Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars13
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.69

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 October 2001
The year is 1966 and the Mersey sound has all but gone the great and clever artists know that change is vital.
The Hollies were one of these artists, as this wonderful album showed.
The sound was bigger and better than ever and some songs pointed the way towards the following years summer of love. Buy it and see. Clown is weird and tell me to my face sublime. Crusader is a masterpeice and Pay you back with intrest gives the album a commercial feel, it all ends with the wonderful Stop stop stop. ENJOY!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 March 2009
1966 was the year that many recording artists either made the transition from relying on old material to becoming self-sufficient, or drifting toward a combination of oblivion and cabaret. The Hollies made it successfully with this, their first album of wholly original material, and it shows them at a creative peak. Every song on this album is of high quality and is treated with care. The band are confident, bordering on exuberant as they deftly introduce varying elements on each track.

'Pay You Back With Interest' is perhaps the most striking song here, not just for its melody, but also the changing time signature, a bold move in those days. Two tracks feature banjo, including the classic hit, 'Stop Stop Stop', without sounding old-fashioned. 'Clown' contains some fragile, spine-tingling guitar, while 'Crusader' uses some ingenious, if cheap, sound effects, and 'High Classed' is pure vaudeville. None of this can obscure the most important point, however, that the songs are superb in their own right, a reminder of this being the straight recording of 'Tell Me To My Face'.

In my opinion this is the best Hollies album. 'Butterfly' has its supporters, but, good though it is, for me there is more dressing on that album than substance in comparison with 'For Certain Because'. This is one of the great breakthrough albums of 1966, along with the likes of Younger Than Yesterday by the Byrds and Face To Face by The Kinks (and of course you know about The Beatles, The Stones and The Beach Boys).
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 December 2007
The Hollies never really received their true status as among the all time greats. In my eyes though they were outstanding and the music critics finally woke up to the fact when they acclaimed this album as one of the very best in 1966. I felt that Butterfly just about edged this one in 1967 but it is a close call. Pay you back with interest is a gem of a song and for certain also includes one of 1966`s biggest hits Stop Stop Stop. Go for this C D and you will soon understand why the critics raved about this landmark album.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2003
I am a great fan of the Hollies, and this album is a stunning example of just how innovative they are. Clown; High Classed; Crusader; are all tracks which raise the hairs on the back of your neck. The rest of the tracks are just standard "run-of the mill", brilliant, top quality, Hollies material.
One special effect used on "Crusader" is a bag of frozen peas to represent the sound of the marching crusading army!!.
I have had the album for years, but it is now badly scratched, so I am re-buying the album as a CD. What better recommendation can there be for an album!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2015
Having finally just read Graham Nash's Wild Tales book, I was curious about this album as it was towards the end of the Nash-Hollies era. Pay You Back With Interest is a great song, obviously Nash-Inspired and the slightly gimmicky Clown is another I like. There are three tracks "with accompaniment directed by Mike Vickers" which are quite dated and cheesy sounding these days, hence the dropping of a star. Overall, a very enjoyable 9 out of 12 tracks. The album is also in both mono and stereo versions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
I think "For Certain Because" is The Hollies' best album together with "Hollies" and especially "Would You Believe". "For Certain Because" is full of brilliant songs like the single hits " Stop! Stop! Stop", and "Pay You Back With Interest". "What's Wrong With The Way I Live", Suspicious Look In Your Eyes" and "Tell Me To My Face" could also have been single hits. I like almost all songs on this album. Buy this album, if you like The Hollies!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2010
A fantastic album from The Hollies all self penned tracks rom Clarke Nash and Hicks probably overshadowed by the other main bands of the time this set includes the forgotten classic "Pay you back with interest"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
Had this as an LP many years ago.I thought Iwas the only person to buy it, as none of my friends had heard of it.Great to see it on CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
the hollies always wrote good songs and this album is no exception glad to have it in mono which i prefer to the sixties stereo mix
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2011
One of the best Hollies productions. Nice songs, accurate sound and a beautiful cover design. A must. Roberto from Argentina
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.