Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value
Despite some of the unenthusiastic reviews of this product I was pleasantly surprised when I actually came to read it. I thought there were some very well written articles and reviews of the latest developments. I was particularly impressed by the article concerning the technical details of using solid state memory for video customer entertainment in new Boeing...
Published on 14 Sep 2012 by Trader

versus
46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just not really worth it...
I like a good computer magazine; but I, like other reviewers, was sceptical about how well it would work on the Kindle. For me, the answer is not that well. The lack of images IS an issue, as is the USA slant, particularly on hardware. The I-Phone content is excessive for a PC mag and the hole where the Excel tips should be is inexcusable.

Two pluses: the...
Published on 1 Oct 2010 by DC-K


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just not really worth it..., 1 Oct 2010
This review is from: PC Magazine (Kindle Edition)
I like a good computer magazine; but I, like other reviewers, was sceptical about how well it would work on the Kindle. For me, the answer is not that well. The lack of images IS an issue, as is the USA slant, particularly on hardware. The I-Phone content is excessive for a PC mag and the hole where the Excel tips should be is inexcusable.

Two pluses: the section skip meant that it was quick to jump past articles that didn't interest me (very handy as it happens); and the free trial meant I didn't have to take other people's word for it but could reach my own conclusion.

In the spirit of that last comment, give it a try if you want, you have nothing to lose but I found nothing much to gain either and cancelled my subscription...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 91 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Dull - Nothing of interest, I am cancelling my subscription, 1 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: PC Magazine (Kindle Edition)
Surprisingly the Kindle has a very limited choice of IT magazines - PC Pro where are you? - I am an IT professional, I'm a voracious reader of IT publications, in my opinion PC Magazine is one of the poorest in print - On the Kindle it's even worse, with no pictures to add some sparkle, it's just dull poorly researched text, on the latest issue (Sep 10) there was just a single article of the remotest interest to me, just rehashed boring reviews of iPhone apps and anti-virus software! One did catch my eye - 10 Excellent tips for Excel 2010 - so I opened it to read, I could not believe my eyes at first, the whole article was 1 paragraph long with zero tips, I assume a kindle version publishing error, this just illustrates though the poor quality of this publication, which I am going to cancel my subscription for now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely disappointing, 6 Dec 2010
This review is from: PC Magazine (Kindle Edition)
Very few articles, little real editorial content, no illustrations. A poor effort, I'm afraid. If it was complete, it might be worthwhile, but even then it's the US edition and of limited value to UK customers. A pity, as it's the only PC mag available at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor, For US not UK, 4 Dec 2010
This review is from: PC Magazine (Kindle Edition)
Aside from the very annoying voice of the american woman who reads it out loud for you on the kindle, the prices are set in USD $ and not GBP £ , There is very little choice on the kindle for UK magazines this really needs to change as I was hoping to get BBC Focus And BBC wildlife magazines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Uninteresting and out of date, 25 Nov 2010
By 
MKL Yoong (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PC Magazine (Kindle Edition)
I agree with the other reviewers - the US-centric nature of the magazine grates, and overall, the content is lacking. The reviews don't format very well and really, an article about photo editing software that just lists (and not completely - notable absences include GIMP) the available software? A decent blog article could do better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars USA version! why? it's useless, 27 Dec 2010
This review is from: PC Magazine (Kindle Edition)
As an IT pro trying to do my bit for the environment I was willing to give the electronic version a go - I don't mind the lack of images as I can always see them on the internet but the whole thing is a complete waste as it is the American version. I can see the point of getting USA science magazines but, in IT, companies do different products for USA vs UK market so nearly everything discussed is useless info. Fortunately the free trial enabled me to discover this before parting with cash but I am still disappointed with Amazon for not pointing out it was the USA version on the UK Amazon website. DVD titles clearly state which region they are from - is it so hard to do the same for magazines? It never occurred to me to read other people's reviews prior to purchase as I know this magazine well, hmmm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hopeless, 1 April 2012
By 
This review is from: PC Magazine (Kindle Edition)
Very unimpressive. Here is the UK version? I don't need endlessly boring articles about American phones, apps, software and hardware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars american, 19 Jan 2012
This review is from: PC Magazine (Kindle Edition)
Poor choice of magazines as yet, and the only pc magazine is the american edition with prices in US$.
Come on publishers, there is a big demand for UK edition magazines on Kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars US not UK, come on Amazon, 19 Sep 2012
This review is from: PC Magazine (Kindle Edition)
I was quite disappointed that this is a US edition, sold to me on Amazon's UK site. Hence not much use as there is no guarantee that what they are talking about is relevant to the UK, and obviously the prices are in dollars.

Trying to like the Kindle app but can't find any magazines of interest, compared with iTunes which has tons of UK editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 14 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: PC Magazine (Kindle Edition)
Despite some of the unenthusiastic reviews of this product I was pleasantly surprised when I actually came to read it. I thought there were some very well written articles and reviews of the latest developments. I was particularly impressed by the article concerning the technical details of using solid state memory for video customer entertainment in new Boeing Dreamliner aircraft -- it was much better than having to endure yet another account of the latest video game performance.

In my opinion, the technical level of this magazine is above that of some of the run-of-the-mill products and although it is of USA flavour I find that of interest since where their market leads we follow. For a £.90 subscription per month it really is very good when you consider that most of the UK monthly computer magazines run out at about five pounds or more. You can't even buy a decent newspaper for £.90 And as far as I can tell this is the only PC magazine downloadable to Kindle.

I expect many of the review topics are covered elsewhere on the Internet for free (often, maybe not so well written?) but combined with the other articles and being in one handy place (e.g. in my pocket -- have you ever tried getting a copy of PC Pro or other similar sized magazines in your pocket?) I find it of great convenience. When you're busy and have lots of other things to read it's very handy to have a concise digest arrive monthly.

Ordinarily I think I would award this product 4 stars but since it's so ridiculously cheap it's well worth *****. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

PC Magazine
PC Magazine by Ziff Davis Media Inc.
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews