Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
158
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 November 2009
As hard as it is to live up to the hype, "Time Out", like Miles's "Kind of Blue" or Cannonball Adderley's "Something Else" is a real 24 carat masterpiece. The stand-out track of course, is Paul Desmond's marvellous "Take Five" which, with its wonderful meandering wistfulness, once heard can never be forgotten. Yet all the tracks, with their various time signatures, swing hard and leave you feeling happy and relaxed. The quartet made many other great recordings but for impact and longevity this one takes some beating.
0Comment| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2004
When I heard that Sony remastered this CD, I immediately grabbed myself a copy. Dave Brubeck's "Time Out" isn't just a great album; it also gives me fond childhood memories from when I first listened to this recording as a toddler. At the risk of recycling a cliche, it's one of those vital albums that transcends musical boundaries, and it's accessible to the masses while also remaining cutting edge. Producer Teo Macero, who is also responsible for some of Miles Davis' most essential recordings, brings out the very best in each of the players on this record. In my opinion, the very heart of this 1959 release is the exceptional "Take Five." The dynamic interaction between Brubeck's piano and Paul Desmond's expressive saxophone makes this one of the most unforgettable and powerful pieces of jazz ever played on a vinyl record. Other album cuts like "Three to Get Ready" and "Blue Rondo a la Turk" are timeless pieces that are so effortlessly graceful they seem to walk on water. Along with Miles' "Kind of Blue" and Coltrane's "A Love Supreme," Brubeck's "Time Out" is one of THE essential jazz recordings to own. It's a 100% risk-free purchase; even more so with the newly repackaged and remastered edition. But don't just take my word for it. "Time Out" is an experience that has to be heard to be believed.
0Comment| 78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2006
Dave Brubeck was in Houston for a concert last night, and we were listening to this album on the way there. A classic album, a classic artist. Though there was no Paul Desmond at the concert, it was fantastic to finally get to hear Dave in person.

It's hard to pick a favorite tune from this album, as they are all wonderful to listen to. "Take Five", the main hit from this album, sounds great on this remastered version, and it sounded amazing as his 85 year old hands tickled the ivories at the concert. Bobby Militello filled in well and amply for Paul Desmond on sax at the performance, by the way.

In addition to "Take Five" and "Blue Rondo A La Turk", I also enjoy "Kathy's Waltz" and "Everybody's Jumpin'", with the Sax lead opening and Dave's piano answering, and the following exchange and counter point.

Also, if you have not heard any of Dave Brubeck's choral arrangements, I would highly recommend them. They were played last night with the Dave Brubeck quartet, the Houston Chamber Choir and a brass section. Simply amazing. You can find them on his albums "The Gates of Justice" and "To Hope".
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2002
I dont pretend to fully grasp the various time signatures, and as such neither do i give pay much heed to the value of this record as Mr Brubeck and his bandmates' exercise in extreme muso ramblings. What matters is: The whole thing just swings. From start to finish, this is jazz that will make you tap your toes and hum along at the same time, and all too often in my relatively limited jazz experience, either a good rythmn or a catchy melody seems forsaken for the other. Joe Morello's drums and Gene Wright's bass keep the whole thing rolling without ever dominating Paul Desmond's sax, almost flute-like in the warmth of it's tone, or Brubeck's often understated piano. Time Out sounds to me like the soundtrack to a Woody Allen film, and makes me want to wear thick black rimmed glasses. Yet this time thats not a bad thing.......
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2010
Vintage Brubeck piano with Paul Desmond on alto sax giving that rounded quality that is what we expect. The extra DVD with DaveBrubeck at 90years old showing the technical detail and the rapport between the members of the group, gives a unique incite into this music that makes the package excellent value for money.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2011
This is a classic Jazz album and the music scores 5*. However this version from 1992 (with Columbia Jazz Maserpieces logo) is not great. The sound is dull and muffled. Get the later re-master on the Legacy label, it's so much better sounding.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
American jazz pianist Dave Brubeck was responsible for the original 1959 `Time Out' album - a richly deserved platinum recording. What became one of the biggest ever selling modern jazz albums started as an experiment - and it received a number of negative reviews at the time. This CD contains all 7 famous-to-be numbers by the Dave Brubeck Quartet, where all were composed by Brubeck except the now classic `Take Five' by saxophonist Paul Desmond - who originally intended it to be a drum solo for Joe Morello. The fourth member making up the ground breaking Quartet was double bassist Eugene Wright - he is an African-American and at the time in 1959 with `segregation' this created difficulties for what was an `integrated' band. Brubeck employed unusual time signatures or number of beats to the bar, where probably the best known is `Take Five' in 5/4 time. On this CD very little is played in common time. `Blue Rondo à la Turk' is in 9/8 time, `Everybody's Jumpin' and `Pick Up Sticks in 6/4 time, `Three To Get Ready' in alternate 3/4 and 4/4 time, but both `Strange Meadow Lark' and `Kathy's Waltz' are largely in 4/4. However listeners should not be so distracted as to count the unusual time signatures - all they need do is relax to what is easy, wistful and haunting music - especially Brubeck's rhythmic piano and Desmond's lyrical alto-sax. If you're going to only own one Dave Brubeck CD - make it this one!
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2011
It's all original material from a bygone era (50 years ago) when the world was young and carefree, and so was I. These are studio recordings, and this collection is worth having for 'Take 5' alone.
Buying CDs is great now they're really coming down in price to make way for the download generation, who haven't got a clue what they're missing
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2009
Refined smooth jazz flirting with minimalism, flicking between cool improvisations and elaborate, conceptual themes, bridging musical styles.. This special edition with DVD and extra live CD makes a nice set, a necessary piece for a music Library..
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2010
Well where did 50 years go ? Stunning when I first heard it as a teenager and just as good today.Wonderful improvisation in unusual time meters.Brubeck has been maligned by the critics but this shows just how good the group was.The additional cd shows why the public loved him.The dvd is a piece of jazz history.Includes "Take Five"which rode high in the Hit Parade of its day.Would any jazz track get in the Charts of today ?
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.95

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.