Customer Reviews


1,966 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,518)
4 star:
 (272)
3 star:
 (80)
2 star:
 (41)
1 star:
 (55)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


190 of 208 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick Results
Without wanting to just repeat what everyone else has said about this product, it works and more importantly it gets quick results, it has a great little suction-cup attachment feature, and its small and neat. BUT...
I believe this device has its place; when a knife gets so blunt that you can no longer sharpen it with a steel, you can use this gadget to bring the...
Published on 7 Mar 2009 by S. Glenister

versus
486 of 532 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT TO BE USE OFTEN
This added after using the product for a month or more: 13 April 09: I am not saying don't buy this tool; if your knives are really bad it will work fast to get an OK V that seems really sharp. Now you have that V, you need to keep it, that is what a sharpening steel does without grinding or as with this gizzmo cutting loads of metal away. Try this, see how much swarf...
Published on 11 Mar 2009 by Mr. M. Grace


‹ Previous | 1 2197 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

486 of 532 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT TO BE USE OFTEN, 11 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. M. Grace - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This added after using the product for a month or more: 13 April 09: I am not saying don't buy this tool; if your knives are really bad it will work fast to get an OK V that seems really sharp. Now you have that V, you need to keep it, that is what a sharpening steel does without grinding or as with this gizzmo cutting loads of metal away. Try this, see how much swarf (metal shavings) are produced with this. It takes little time to loose 1/128th of an inch to a 64th/inch of metal/your blade, that's approx 1mm. Measure your knifes depth. If it is about 1.5 inch you will make it disappear after 64 to 125 sharpenings. Your knife is then knacked. Sharpen your knife every time as one should to keep the edge as the pros do, your knife will be gone pretty soon. lesson, use the right tool for the job at the time. Use this when you haven't kept the edge with a steel, not often if you like your knives. Better still, use a sharpening steel or Taylors Eye Witness Classic Chantry Knife Sharpener on every use and you will have your knives sharp for life and as good as new...original review follows.

I have to agree with the comment others have made that with so many ad like glowing reviews one has to wonder how many are generated by the company marketing this product. Add to that the slagging review for NEW KNIFE SHARPENER [] which is almost certainly the same product, or someone should be getting sued for patent infringement.
OK a product review. I got this today and it uses the same technology that has been around for decades, most likely carbide blades set at an angled `V'. The suction system, again a take from old tech works and is a good redeployment of this idea. This type of product comes into its own when one has a really dull blade when a steel isn't enough and that would require a lot of time using an abrasive system such as ceramic or diamond stones. On the subject of diamonds, they describe the product as having "diamond precision" which without doubt is misleading and an attempt to make the buyer think they are getting a diamond based cutting edge.
This sharpener removes a lot of your blades metal very fast, which if over used will wear your knives out very fast. This system really isn't abrasive, it is a small cutter that cuts a new edge which as any engineer (I am an engineer) will tell you, is by nature rough not razor smooth finish. I found that while it is actually good for resetting the blade angle if used with care, using other sharpeners that are less severe afterwards, resulted in a much better edge that cut rather than tearing; I finished using a V steel system.
If you want to see how to keep knives sharp, watch a pro, a butcher who will sharpen their knife after every cutting session, many times a day. They use a steel, which doesn't remove metal and in effect damage the knife by shortening the knife's life.
Bottom line is use with care and rarely. Best to get something like the Taylors Eye Witness Classic Chantry Knife Sharpener and use it on every use of your knives so that you really never need to use such a drastic method
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


190 of 208 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick Results, 7 Mar 2009
By 
S. Glenister (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Without wanting to just repeat what everyone else has said about this product, it works and more importantly it gets quick results, it has a great little suction-cup attachment feature, and its small and neat. BUT...
I believe this device has its place; when a knife gets so blunt that you can no longer sharpen it with a steel, you can use this gadget to bring the edge back and then hone it with a steel.
Otherwise you will end up with a sharp edge that doesnt last very long.
One minor problem I found with it is that it sometimes tended to make my knives one-sided (sharper on one side than the other), this is not an issue as you can correct it with a steel.
So yes, I would recommend you get this device, but not instead of a sharpening steel, I believe you need both to achieve a perfect result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 20 Dec 2009
By 
The Best knife sharpener I have ever bought - beware knives are razor sharp after using this little gadget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Started great... however ended poorly, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased one of these sharpeners and at first the results were brilliant. Knifes stayed sharp for a long time and only needed an occasional blip to keep them tip top. However after a few months all the knife blades are showing signs of a serrated edge where the edge seems to just be poorly sharpened. A year on and I'm buying myself a new set of knives AND sharpener, my knife edge resembles a ploughed field!

Worse off is off the back of my initial impressions of the device I stupidly recommended it to family members, and even got it as a gift for a friend. We are ALL now reporting the same problems. Essentially our knives are ruined!

Now I believe the effects can be limited by lubricating the sharpening stones before each sharpen with say cooking oil. However, my confidence is blighted and I'll be looking to purchase a different sharpener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great sharpener, 28 Aug 2009
By 
chuckles "barnie884" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AnySharp Global World's Best Knife Sharpener (Silver) (Kitchen & Home)
Bought this after the good reviews as I had just purchased a new set of global knives.
Firstly the good points - It's a lot smaller than it looks on the picture, tiny in fact. The suction pad works a treat, shouldn't slip and cut yourself. Really seems to sharpen well, also on serrated blades, which is not that common. Then the bad points - this was £5 more for the silver than the blue which annoyed me somewhat. Then there was the issue on smaller blades you couldn't get the knife that close to the sharpening blades so not all the knife was sharpened. Finally DO NOT USE THAT OFTEN - it seems to remove quite a lot of metal, so only use if your steel isn't doing the business anymore or on older cheaper blades. 4 stars for effectiveness and design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 14 Jan 2009
Brilliant sharpener, best Iv'e ever bought, suction pad keeps it locked on your worktop and sharpens a variety of knives and scissors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


110 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Sharpener!, 30 April 2009
Small and easy to use. I was sick of having blunt kitchen knives so after a bit of research, plumped for this one. I use it more or less every time I use one of my knives now and they have never been sharper. I always used to sharpen my knives on a block, the old fashioned way but i didn't ever get the hang of it and it was too much effort. The only down side for this sharpener is that when sharpening my serrated knives, the unit has come 'unstuck' from the work top and fallen on the floor. The serration seems to cause a bit of instability but that is only a small problem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple ideas always are the best ideas, 30 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wouldn't go quite overboard and sa this was the best sharpener in the world. But given the price and its simplicity I would have to say it does a very good job of sharpening any kind of knife you care to mention, even scissors, secateurs and garden shears! (although I'd be inclined to buy a separate sharpener for those)

The only slight reservation I have is with the suction cup. Yes, it is rigid enough for most dry worktops, but when you sharpen the knife by pulling it toward you I sometimes get the worrying feeling the cup might just give way. To be fair though, this hasn't happened in all 14 times I have used this since the start of 2009.

Other than that insignificant worry the sharper is really very good, easy to clean and store away.

Recommended but please don't be too overly engergetic when pulling your knives through this device
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ANYSHARP KNIFE SCISSORS SHARPENER SUCTION CUP, 9 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. Paul Evans (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent product, keeps the blades you use it on razor sharp, be aware that light pressure gives a better result than heavy pressure when sharpening the blades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Save those blunt knives, 6 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was very dubious about the claims made by this product, but for the price it's looked like a good buy.

Small, easy to use and, well, it works! Suction it to your work top and sharpen all your knives and scissors. I have to agree with previous reviews about the amount of metal it takes off a blunt knife but once it's done you get very little the next time you sharpen. All our knives are very sharp and usable now and pass the tomato test easily.

Much easier to use than a sharpening steel and will stop people ruining your favourite knives!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2197 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews