Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'An Interesting And At Times Bizarre Listen'
The great strength of this release for me is the excellent and informative cd booklet. Packed full of photo's and interesting snippets about the songs and the bands featured, it really does help a 'newbie' to this genre of music like me enjoy the album. There are a lot of gems on this album, Mandrake Paddle Steamer's 'Strange Walking Man' (a glorious slice of 60's...
Published on 21 Oct 2007 by Antony May

versus
4 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Instructive
Besides the strange sound effects cobbled onto the front or end of many of these songs, the factor that links most of them is that they were commercially not successful. And the factor that unites all the failures here is the underplayed vocals. Even Kevin Ayers, who opens this collection, had a somewhat throw-away singing style.

For goodness sake, men, watch...
Published on 4 Nov 2008 by Gavin Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'An Interesting And At Times Bizarre Listen', 21 Oct 2007
By 
Antony May (East Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The great strength of this release for me is the excellent and informative cd booklet. Packed full of photo's and interesting snippets about the songs and the bands featured, it really does help a 'newbie' to this genre of music like me enjoy the album. There are a lot of gems on this album, Mandrake Paddle Steamer's 'Strange Walking Man' (a glorious slice of 60's progressive psych), Mike Proctor's - 'Mr Commuter' (always reminds me of the start of the Reginald Perrin programme because of the lyrics!) and The Aerovons -'World Of You' being especially good. Also well worth buying this for are the hilariously bizzarre, 'Nightmares In Red' by The Brain and Simon Dupree & The Big Sound's little heard but excellent 'Castle In The Sky'. There are a few duffers along the way but I suspect that these will differ wildly depending on personal taste (I'm not keen on The Yardbirds, Syd Barrett or Koobas tracks myself). A distinct bonus is the way that this cd 'hangs together' very well as an album listen. So often this is not the case with compilations in spite of the quality of the tracks on show but you will find this album an engaging and constantly changing 70 minutes listen. To sum up then, an intelligently compiled collection that will appeal to both collectors and those new to the genre. A definite purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nightmares in Red, 8 Oct 2007
As the excellent liner notes begin..."It was 40 years ago today..." that 1967 proved to be the turning point in Pop History, when the experimental nature of the Psychedelic Scene moved Pop Music into a different Stratosphere and heralded the arrival of Progressive Rock. Interestingly, alot of the Band Members featured on this Comprehensive Collection of Curios went on to become better known in Prog Rock Bands. To name but two, Steve Howe from "Tomorrow" and Ken Hensley from "The Gods". It is the latter Band that, not surprisingly, produce the heaviest number here "Towards The Skies".

However, by far the most bizarre track is "Nightmares in Red" by "The Brain" which manages to make The Bonzo Dog Doo Dah Band sound sober. "Insane Times" is an apt title for some of these cuts but don`t let that put you off, there are many fine Psyche artefacts here as Deltic says in the previous review. For the money, another fine set, well worth buying. Full credit to John Reid who compiled and annotated the collection from the EMI Vaults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rare Treats, 15 Jan 2010
By 
P. HEATH "Paul Heath" (Northampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A wide selection of late 60's semi-psychedelic influenced music,very little of which I had heard. (I am not a great music expert.)
The chronology probably reveals most of these bands were copy-cats ,but the interesting thing for me is,despite some being unknown and short-lived,that they do not differ much in quality or originality from the famous names of the period. This is only proof of the random nature of fame and success or the abiding ease with which popular music can be made,but the result is nevertheless an evocative stroll in time.
The most notable re-discovery is the Aerovons ,whose efforts are like discovering lost late Beatles tracks,albeit better produced and more interesting because of their unfamiliarity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insane Times Indeed, A Nice Collection, 2 Jun 2008
I bought this because of its price which seemed good, and that I needed a British Psyche compilation to compliment my 'Nuggets' CD of Californian garage rarities (which is also excellent). I am only 16 years old, so it is probably unusual for someone my age to be into this sort of stuff, but I have listened to a lot of stuff in the last few years, and got very much into this sort of music as well as many other genres.

Upon first listen, I thought there seemed to be little that I liked, but it turned out to be one of those CD's which grows on you. There are some really great tracks on there, particularly 'Is it love?' by JON and 'Last Cloud Home' by Orange Bicycle. Some of the tracks are extremely bizarre, which is not bad to hear... just interesting, although I have taken a particular liking to 'Equestrian Statue' by Bonzo-Dog Band.

If you like 60's psychedelia with nice vocal harmonies, mellotrons, jangly guitar and occasionally bizzare instrumentation, then this is for you. You could relate this to artists such as The Byrds, The Beatles, Arthur Brown, Love etc...
As with most compilations there are some crap songs though, but mostly down to personal preference. Overall a good compilation, which I thought was worth it :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love and peace man., 17 Jun 2008
By 
Armchair Pundit "Armchair Pundit." (Durham City, England.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Most of these tracks sound refreshingly sixties to me even after all these years.
The late sixties early seventies have long since being my favourite musical era.
The only big names that jumped out at me here were The Hollies, The Yardbirds and Syd Barrett, but it's the lesser names that got me groovin'.
The Idle Race's; "Hurry up John" (with ELO's Jeff Lynn) shows Lynn's precocious talent was emerging even at this time (1968).
The Bonzo Dog Doo Dah Band's, Equestrian Statue (1967) does likewise for Neil Innes (The Rutles with Eric Idle).
Take a trip down memory lane and check this album out, it's for all you ageing Flower children and Hippies at heart.
Love, peace and sugar lumps man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Groovy Baby!, 15 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. David J. Garrett "dizzy" (uk, sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some overlap with other 60's UK Psych compo's but this worth a spin.I am too lazy to review this in depth but it is worth adding to your collection for some of the rarities included. Strange Walking Man is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb psych., 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a wonderful compilation of psychedelia It includes obscure names plus many that you know.Buy & enjoy again & again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Compilation so far, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been searching for psychedelic compilations and quite frankly most are disappointing. Not this one, though. This brings together so many tracks that get the era just right. Love Ipsissimus - Hold On. Just now need to find some vinyl originals !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Brit Psyche, 28 Sep 2007
By 
Z-Car (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
A fine selection of late 60s (and one early 70s) examples of British Psyche. Some tracks will be familiar but there is plenty new to me and, at the price, worth it for the new stuff alone. A blend of the typically whimsical British output of those times together with some heavier tracks. Only a couple really disappoint. These guys deserve to be heard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Nov 2014
Very Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews