Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a sublime collection of violin works, 15 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The recordings cover a 20 year or so recording period from the mid fifties and I was expecting to have to make allowances for their age. However, so good is EMI's remastering that one was rarely conscious of the vintage, even with the mono recordings. This may be partly because the recordings seem to focus, perhaps not entirely surprisingly, on the violin, so occasionally in the concertos the orchestra sounds distant if not actually on its on its way home; this means that the versions on these discs would not always be the only example you would want in your collection. But, for all that, what an extraordinary legacy it is.

My vocabulary does not stretch to describing violin tones so suffice it to say that Oistrakh played with a classical understated serenity conveying a sense of 'rightness' that makes many modern virtuosi sound mannered or intrusive.

I can't stop playing these discs even to the point of repeated listening to those works falling outside my rather conservative central European bias and to which I would not previously given the time of day. Revelatory is an over-used word in reviews but for me this collection has been that, even without allowing for the extraordinarily good value for money. If I could, I would give it 6 stars. Don't hesitate; buy it before EMI realise they have got their sums wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive legacy of a great artist, 7 Sept. 2008
By 
Malcolm Turner (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a wonderful collection - truly a definitive archive of one of the century's greatest artists. Oistrakh's combination of power and serenity, with that individual unmistakeable sound make this a must-have for anyone who enjoys listening to the violin. Even more so if you play - to hear just what the instrument is capable of. In particular, the accounts of the Beethoven and Brahms concertos are the finest I have ever heard. Recordings can be cold - you have to play a bit safe - but these recordings have all the magic of a live performance.
I had a number of these recordings on LP - if anything, the sound is better on these CDs and for the huge number of recordings - what a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply wonderful, 6 Jan. 2012
By 
K. Bates - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I agree with the other reviews posted to date. These are wonderful performances by one of the greatest violinists of the 20th century and the recording quality is very good indeed - full marks and thanks to the EMI engineers. And the price is just amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value and quality, 18 Nov. 2009
By 
M. Donoghue "MichaelD" (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Title says it all. Quality of playing and sound is good. A few works are repeated but with different orchestras/conductors. This allows some comparisons and encourages thought about interpretations, at least for me as someone musically uneducated. An amazing price. Can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Oistrakh EMI recordings, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just for the famous Beethoven Violin & Triple Concertos, Brahms Double Concerto and Mozart Sinfonia Concertante plus more. Playing from the heart to the heart. Great value, great music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb audiophile set, 19 Nov. 2011
I will not say a word about the music because we all know what a genius David Oistrakh (and his old school partners) was.

What strikes me is the sound quality of these CD's. It is similar in style to the classic Decca engineering works, especially wonderful ADRM series, although a bit more bright (and therefore sounding wonderful from tube gear). Orchestra is a bit distant but solo violin (and especially cello) always has a solid presence. Seems that EMI got superb sound engineers recently, rivaling legendary van Gelder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Oistrakh's violin playing needs no introduction. Sound quality ..., 28 April 2015
By 
G (Belgium) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mr Oistrakh's violin playing needs no introduction. Sound quality of the discs is uneven (as is the original date of recording) but overall I consider this an indispensable box for lovers of Oistrakh and violin concerto's alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only way it could be better is if it were free!, 5 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Astonishingly good box of a variety of music,some of which I'd not have bought seperately,but proved to be well worth investigating.Sound superb,playing sublime,if I had a criticism,it'd just be my old gripe about the packaging...surely this could have been designed to be 2/3 as wide?Or less,with paper sleeves?When you have as many cd's as I do,space becomes a bit of an issue.This aside,price and content just about as good as it gets.Congrats to me for buying it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great musician, Great records...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied, 1 Mar. 2013
David Oistrakh is one of the violinist I most love,and this set is Realy good for me,satisfied for this shopping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews