Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says...
My parents struggle with the modern mobiles so wanted an easy to see, easy to use phone. They are genuinely enthusiastic about this purchase which they find easy to follow. They are also pleased that they can receive a text but they don't have to send.
Buy a sim card and a five or ten pound credit to accompany this and for the more senior person this is an ideal...
Published on 7 Sep 2009 by MC

versus
51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but could do better
I bought one of these for my mother. She suffers from Parkinsons Disease, which has left her with limited mobility in her fingers and reduced vision.
My (ie her) requirements from a phone are therefore a clear screen, and distinct, easy-to-use buttons. This phone mostly meets those criteria, although the main menu system is quite poorly designed (why didn't they just...
Published on 11 Sep 2009 by DisappearingFast


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says..., 7 Sep 2009
By 
MC (West London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doro 338GSM Easy to Use Sim Free Mobile Phone - White (Electronics)
My parents struggle with the modern mobiles so wanted an easy to see, easy to use phone. They are genuinely enthusiastic about this purchase which they find easy to follow. They are also pleased that they can receive a text but they don't have to send.
Buy a sim card and a five or ten pound credit to accompany this and for the more senior person this is an ideal mobile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but could do better, 11 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doro 338GSM Easy to Use Sim Free Mobile Phone - White (Electronics)
I bought one of these for my mother. She suffers from Parkinsons Disease, which has left her with limited mobility in her fingers and reduced vision.
My (ie her) requirements from a phone are therefore a clear screen, and distinct, easy-to-use buttons. This phone mostly meets those criteria, although the main menu system is quite poorly designed (why didn't they just copy the old-style Nokia menu system that everyone used for years?).
My only real complaint is that the main menus are activated by a small, hard-to-press button on the side of the phone. Why? It's a poor design decision that defeats the object of this phone.
Overall, this phone gets three out of five from me. A good start but, as they used to say in school, "could do better".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swift delivery and totally suitable phone, 29 Oct 2009
By 
E. V. Hardy (Barnoldswick, Lancs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doro 338GSM Easy to Use Sim Free Mobile Phone - White (Electronics)
Utterly delighted with design and features of this mobile phone. Clear big font is such a relief when eyesight challenged. Big buttons and clear layout of controls engender confidence. Excellent service from DST via Amazon. also able to grasp hold of handset without fear of it slipping from hand. Not over bulky but feels substantial. The emergency contact feature could also bring peace of mind to relatives and mobile owner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mobile for Mother, 27 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. D. M. Allan (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doro 338GSM Easy to Use Sim Free Mobile Phone - White (Electronics)
The biggest reason for me selecting this phone was the "A","B","C" programmable buttons and the very big green / red buttons.

My mother is in a care home with limited mobility but a reasonably active brain however she was becoming more and more confused with her old mobile and the "fiddly" buttons, not least of which her amazing ability to hit the end call button to answer calls, not helpful when she's 150 miles away.

She now seems very confident and happy. By pressing "A" she calls me, by pressing "B", her husband and she always seems to answer the phone when we call now, something that was hit and miss with her old phone. She also finds it easy to hold for a lot longer when talking and it's been a terrific purchase to meet our needs.

The phone came with a drop in cradle charger which is also very useful but I don't think it was mentioned in the blurb. All in all excellent value for money if you want a very simple mobile that makes phone calls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dora phone for older persons, 11 Dec 2009
By 
C. Cooper (west sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doro 338GSM Easy to Use Sim Free Mobile Phone - White (Electronics)
Very easy to see and use. Instructions were clear and easy to follow. Very useful long strap so it could be hung around neck or attached to handle of a bag easily. Re-charge cradle is very easy for elderly person to use as you dont have to fiddle with small connection.
All in all a great phone for people with low dexterity or poor eye sight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars problem solved, 14 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Doro 338GSM Easy to Use Sim Free Mobile Phone - White (Electronics)
Doro 338GSM Easy to Use Mobile Phone - White
i bought these for my elderly parents who had hearing difficulties as well as being a bit resistant to new technologies. these phones tick all the boxes in terms of easy of use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Phone - Provided Peace of mind because its easy to use., 16 Nov 2009
By 
L. J. Enstone "Les" (Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doro 338GSM Easy to Use Sim Free Mobile Phone - White (Electronics)
We needed a mobile phone for my mother-in-law.
Despite being in her eighties, she is very active and is always out and about.
We wanted to be sure she would always a have a phone with her that she could operate, should she need assistance.. The Doro gives her just that. We set it up, she uses it - Spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for someone needing a simple mobile phone, 19 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doro 338GSM Easy to Use Sim Free Mobile Phone - White (Electronics)
We bought this phone for my 90 year old mother-in-law who was finding her current mobile phone was too small to read the screen, had buttons too small to press easily, and generally was a little too over-complicated. We chose this model because of its stated battery life. Although it comes with a charging cradle, she is quite likely to forget to replace it there, so we wanted a phone that would have a standby time of at least 7-10 days in case of long gaps between her getting family visitors. So far this model has lasted that length of time with battery life to spare.
There are three quick dial buttons for stored numbers, and the phone can have up to 30 numbers in its directory. It does not appear to be able to use the SIM to store additional numbers, which did mean we could not simply export numbers from her own phone to this one. The Emergency button could be useful feature for many people, although we have left it disabled. When the button is pressed, the phone goes into loud speaker mode, then calls each of the three quick dial stored numbers in turn, until one answers.
The phone is a good size, so easy to handle, and its display is very clear and easy to read. The phone will receive text messages, but cannot send texts.
The price seems expensive for what it is, at least when compared with mass-produced basic mobile phones, but when one considers that the market for models such as this is relatively small once can understand why it costs what it does. When we bought ours there was a large spread of prices for this phone in the market, but the lower price deals had long delivery times.Doro 338GSM Easy to Use Sim Free Mobile Phone - White
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not so easy, 16 Dec 2011
This review is from: Doro 338GSM Easy to Use Sim Free Mobile Phone - White (Electronics)
I did a lot of research to find a very simple phone for my elderly mother (91) who has been isolated by being in hospital for weeks. I thought this one would be perfect but it is still too complex for her.

I think there may be a gap in the market for an even easier phone which has more than 3 preset buttons.

My mother does not have dementia and is well read and intelligent but she has very poor eyesight and does not find technical things very easy.

Although the description says the buttons are large they do not seem that large and certainly for an elderly person with poor motor functions it is still quite a small phone and she finds it almost impossible to dial numbers.

If you are buying it for an elderly person I would check whether they can conceptually cope with the numbers being in the phone and whether they are familiar with a 'scroll down' function. I have found it almost impossible to explain this to my mother as she has never used a computer and so scrolling down which is instinctive to most adults now is an alien concept to her. The icon for the address book is very small. So this is why she has to dial numbers and why the small keyboard is problematic. I can see that it wouldn't be very commercially appealiing to make a phone that looks like a brick, but unfortunately I think in attempting to design a sylish phone the function is not as easy as it might be.Doro 338GSM Easy to Use Sim Free Mobile Phone - White
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Jan 2010
This review is from: Doro 338GSM Easy to Use Sim Free Mobile Phone - White (Electronics)
easy to use etc but a little chunkier than I thought it would be but therefore easy to hold etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb33292a0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews