Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Baebes Are Back With More Wizardry And Blysse
I am a big fan of the Mediaeval Baebes and have heard many rumours about this album. When i first heard it i thought it was pretty cool how John Cale has mixed in the modern ambient beats to the enchanting lyrics. The whole album is about spring,positivity and people getting drunk. And if you are wondering what Undrentide means, it is the time of day humans go to sleep...
Published on 29 April 2000

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars delivery
This item was ordered as a Birthday present for a relative from a site which appeared to be in the UK. However, subsequent shipping information made it clear that the CD was coming from the US. The birthday gift was therefore received later than expected; a little disappointing! The item itself was very satisfactory.
Published 23 months ago by CarolannM


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Baebes Are Back With More Wizardry And Blysse, 29 April 2000
By A Customer
I am a big fan of the Mediaeval Baebes and have heard many rumours about this album. When i first heard it i thought it was pretty cool how John Cale has mixed in the modern ambient beats to the enchanting lyrics. The whole album is about spring,positivity and people getting drunk. And if you are wondering what Undrentide means, it is the time of day humans go to sleep and the fairies come out to play. It is a magical album and i recomend it to any person who likes a bit of the unusual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Triumphant Third Outing for the Baebes, 12 May 2000
By A Customer
This is an excellent album which easily manages to maintain the impressive standards set by 'Salva Nos' and 'Worldes Blysse'. The beautiful 'Quan Vey La Lauzeta' and 'Besse Bunting' stand out initially from amongst the the 18 tracks, but further listenings reveal the sheer quality of the music throughout. There's even a rendition of 'Summerisle' from the film 'The Wicker Man' and you can't get any better than that !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Undrentide - The Mediæval Bæbes, 6 May 2004
This review is from: Undrentide (Audio CD)
The best baebes album. Quan Vey la Lauzeta is the standout track and hauntingly beautiful. I recommend all their albums but as a starting point for those who have never heard them, then this album is the best introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Babes albulm; magical, 27 Jun 2005
By A Customer
I had heard of the Babes some time ago. But had not had the opportunity to listen to their music. To be honest, i thought the music would be some sort of New Age rock. And it was not until actually seeing them at a festival and thus hearing their music, that i realised how DIFFERENT and true to their name that they actually were. I immediately started looking for an albulm, and was drawn to Undrentide. And was quite happy that i had made this choice. As the whole albulm is hauntingly melodic, beautifully sung and full of medieval magic. And just pure in content. Also, the fact that the artists sing certain songs in olde English tongue, and in some parts Latin, was most impressive. A very creative, unusual albulm that does manage to transport you to the old times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Takes a little getting used to, 11 Sep 2009
By 
Bex (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Undrentide (Audio CD)
Very different from their first CD but this one also has many good numbers. Having been at many of their concerts I have noticed they always play the same 3 or 4 off this CD which is why I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Lucky Find, 26 Mar 2009
By 
Grace Rostoker (Oceanside, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is my first Mediaeval Baebes album and it was a lucky find for me. As previous reviewers say, the sound is haunting and melodic, and conjures up some wonderful images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mediaeval Baebes- Undrentide, 18 May 2009
By 
J. Mason "Wit and Wisdom" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best Baebes album so far, this one has many excellent tracks including Isabella, Summerisle and the title track Undrentide. The Mediaeval Baebes are a brilliant classical/alternative/medieval/choral group and their CDs are awesome. That said, they are even better live! This CD has tracks in many languages which I personally find helps me with my language studies. Anyway, this is a great album. I totally recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Baebes!, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediaevel Baebes (Audio CD)
What can I say It's Mediaevel Baebes doing what they do best! An excellant album to either listen with a drink of your choice or to use as interesting background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediaevel Baebes (Audio CD)
This is my first purchase of music by the Mediaevel Baebes and I have played it countless times and never tired of hearing it. I shall certainly purchase another album soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great listening, 20 April 2013
By 
Kathryn Nicholl "Katin" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediaevel Baebes (Audio CD)
I can't listen to music when I'm reading, but when I'm working I love having something on in the background that "goes" with whatever I'm working on. I love all the Baebes' music - I like medieval music in general and this is a very fine example of their style and interpretation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Undrentide
Undrentide by Mediaeval Baebes
Buy MP3 Album£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews