Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Label Society...Are You Sure?!
From the very first song you can tell this isn't typical BLS. It's not as edgy as previous releases, 'Sonic Brew' and 'Stronger Than Death' for example. However even with that said the album still has bags and bags of class, Zakk Wylde (Lead) shows that he has a deeper, emotional, passionate side and this flows through all of the songs. Each song on this album blows apart...
Published on 20 April 2004 by rankinlast

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What has he done to his voice?
I'm a huge fan of all things Zakk Wylde including BLS. However myfavourite stuff of his was his "Book of Shadows" album. Introspective,touching and beautiful it was a fantastic piece of work. "Hangover Music:Vol VI" is a hybrid between that and BLS. Reminds me of songs like "TheBlessed Hellride" and "Bridge to cross".
Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. The...
Published on 22 April 2004 by robvoase


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Label Society...Are You Sure?!, 20 April 2004
This review is from: Hangover Music Vol. VI (Audio CD)
From the very first song you can tell this isn't typical BLS. It's not as edgy as previous releases, 'Sonic Brew' and 'Stronger Than Death' for example. However even with that said the album still has bags and bags of class, Zakk Wylde (Lead) shows that he has a deeper, emotional, passionate side and this flows through all of the songs. Each song on this album blows apart the misconception that BLS only do HEAVY. There is alot of variety on this album, stand-out tracks:- the beautiful 'Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow'and 'Once More' and at the heavier end (considering the nature of the album)'Damage Is Done', 'Crazy Or High' and 'House Of Doom'
All in all this is a spectacular album, providing you approach it in the right manner. Don't expect the 'normal' BLS. Imagine 'The Blessed Hellride' crossed with Zakk Wylde's 'Book Of Shadows' and then some and you get the picture.
I've had this CD for 3hrs, I've played it back to back since, it's a warm, touching album that will strike a chord with anyone, most of us can relate to the content. Give it a chance and it could (SHOULD) become one of your most prized possesions.
This isn't just an album for die hard BLS fans - It's for anyone who'll give it the time, once you give it the time you'll discover it as the true genius it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore The Critics, 11 July 2004
This review is from: Hangover Music Vol. VI (Audio CD)
This album is Zakk Wylde at his finest. I have read several reviews, calling this album boring, waste of time, out of sorts etc. but the fact is this; Zakk had the balls to show his wider interest in music and his wider talents. If you want Zakk at his ass-ripping metallic best, then do not buy this album. However, if you do want Zakk at a refined, laid-back and dare I say it, beautiful level, this is a must have. Think Book of Shadows, but updated, and with the creases ironed out.
The blistering solos are still there, the riffs are still there, just not in the distorted, head-bouncing-off-the-floor abundance in past BLS albums. The name of the album couldn't be more apt - Hangover Music is exactly what this album provides. You lisen to Stronger Than Death, Blessed Hellride, Sonic Brew etc whilst getting plastered, and you listen to this in the recovery period. This is, by no stretch of the imagination, a mediocre album. It depends what you are looking for. And quite frankly, if you are a "fan" of BLS and Zakk Wylde, then you should be able to fully appreciate this album for what it is - a work of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome... and I like BLS's heavy stuff as well, 11 Jan 2005
This review is from: Hangover Music Vol. VI (Audio CD)
If you have never heard Book of Shadows by Zakk Wylde, then you may be suprised by this album. The two albums are similiar in that they contain a lot more acoustic guitar, and although I'm not saying that past releases have not contained emotion, HM VI contains more.
For example, take 'She Deserves a free ride' and the ballad 'Fear'. The piano on this album is superb, haunting at one point and almost relaxing at another. However, there is just enough of past 'metal' BLS in this album - 'Crazy or High' and 'House Of Doom'. Personal favourites are 'Damage is Done', 'Layne' and 'Queen Of Sorrow'. There is something more in the solo's - they come in at just the right time and as usual are perfectly executed - check out 'Stepping Stone' for an example. The musicianship has got even better on this album, with the dodgy drums on 1919 Eternal Gone, and the bass that was pushed to the background in The Blessed Hellride is up there with Zakk's playing.
This album is deep, moving piece that is the perfect successor to the blistering Blessed Hellride. Can't wait for the new Mafia CD to be released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thing of beauty, 25 April 2004
By 
T. Kendry "tinymetalman" (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hangover Music Vol. VI (Audio CD)
You wouldn't think it was possible for a heavy metal band to bring out acd of mainly acoustic and piano-based songs and successfully carry it off.Hangover Music Volume Six is one of the most beautiful collections ofmusic i have listened to. As the title suggests, the album is meant to belistened to when you're not in a 'heavy' mood and even when only puttingit on in the background you can't help but be impressed with the qualityof music and lyrics. From BLS's cover of Procul Harum's 'Whiter Shade ofPale' to thier own 'Fear' and 'Damage is Done', each song leaves youthinking about its content and its only after a few listens of the albumthat you realise how much it affects you, and keeps you coming back formore. Don't compare this to other BLS albums, its too diverse anddifferent to be put in the same genre as Sonic Brew, Stronger Than Death,The Blessed Hellride and 1919 Eternal, however, it is more like Zakk's ownBook of Shadows.
If you love Zakk Wylde, or are just looking for something to relax to,then Hangover Music Volume VI is what you'll need. This album's effectwill by no means be ephemeral.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLS widen their horizons, 21 April 2004
By 
Alexander Mircica (Guildford, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hangover Music Vol. VI (Audio CD)
OK first off you need to realise that this is not Zakk's first foray intothe world of dark acoustic songs. Perhaps the best comparisons are to hisfirst (and currently only) solo album, 'Book of Shadows' and to the EP +5from BLS AFB Live.
This is a geat album diverse showcasing all of Zakks' styles ,it is not ashard as previous BLS albums but it is still a BLS album in spirit as muchof the subject matter is the same as is the tone DARK. Listen to "Layne"(tribute to Layne Staley from AIC) as a prime example, the errie knockingon the door echoing the knocks on Staley's apartment before he was founddead.
'Stepping stone' is another good example of the BLS spirit "i aint yourpuppet" Zakk sings, despite the use mainly of acoustic guitars we aren'ttalking ballads this album still contains the strong BLS 'F**k you'attitude.
Finally, the searing guitar solos are all present and correct some cleanerthan usual and more like the ones found on "Blessed Hell Ride" but stillrip roaring as ever.
Buy this album take time with it, its a grower and displays BLS as more ofa whole band with other members such as Mike Inez musically inputtingmore, in fact alot of it sounds like 'SAP' or 'Jar of flies' from AIC
Thanks for getting us through the hangover years Zakk! BLEED SDMF'S!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 24 April 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hangover Music Vol. VI (Audio CD)
Surely the best collection of songs Zakk has put together. Where did this lot come from? Awesome guitar playing, both acoustic and electric. Lightand shade. Massive riffs, emotive solos, and a touch of shredding, its gotit all. Instantly likeable. Worthy of many repeat plays. Great productiontoo. A classic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ZakkTastic, 20 April 2004
This review is from: Hangover Music Vol. VI (Audio CD)
Once again, Zakk Wylde impresses and amazes me with his immense talent.Showing that he can do more than just wail on a guitar, this album is moreacoustic and piano orientated. More like his "book of shadows" projectthan his newer material, but with just as much ingenuity. Many of thesongs are moving ballads, and all have great beauty. The cover of ProcolHarum's "Whiter Shade of Pale" stays quite true to the origional, but withthe added power and strength of his voice, I believe that he has made thesong somehow greater than it already was.
This CD is a must buy for any fans of great guitar work, greatmusicianship, of just any Zakk fans. It shows that he can accomplishanything that he tries to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hangover Music 6 Stars!, 5 Jun 2008
This review is from: Hangover Music Vol. VI (Audio CD)
I am a huge fan of anything Zakk Wylde related. Especially, it has to be said the man himself. So there was no fear really that I wasn't going to love this album.

This album does what it says on the tin, perfect soft sounding Black Label Society brilliance to sooth the most evil of hangovers, lament lost or failing love, provide a soundtrack to summer holidays and crazy nights. This album works for so many situations. The drawl of Wylde's voice sends shivers up my spine when performing Damage is Done, Won't find it Here and Once More. The instantly recognisable creative genius of Crazy or High, House of Doom and a dazzling version of Whiter Shade of Pale all culminate in one of the most amazing albums I own.

Tracks that bring tears to your eyes, hit spots of your soul that some of the harder, heavier Black Label Society stuff seems to miss. Introducing you to a whole new side of Wylde, one I have to say I like very very much.

I bought this CD a while ago and it has made a welcome come back onto my ipod.

Simply put brilliant - buy it, buy it now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What has he done to his voice?, 22 April 2004
This review is from: Hangover Music Vol. VI (Audio CD)
I'm a huge fan of all things Zakk Wylde including BLS. However myfavourite stuff of his was his "Book of Shadows" album. Introspective,touching and beautiful it was a fantastic piece of work. "Hangover Music:Vol VI" is a hybrid between that and BLS. Reminds me of songs like "TheBlessed Hellride" and "Bridge to cross".
Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. The best tracks on the albumare: "Crazy or high", "Queen of sorrow", "House of Doom", and "No other".These all recall Book of Shadows or work from Pride & Glory. They have amellow, southern-fried feel to them and all have an excellent groove.
Other songs like "She deserves a free ride", "Layne" (a tribute toex-Alice in Chains front man Layne Staley), and "Fear" just miss the markfor me. They don't have that groove to them and are ultimately dull songswhich I hate to say.
But my key annoyance on this album is Zakk's voice. What has he done toit!?!?! He sounds horribly nasal and whiny, like Ozzy I guess. I loved hisvoice on "Book of Shadows" and most BLS albums - that rich, throaty anddeep sound he gets. Not this which frankly ruins some of the songs. Listento "No other" to hear him sing how he should sing!
Overall this is a decent album and the best songs are great, but his voiceis annoying. A bit of a disappointment. And I really hate writingthat........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Black Label Society - Hangover Music Vol. VI, 27 May 2013
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hangover Music Vol.Vi (Audio CD)
Hangover Music Vol. VI, from 2004, is the fifth full-length studio album by the American Heavy Metal band Black Label Society. This is stylistically an atypical album by the band, in that for the most part it is essentially an acoustic album.

The record is a proper studio album that contains a set of new songs (as opposed to reworking existing Black Label Society songs for a sort of acoustic compilation or MTV Unplugged sort of release).

Some of the tracks are slow, emotional piano ballads, some of the tracks are acoustic guitar ballads, and some are semi-acoustic rock songs (a few of which even feature distorted electric guitar). One of the tracks is an all acoustic guitar solo, like the band usually stick on a studio album to break things up and one of the tracks is a cover of Procol Harum's `Whiter Shade Of Pale.'

Newcomers may be skeptical of how well a band like Black Label Society, famous for guitar tricks and low pitched chugging riffs, could pull off an acoustic album, but in my opinion this is actually a very good release, and actually contains two or three of the very best songs that the band ever released.

Highlights include the opener `Crazy Or High?' as well as the brilliantly emotional `Stepping Stone' with its big doomy bells, and `House Of Doom' which is one of the catchiest tracks in the band's whole catalougue.

Overall; Hangover Music is a surprisingly enjoyable and accomplished effort, that may be atypical of the band's usual output, but which is definitely worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hangover Music Vol.Vi
Hangover Music Vol.Vi by Black Label Society (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews