Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very helpful book
I love this book. I took it from Kenya to Botswana and it was the most often refered to book in the group I was travelling in. It was so good that the tour leader (an very experienced African guide) kept using it and I left it for him at the end of the trip. I am now buying another copy to replace it!

In Kenya and Tanzania it never let me down, I was able to...
Published on 11 Nov 2006 by Ms. S. Williams

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pocket guide - IF you have BIG pockets!
Following on from a previous review I decided to purhcase this book. Sadly its not very pocket sized - unless you have huge pockets!!! Its thickness or depth is 4cm which is huge!

Also the paper that the text is printed on is very thin - almost like tissue paper - the kind of paper used for the new testaments that the Gideons used to give us at school...
Published on 18 May 2011 by smartyPants


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very helpful book, 11 Nov 2006
By 
Ms. S. Williams "Sam" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love this book. I took it from Kenya to Botswana and it was the most often refered to book in the group I was travelling in. It was so good that the tour leader (an very experienced African guide) kept using it and I left it for him at the end of the trip. I am now buying another copy to replace it!

In Kenya and Tanzania it never let me down, I was able to find every bird and animal I saw. As we went further south there were variations of the species which were not photographed but the descriptions were good enough to enable me to identify the animals.

Fantastic photographs and really good descriptions of appearance, distribution, breeding, habitat etc. Also a very useful section which gives an overview of all the main national parks.

Useful size and hardwearing covers (not sure why it has the small paper cover though, leave that at home!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent safari companion, 4 Oct 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is perfect for the safari for two reasons. Not only is it fairly compact so does not take up much space in your luggage, it is also incredibly comprehensive across a broad spectrum of African wildlife. There is a bountiful section of colour photographs of both birds and animals followed by a reference section with the most detailed background for any creature you are likely to see. The book is also boosted by an early section on the geography and geology of Africa including yet more colour photographs. A highly recommended addition when taking a safari in Africa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A field guide to African Wildlife, 10 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This is an excellent pocket guide for taking on safari, as it covers most animals you are ever likely to see and those that you're not. Unusually it covers not only the mammals but reptiles and birds also, and it fits snuggly in the pocket. With this book you will need no other guide to arm you for an exciting and informative african safari - excellent! Well done to the author and publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pocket guide - IF you have BIG pockets!, 18 May 2011
By 
smartyPants "Smartypants" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Following on from a previous review I decided to purhcase this book. Sadly its not very pocket sized - unless you have huge pockets!!! Its thickness or depth is 4cm which is huge!

Also the paper that the text is printed on is very thin - almost like tissue paper - the kind of paper used for the new testaments that the Gideons used to give us at school!

Yes the illustrations are very good - there are about 600 pages of colour illustrations, but sadly also a further 1,000 yes 1,000 text pages.

Im sure this is a very informative and comprehensive book, but I wouldnt call it a pocket guide & will be sending it back shortly as its simply too big & I doubt its ability to survive long whilst on safari in Africa as the pages are so delicate!

So im giving it a 3 star rating as Im sure its a great and detailed encylopedia, but I need something I can pop into my camera bag or top pocket
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good general guide, 7 Oct 2009
By 
It's a nice and useful general guide. As it covers the entire continent sometimes it misses more detailed info about some particular species you're interested on, but that's a trade-off you have to make for such a handy guide of an huge and rich full wildlife countries! Has a nice geographical intro for all African countries, with interesting description of main national parks and wildlife. The photo section is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 25 Mar 2008
By 
J. Middlehurst "J Middlehurst" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is an up to date field guide, I took it out to Kenya with me when volunteering with the Kenya Wildlife Service. It is the exact book all the vets and researchers use in the KWS. Brilliant Book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good in South Africa too, 6 July 2008
By 
Graham Plant (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Took a copy to Pilanesberg Game Park, in Northern South Africa, near Sun City.
It was an excellent reference guide, with the majority of animals identifiable via the photos and very useful explanatory text. Its also easily portable & in my view one of the best books to take with you on game drives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb field guide, 24 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This really is a superb and helpful field guide to take with you. The identification process is simple and allows quick reference to any animal you are likely to see. In addition the first 150 pages give a good coverage of the African continent and wildlife/wildlife areas by country, even including the Canary Islands. It includes 850 species and gives full details of each with quick reference to the photographs of the species. The quality of the book is absolutely excellent and it will withstand the handling it will undoubtedly receive. Just excellent and simply amazing value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 31 Aug 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This order arrived immediately. I needed it to help keyword and catalogue the photos I made on a recent trip to Africa. This is what all the expert guides in Africa use........so get one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good all round guide, 13 April 2008
Compact, easy to use field guide. Supplies useful information on individual national parks by country, species range with useful map of and with sp. descriptions and colour plates.
Animals covered in detail: mammals, birds & reptiles; also some information on insects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

National Audubon Society Field Guide to African Wildlife
National Audubon Society Field Guide to African Wildlife by Peter C et al ALDEN (Paperback - 1995)
Used & New from: £31.42
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews