Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars7
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 June 2009
I have been lucky enough to have had possession of this since December 2008. Bought at a Warrior Soul Concert under the throwaway title of `And We Rock and Roll', the rebadging to the entirely contrary `Fight the War Machine', complete with Banksy art work, identifies precisely the split personality of this cd. On the one hand you have the vitriolic anti establishment punk rant of opener `Fk The Pigs' (awesome) and the truly incredible follow up track of `Fourth Reich', both harping back to the political and angry Warrior Soul of old. On the other hand you have the Space Age Playboys (the band, not the album) style hippy trip of `Don't Believe' and the bouncy joyfulness of the bizarre `She's Glaswegian' (I can't believe Kory's ever met anybody from Glasgow or drank Iron Bru for that matter...).

What is not split though is the high quality of this throughout (despite including a lazy but passable cover version). OK the vocals are a bit rough, in a 50 a day benson and hedges way (not as bad as Dirty Rig or the recent live outing, I am happy to report), and the whole CD comes and goes in what seems like a flash, but it's encouraging to hear Kory retaining his trademark punky sensibilities without compromising on the 'guitar and drums' metal feel to the overall sound.

Indispensible fun.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2009
I bought this disc from the band when it was first called "Chinese Democracy". The name has now changed for obvious reasons now that they have a label releasing it. What can I say, the disc is fantastic. Yes, the reports are true, Kory's vocals are a bit more raw these days, but it works great. All 8 tracks are winners, stands as one of the best releases from the band.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2009
i had this album in dec'08 when it was called "and we rock n roll" and its awsome.steve was on drums then,dont know if its been re-mixed with new drummer but every song on this disc are instant warrior soul classics.great band,great guyz,great album.kory still sounds amazing even with this raw edge to his voice.looking forward to the next album in nov?heard something about that.hope so!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
I was really into Warrior Soul in the 90s, but after their record deals went sour they decided to pack it in. Kory went on to various other projects, such as the psychedelic futuristic Spaceage Playboys and a couple of solo albums. I went to the gig back in 2007 when Kory came to Camden Underworld with a backing band to play as Warrior Soul. He'd lost none of his anger or intensity and the old songs were as great as ever.

But I kind of lost touch until a few weeks ago, when I heard about the more recent Stiff Middle FInger.

Destroy the War Machine is a great comeback piece. A little short, at 8 tracks, and being self-released it's a little low on production, it makes up for those deficiencies with the Warrior Soul sound of old and the biting political comment combined with pure Punk insensitivity.

From the first track, 'Pigs' (in reaction to having been barred from a flight for being drunk) to the last, 'Knocking' EmDown' (a rollicking little punky number), the tempo is kept up. 'Fourth Reich' is a standout track, and while I'm not a 9/11 truther and so don't agree with the entire message, it's another one of Kory's excellent assaults on American corporate and military violence.

A must for Warrior Soul fans who, like me, have been missing them for years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
....under a new title. Like many other reviewers on here I picked this up at a gig, with a less arty cover and the aforementioned title. Still a great little disc, fitting nicely in the Warrior Soul canon. If you like Warrior Soul (with the exception of Chill Pill), you'll probably enjoy this.
However, dont buy it if you already own "And We Rock & Roll", unless you really want the Banksy inspired cover art.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
Very underestimated band. Killer at their concerts, they still give 100% on stage. The album is magnificent, explosive, with rock n roll attitude all over, you don't see it often nowadays.
Ok. it is not like their first or their second album (10/10), but they still have it.
If you are a true fan, do not miss it!
If you are not, give 'em a chance and you won't regret it for sure!!!
It is a must!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
Still churning out absolutely belting music after all these years. This is a mega album and pretty cheap for a import. Plenty of punk attitude and some fairly tongue in cheek references throughout if that's your thing, but it's the music that really grabs me!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99
£9.66

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)