Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Australian Perspective
I am very tired of re-hash after re-hash of Shirley Bassey compilations but this disc is definetely a cut above the rest. It is extremely well presented and the cover photography (all new) is stunning. It's a great compilation of Dame Shirley's work but more importantly, we are given versions of "As I Love You", "Big Spender" "Kiss Me" and...
Published on 22 Nov 2000 by padsrr@flinders.edu.au

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Love her voice.
Published 4 days ago by LUIS GARCIA GARCIA


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Australian Perspective, 22 Nov 2000
By 
padsrr@flinders.edu.au (Adelaide, South Australia) - See all my reviews
I am very tired of re-hash after re-hash of Shirley Bassey compilations but this disc is definetely a cut above the rest. It is extremely well presented and the cover photography (all new) is stunning. It's a great compilation of Dame Shirley's work but more importantly, we are given versions of "As I Love You", "Big Spender" "Kiss Me" and "This Is My Life" which are not the usual versions released on compilations. Also it is quite nice to have "Moonraker" and "History Repeating" on a greatest hits CD. The digital remastering is also a bonus. I recommend you buy it and enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 17 Jan 2007
By 
Dr. Michael Peters "Michael" (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This CD gave my partner and I what we now affectionately call 'our song' - its 'Never, never, never' and means a great deal to us both. The rest of the CD is a sublime listening experience, sending shivers down your spine and making you laugh and cry. A wonderful collection of iconically sung masterpieces. Thank you Shirl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WELSH PERSPECTIVE, 9 Mar 2002
By 
Michael Daniels (SWANSEA, South Wales, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a long time fan, having most things Shirley I avoided this CD at first. However the nice art work and good track selection finally persuaded me. As I thought, all the tracks have at some point been previously released on both vinyl&CD, with the exception of (Surprise) "Big Spender" which is obviously an out-take from the original 1967 sessions- it is quite different from the single version and issued on the "And We Were Lovers" LP and makes this a very good excuse for buying this CD for fans (which for the casual buyer is about the best SB CD on the market).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bassey at her very best!, 1 Dec 2000
By A Customer
22 tracks all digitally re-mastered including three Bond themes "Goldfinger" "Diamonds Are Forever" and "Moonraker". Other standout tracks are "Light My Fire" and "The Greatest Performance Of My Life". Fans may have many of these tracks on cd already, but I can recommend this cd for the excellent sound quality, fantastic booklet with amazing new pictures of Dame Shirley and its the only Bassey cd where you will find History Repeating!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT TO HAVE THE HITS ON 1 CD, 14 July 2001
By A Customer
AS A DAME SHIRLEY CONNOISSEUR, IT WAS A GREAT THRILL TO HEAR A DIFFERNET TAKE ON AS I LOVE YOU. I HAVE NEVER FOUND THAT VERSION ANYWHERE IN BRITAIN BEFORE:) ALL THE OTHERS I HAVE ON MANY DIFFERENT FORMATS. WELL WORTH IT, IF YOU WANT ALL THE BIG DRAMA SONGS ON 1 CD, PUT IT ON AND GET YOUR FEATHERS OUT AND BELT THE WORLD IN THE *****.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHIRLEY, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Item arrived on time, there are so many Shirley cd"s out there but this one in my opinion is a very good choice to buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is my Life, Shirley Bassey, 15 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. J. S. Robinson (Reading, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This Is My Life: The Greatest Hits
Excellent recording of some great numbers - just what was wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This a fantastic collection of Shirley Bassey clasics, 6 Oct 2003
By 
I recently became interested in Shirley Bassey through a friend. Being only 15 I hadn't really heard much about Shirley Bassey but as I listened to her music I began to love her!!!!! Her voice is so powerfull; she can really blast out a true masterpiece. I bought this album and recomend it to enyone who is an enormous fan of Shirley Bassey. It includes many old favourite such as "Big Spender", "AS I love You", "Goldfinger" and my personal favourite, "This Is My Life". It is a must buy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The majority of tracks are really nice with a few being real classics, performed by a true artist, possessing a voice hard to find anymore. Great buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shirley Bassey Greatest Hits, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cant go wrong with this if you are a fan of Shirley Bassey. I could listen to her recording of " I Who Have Nothing "all day. A good selection of her best hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews