Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense Racing at its Best !!
When i ordered this game when it was released i thought it was just a normal racing game. Little did i know the cars have weapons. I thought it would be just a five minute pick up and play arcade style game, WAS I TOTALLY WRONG !!, this game i cannot rate highly enough, it is just so so adictive i cannot state, its a must buy if you have an internet connection, as the...
Published on 28 Jun 2010 by Js Patterson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Good but not as polished as some other racing games on ps3
Published 22 days ago by Pete


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense Racing at its Best !!, 28 Jun 2010
By 
Js Patterson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Blur (PS3) (Video Game)
When i ordered this game when it was released i thought it was just a normal racing game. Little did i know the cars have weapons. I thought it would be just a five minute pick up and play arcade style game, WAS I TOTALLY WRONG !!, this game i cannot rate highly enough, it is just so so adictive i cannot state, its a must buy if you have an internet connection, as the online game play is just totally awesome and adictive, you just want "one more game" , and then you look at the clock and its 2am in the morning, its just awesome, if you want a great racing game with a fast pace and some great handing cars buy it, i cannot play any other game at present, a true gem !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FUN ! FUN ! FUN, 19 Aug 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Blur (PS3) (Video Game)
Great game, no really for driving simulator fan , but so fun either on Solo mode and Multiplayer mode.
You can play in split screen mode off line and online and once again, so much fun.I you don't have it, get it right now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blur, 5 July 2010
By 
Luke Thrower (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Blur (PS3) (Video Game)
Because nintendo have such a childish " this is my ball " atttitude, the next gen masses who have xbox and ps3 are left with no game to truly challenge Mario kart.

Now im not saying this is, its a different style but incorporates a similar system. Made by Bizzare creations ( who made the succesful Project Gotham Racing for the 360 ), the game is an arcade racer, mixing real world cars and areas with big power ups and exciting online play.

First off I'll cover the games main feature, truthfully its ownly feature and the real hook of the game.
The power ups are a great mix of new ideas as well as refashioned , classic ones found in the like of Mario kart and Crash bandicoot racing.
Shunt is like a big red missile orb, pulsating towards the car thats right ahead of you.
Another is the classic mine which can be dropped either in front or behind you, this will stay in the same place until it is eventually hit. Although this good be you or a enemy , they aren't the easiest to see so any who has played Super Smash Bros. Brawl will know the annoying feeling of hitting your own trap.
Barge is like a shockwave which engulfs you car and gives you extra power with hitting other cars, it also deflects their attempts to barge you.So essentially this is a shield with a bit of power.
Bolt is three missiles , these can be set off all at once or all at the same time.A huge bonus is awarded if you all the missiles contact with the same vehicle.
You also have the other usuals, Repair, Shield and Nitro for a speed boost.
But my personal favorite has to be the Shock power up, this is a absolute beast as it places 3 electric sections in front of the leading car , no matter where you are. These cause a huge amount of damage and take down the speed tremendously. Of course being as strong as it is this doesn't turn up often, but when it does havok enuses.
Of course all the power ups can be used to defend as well as attack, Shunt , Barge and Mine can all take care of incoming missiles , so it adds a brilliant tactial edge to the game.
Power ups are picked up as you race through the levels and slot into 2 gaps at rear bumber of the car , these are stylistic and dont look out of place in the neon world, in fact when you dont have any power ups it just looks like you bumper has 3 sections to its design.
A nice touch with the game is that the power ups arent all powerful, in fact all the attacking ones can be avoided with skillfull and careful driving. Similarly that the amount of damage caused doesn't ever knock you out of the race , it just makes it more difficult.

The makers have created a scenario in which anyone can win , no matter what, until the first car passes the line. This makes the racing very exciting.

I touched a little on the driving there, being the creators of PGR I was expecting big things handling wise, although I didn't expect it to be great in the same respect as it is more of an arcade racer.
I was blown away by the handling, it is slightly less realistic than PGR 4, and its not Gran Turismo but the resonce is fast and clean.
The turning is relevant to the cars shape and build , you really can feel the weight and shift of the car in the controls. The different cars all feel different and all take a different way of approaching racing.
Seeing as this game is a competitor to the likes of Split/Second and Burnout , it has managed to avoid all the usual falls that those games take and has made a real challenger.

Another big part of the gameplay, and one of its other positives of the way the game progresses. The different areas of the game all belong to different groups or people, taking a slight likeness to Need for Speed, and the Rivals all host a range of events which you take part in to own the area.
The variety in this game consists of 3 main modes but they are all mixed together so you dont get one area with one type. 2 of these are pretty conventional ( normal race , checkpoint race ) and the third is the heart thumping destruction races where you have to just destroy as many cars as possible.
New areas are unlocked by earning "lights", these are awarded in either 3 , 4 or 5's depending on how well you did and two others if you have managed to satisfy the fans.

The fans is a recreation of Bizzare's PGR kudos system, basically the more flair and skill you have the more the fans will love you, this equates to points and all together " what do points mean " ........ PRIZES.As you carry on you realise that you need more fans to get the right car for a certain race, and have a better chance of winning.
Races will lead to certain challenges that the fans want to see , the more you complete the more fans are following you. An example of a challenge would be to drive with Nitro on for 10 seconds and not hit anything, or just by using a power up to damage another car.
Each event has a certain amount of fans that you should be aiming for, getting over this amount means you get another light and in my testing this was a relatively difficult thing to do depending on the races, some were easier than others all the way through the game.
You do have special fan events or "fan runs", these are races where you have to drive through gates , and if you do you get another light.

On top of this , and adding more difficulty to the small amount of different race types. You must also meet the Rivals expectations in order to take their territory, these are usualy five things you need to do to win a final showdown and go car to car with them. The challanges are a little more difficult than the previous ones and are things like , damage a certain number of cars with a power up, complete a certain amount of fan runs or win all the lights at an event.
Truth be told I couldn't meet all the requirements of any rival , but it doesn't stop you progression in the game. It's merely a way of giving extra re-play ability to levels and events, it didn't stop my enjoyement as all the little ways of earning points, land and fans join together meaning you always finish a race with something. Like CoD, no matter what you do , you will always come out with a achievement after the match.
But if you do Win the race, you take their car as well as earning a upgrade for a power up. However it must be said that after many hours and races, some events were very frustrating, I was winning some races near the end of the game but having to go back to levels I unlocked ages ago to try and complete it.
This jumping about of difficulty is what truly leads to the inability to finish any area, and leaving me a little bit annoyed that an almost perfect arcade racer had such a simple issue hanging over its bright neon head.

Speaking of that , the game also has an online mode. The starting of the online matches will be simple to anyone who have played the likes of CoD or any lobby based games. So you go online and up to 20 cars can race together, this still leaves a decent amount of space in the tracks , although overtaking and pwerups are manic and exciting.
Jumping into the lobby you have all the current members surrounding the center console, this includes information like what the race is and where its held. It also has class restrictions meaning only certain types of cars can be used, as well as picking you style for powerups, e.g. aggresive , showing you one definate power up and two random ones.
The clock then counts down from about 30 and after the loading screen, which features an image of the track and a track guide, you are off. Loading times do depend on your internet connection, but the race will start as soon as every one is ready.
The races begin with a rolling start meaning the action truly is right off the bat, the online also uses voice chat which I generally turn off through habit as their are still immature gamers.
Offline multiplayer is available through split screen up to 4 players, this is wonderful as the split screen is a dying breed and although publishers want families to play games together, they also want you to have 4 consoles to be able to do that. The split screen was smooth although the restricted viewing did make the game more difficult, however the gameplay was fun as its great having you mates next to you as your racing, chucking about some freindly banter isn't the same online as in your living room.

Cars in the game are at a premium, only 14. However, the cars that are their are a nice mix, ranging from the exotic, to old ,to everyday. Im not going to list them but to give an idea, you have the likes of Ford focus , GT , an old 50's Ford truck (come to think of it a few Ford cars, theres a mustang too), theres also a land rover. They are well designed and look very similar to their real life counterparts, however, customizing is kept to picking the colour, I beleive this is down to licensing.

Thankfully there are more tracks, 30 to be exact across 14 areas. These are all very exciting and feature many hairpins , big straights and tight corners. Nearly every tracks is a good design and all have something different about them.

The graphics of the game are very good, the bright neon lights and sci-fi feel of the powerups are all wonderful, especially during night races when the light flickers of the tarmac and cars headlights flicker from damage. All the levels are beautifully created and painstakingly moulded to fit the tracks, the Japan streets are full of symbols and bright billboards are awesome, the London streets are darker and gritty , one of them surprisingly set in Hackney, maybe the production budget ran out ?

The game also sounds amazing with revvin engines which echo along the track, the sound of screeching tires as you skid around a corner is wonderfully done and it all adds to the excitement. Theres no soundtrack during the race as the cars make enough noise, so vey pleasurable for the ears.

The screen has the bog standards of a racing game, position , lights , fans and track info. But importantly it has a rear view mirror, little strange you may think , but with the amount of missiles and obstacles around the track this is a huge neccesity and one you wouldn't want to be without.

if you want a arcade racer it's definatley topping the group over Split/Second and Burnout. Even though it has it's issues I am tempted to give it a full score as it is the best !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gameplay, SPECTACULAR SOUND, 29 May 2010
By 
Mr. M. Cole (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Blur (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is amazing simply put. I looked at games to pre order almost a month ago, and chose this over red dead and split second and am so glad I did! Upon loading it up for the first time, the first thing was the sound, which blew me away, literally! I own a samsung ht-320 home theatre, which is an all in one, so is a fairly budget system and the dolby d sound is the best I have heard from a game, much better than MDW2 and battlefield, the sound comes from exactly where the opposing cars are and makes the game somewhat easier to play, and much, much more enjoyable!

The game has a single player career (looks like 20 hours worth) which works by having races, destruction and time gate events, in which you need to complete in order to have a one on one with the area boss. I selected hard mode and put on the first race. The next thing that struck me was the graphics, which seems a tiny bit inferior to split second; However they would be the best I have seen if not for split second, and another thing to consider is that the races are all fairly low lit whereas split second is very bright.

The gameplay its self is what I hoped for, mario kart style racing made real, the power ups balance well, as you can avoid the enemies with skillful driving or dropping something out the back (much like bananas and backfired turtles from MK), or just use a shield. If you do get hit, you are not out the race, as they merely give your opponent a window in which to overtake, the same applies when you hit them too. Another addition that I love is having a central mirror at the top of the screen, just like a real car. This really does dust the game off as this should have been put in games way back, but hasn't, and in this game is so useful!

I haven't been able to test the online out yet as it is not yet open, but it looks good as you can have 20 player races, with a rank up system, in which you can take snaps and upload to facebook or twitter along with your times and stats! I would highly recommend this game over split second any-day as It is fun racing that gets really serious, so any fan of true racing games or mario kart will love this. Or like me, your getting a bit bored with first person shooters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powered up racing., 1 Nov 2010
By 
T. Walker (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blur (PS3) (Video Game)
The game almost passed me by because it is not obvious that this is more mario cart meets project gotham racing.

In general I find racing games very dull, but, with Blur you get the chance to destroy your opponents with a cunning variety of weapons that have a wonderful cathartic feel to use.

To choose a game I do like to read reviews but the best way is to play a demo and then once I feel that addiction and buzz, buy the full thing. It's only because I played it on PC that I just had to get it for PS3.
(Don't think there is a PS3 demo, might be wrong).

Why this game? For me it was because you can just pick it up and play right away and get some satisfaction from it. I know these days that each game takes at least a few hours to get into and if you want to compete online you have got to actually put some 'dedication' in there to not find yourself trailing the pack.

While this game is a good pick up and play it still manages to maintain longer term interest by adding cars, power ups and levels as you progress (standard stuff with most games). Blur does it well and to be honest I was surprised to find there is not additional content to download online.

Bigger titles like Red Dead Redemption have a massive array up free and paid for addons. Blur does not. However, when you look at the beautiful credit sequence (just to chill out after a few hours intense online gaming) you will see that a huge team has been behind creating and perfecting this title.
So in a way I don't feel this game has been abandoned in terms of marketing and addon content because the effort seems to have gone into producing a game that is finely balanced and massive fun.

Online Experience
Good:
+ Lots of people playing and of a good range of abilities.

+ A couple of minutes break between games. (To setup for the next game or dash to the loo).

+ Currently you get about 200 to 400 players online divided up into games of about a dozen players. Player tend to be from the USA, France, UK, Germany and more.

Bad:
- Occasion server just times out while loading leaving you left chatting to other players saying, "Err so is it gonna load?" Answer, No. Exit game and dash through all the menus again.

- Not really enough players to occupy all game types. People mostly hang out on the first two (of about six or seven game types).

- No option to watch an existing match while you are waiting to join (I mean in full 3D not a 2D map).

- No gameplay tweaks released.

I can't help but feel that there are a whole host of Activision titles out there that are quite respectable (Singularity, Brutal Legend EA/Activision) but don't quite make it to that critical mass. With some Little Big Planet style level tool this game could be as pervasive as Counter Strike.

It would be nice to have more folks enjoy it online.
If Sony could match the 360 for online play (full cross game chat anyone?) and Activision were to bring the best bits from the PC experience; Level tools and post release gameplay upgrades then games like this could realise their full potential.

Massive fun with enough interest to leave the Eject disc button gathering dust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gran Turismo + Mario Kart = Blur, 27 Dec 2012
This review is from: Blur (PS3) (Video Game)
I have been looking for a standard racing game with sharp graphics and nice cars for a good while. This in fact has that. The cars look pristine and sexy and they drive greatly. It's heavy racing to the max and if you like Mario Kart, you're in for a treat. Not only is this serious racing on a nice level with great cars and opponents, you get weapons. Weapons that go from blasting your opponent out the way, to shorting you in front, to fixing your heavy damage.

Damage can be a put off with the games, those who get frustrated with being crushed off the track. But do not fear, you'll be able to race hard with heavy damage still and before you render your car undrivable, there's a fair chance you'll pick up an item threat fixes your car touts 100% new look. A joy to play single player and multiplayer, my personal opinion is that this is a racing game of very high standard. Hope this review was of help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wipeout on wheels, 18 Aug 2011
By 
Duncan McDonald "Dunk" (Dundee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blur (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a very good racing game. Think wipeout with wheels. If you want a serious racing sim - look away now. If you want an OTT arcade racer then welcome.

There is plenty content in the single player as you rank up and progress through a series of challenges. You race on entertaining courses from old airfields to city streets at breakneck speed. You pick up weapons to blast your opponents whilst trying to steal the lead. It is very good fun and the nice graphics help. Handling is fine with a good sense of speed. However, the single player is a bit sterile and samey at times.

Go on-line however and it is a very different experience. Super speed, aggression, ungentlemanly conduct has never been so much fun. This is the best way to play the game and if nothing else it is exciting.

This is a very good arcade racer if you are interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 29 July 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Blur (PS3) (Video Game)
Suprise of the decade!! I got this game on the off chance and it has turned out to be my favourite game by far. Really good fun and breaks up what can be the sterile nature of racing games. Graphics are great and a lot of fun too. Not yet played it multiplayer but that will be awesome. Maybe not for purists looking for excellent driving feel etc but its great laugh.

Hugely recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blur - Ps3, 30 May 2011
By 
Annette Cole (London, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blur (PS3) (Video Game)
Very good game, very entertaining, very fast action packed, the vibrant colours shows up really good, racing game to collect points to get a higher profile to get fans, you can challenge to win other opponents cars etc, keeps you entertained. well worth it, would buy this game again if there was a new version also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it you wont be dissapointed at all, 13 Nov 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Blur (PS3) (Video Game)
I have had this game a couple of days now and my thumbs are sore, I dont ever wanted to put this game down it was well worth the money I paid for it.
I never thought any one could make a game as good as burnout paradise I was wrong this game is great it has you wanting to play more, I am playing on the medium and its hard, if you like racing games by this one you wont be dissapointed at all.
My wife bought it for my Christmas or so she thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blur (PS3)
Blur (PS3) by Activision (PlayStation 3)
26.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews