denver was his longish blond hair, cowboy attire and `granny' glasses. Since his death, without concerts or television appearances his image may not always register with the younger generation, but his music legacy lives on. Today, throughout the world...
Published on 19 May 2009 by D. Elliott

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Less than his best
I have really ordered ' The Best of John Denver' and received this instead. Certainly it is way beolw the reord I requested and seems to be a hotch potch of various tracks cobbled together in order to produce another JD record.
Published 9 months ago by Brian All Right


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly the very best, 19 May 2009
By 
D. Elliott (Ulverston, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
In his hey-day in the 1970s, when most of this CD's tracks were recorded, the distinctive image known to fans of John Denver was his longish blond hair, cowboy attire and `granny' glasses. Since his death, without concerts or television appearances his image may not always register with the younger generation, but his music legacy lives on. Today, throughout the world his country/folk voice is immediately recognizable, and the collection of numbers on this CD will also be immediately recognized as Denver songs. It commences with `Annie's Song', one of John Denver's early compositions that immortalised his wife; and then the immensely popular `Rocky Mountain High' alluding to his adopted State of Colorado (and adopted name Denver). Other brilliant Denver compositions are `Back Home Again', `I'm Sorry', `The Music Is You', and `Matthew' plus the beautifully lilting `Cool An' Green An' Shady' and the great favourite `For Baby'. Other love songs include `Don't Close Your Eyes Tonight' and `It's Up To You'. A love influence permeates most of the numbers but John Denver is perhaps at his best for the ballad `Take Me Home Country Roads'; or when injecting melancholy as with `Polka Dots and Moonbeams'; or nostalgia as `City Of New Orleans'; or humour as `Please Daddy'; or more breezy numbers as `Grandma's Feather Bed' and `Late Night Radio'; or any supplementary feelings that may be desired. The final track `Friends With You' confirms John Denver's wide ranging supremacy with a sensitive song coupled to a rousing chorus approach. There is more - and this CD `The Very Best of John Denver' truly does embrace many of his finest recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'ONE OF THE 'COUNTRY-GREATS', 11 Mar 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
'John Denver' was a talented song-writer, great vocalist and talented musician.
In the U.K. only 'Annie's Song' made a real impact for 'John Denver' reaching
number 1' (singles chart) as did it in the U.S.
'Olivia Newton John' had a big hit with 'Take me home Country Roads' in the
U.K. which of course part was written by 'John Denver'
In truth his album releases in the U.K drew more interest overall, whilst in the
U.S. 'John Denver' he achieved '30' top forty hits, 18 of which reached the Top
'10' of those '9' reached the Top spot.....quite a impressive record for a country
artist, I believe 'Country-Music' is embraced in the U.S more so than in the U.K.
For me, it's pleasant and enjoyable easy-listening.
Some of the stand-out tracks on-board include :- 'Annie's Song' 'Rocky Mountain
High' 'Take me Home Country Roads' 'For Baby(for Bobbie) 'Got my Heart set
On You' 'Don't Close Your Eyes Tonight' 'Please Daddy' 'Back Home Again' and
'I'd Rather be a Cowboy' Just a sample of the many great listening material on
board.....again, as is the case with many artists, you'd probably need to collect four
or five such albums to collect all his best know releases.
A great collector's item.....great music to 'chill' with.
Sadly, 'John' died when his two-seater aircraft plunged into the water of 'Monterey
Bay' October 13th 1997.............he was '53-years old'
The music lives on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Less than his best, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have really ordered ' The Best of John Denver' and received this instead. Certainly it is way beolw the reord I requested and seems to be a hotch potch of various tracks cobbled together in order to produce another JD record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as good as ever, 30 Dec 2009
By 
Ck Scott "Trouble" (East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (MP3 Download)
as always songs from the heart with motives. Some good some bad. JD always a good singer & writer. A good value compilation. Chris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Denver cd, 9 Sep 2009
By 
B. Mulhall (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My grandson was overjoyed to receive the cd but is not amused with his Dad who keeps taking it and playing it in his car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Denver, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as I had no John Denver in my collection.

As the title says it is some of the very best of Johns music.

Loved it!, fabulous voice and some really classic tracks!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love John Denver, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its got all the best remembered songs on, very easy listening and sing-a-long to. Have it on loud so hope I haven't upset neighbours
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Far out!, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This C.D. is fantastic. It fills the bill. We listen to the c.d. daily in the car, and it is so uplifting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This came through very quickly. I was very impressed with the service that I got from this place. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for my Kindle, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (MP3 Download)
Have always liked John Denver and this has some of his most well-known songs on. Good listening. Brings back happy memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of
The Best Of by John Denver
Buy MP3 Album£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews