Customer Reviews


355 Reviews
5 star:
 (299)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece
A lot was expected of Uncharted 2. Early previews were promising but were Naughty Dog going to be able to meet the expectations?

Having played through the game I can safely say that they did meet the expectations and they have created one of the best games ever, not only on the PS3, but across all platforms.

The graphics are stunningly beautiful and...
Published on 4 Nov 2009 by DJMorpheme

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Immensely boring
Very linear environments; everything is laid out for you. You'll spend most of the time taking out guards then doing some elementary "explorarion". Should a situation arise where you wouldn't know what to do and be tempted to actually use your brain, don't worry, the character's thoughts will tell you what to do. I felt like a trained monkey. The game is continuosly...
Published 3 months ago by roger


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 4 Nov 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 2: Among Thieves (PS3) (Video Game)
A lot was expected of Uncharted 2. Early previews were promising but were Naughty Dog going to be able to meet the expectations?

Having played through the game I can safely say that they did meet the expectations and they have created one of the best games ever, not only on the PS3, but across all platforms.

The graphics are stunningly beautiful and the game utilises a lot of the PS3's capacity as it shows off the jungles of Borneo and the snow covered mountains of Tibet. You can clearly see the effects of the weather as the characters get soaking wet or covered in mud. In the snow stages the footprints remain in the snow and the characters find themselves covered in snow which varies depending on depth.

Greg Edmonson has again composed a brilliant soundtrack which blends in with the storyline perfectly. The voice acting is also top class and it makes the characters believable and easy to like (or dislike). You genuinely feel part of the story and care about what happens to the characters. The storyline is captivating and quite often feels more like a movie than a game.

The game play is spot on with puzzle solving and action blended together in a perfect way. One stage in particular shows of the insane action elements of the game and requires the player to make their way to the front of a moving train dodging obstacles and taking out enemies. You have to move on the side of, on top of and through carriages. This adrenaline pumping stage is one of my greatest ever video game experiences and I've been playing video games for 24 years.

The controls are good and you never feel they let you down as you are attacked by wave after wave of enemies or go jump from platform top platform.

Playing though the game will probably take about 15 to 20 hours depending on if you are collecting the treasures. Collecting the treasures is well worth it as it gives you money to unlock bonus features such as alternative clothes, different game modes and videos. There are also different difficulty levels which, if played though will earn you more money as well as more trophies.

The biggest addition by far has to be the inclusion of the multiplayer mode. With different co-op and versus modes it looks to be as good as, if not better than, my current favourite GTA 4.

Uncharted 2 is, undoubtedly, a video game master piece and should rightly be classed as one of the best video games ever. With striking graphics and a soundtrack that wouldn't be misplaced in a blockbuster movie it uses the power of the PS3 to deliver a truly memorable experience. Add to this the superb voice acting, charismatic characters and captivating storyline as well as a multiplayer mode which boosts the replay value even more and it is evident that this game is a true classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A King Among Thieves, 18 Oct 2009
By 
Stevie G "Stevie G" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncharted 2: Among Thieves (PS3) (Video Game)
Among Thieves is a phenomenal sequel. Naughty Dog has expanded every aspect of the original, making it the finest exclusive on PS3.
The term 'character driven storyline' is over-used in games, yet rarely means anything. For once, the term is justified here, every development and set piece is geared towards the main plot. Like the original, this is a modern take on a historical myth.

The plot is a globe spanning adventure, so locations are impressively varied. The real-time aspect of the original plot is gone, but replaced by an epic cinematic style. Set pieces really stand out, Drake escaping a collapsing building whilst still inside; a convoy chase with frantic leaps between trucks; Nepal urban warfare. All are outstanding, but the train levels REALLY are something else. The technical aspects are simply mind blowing; a real achievement. Character design is another triumph. Drake is arguably the most realistic character in videogames. Not just in animation; which is exceptional. But he actually shows human characteristics. Fear in the face of danger, cries of pain, even cursing when things don't go to plan. All characters are entirely believable, with some very witty dialogue. It's a refreshing change from macho space marines, and adds incredibly to Uncharted's immersion.

Once again, a Crushing difficulty is unlocked upon completion of Hard mode. 101 treasures are hidden throughout, and a comprehensive store unlocks extras, including cheats and making of documentaries. A few gameplay tweaks include mapping grenades to their own button. Drake can now carry riot shields and propane tanks; which can be thrown and shot in mid air, adding new tactics to fire fights. Stealth sections are more prominent, but rarely forced. The transition between combat and platforming is now seamless. It used to be obvious when the next firefight was, as large areas of cover would conveniently appear.

By far the biggest addition is a multiplayer mode. The recent Beta proved Uncharted's gameplay translates well, but the final version has an extraordinary number of modes and options. Co-operative, Arena, and Objective based games are all present. But the 5 Vs 5, first to 50 deathmatch is still my favourite. One minor criticism regards initial loading times. They are painfully long, even for single player. But it's a small price to pay for the most polished, satisfying experience of 2009 so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


159 of 175 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even the Missus loves it!!!, 21 Oct 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 2: Among Thieves (PS3) (Video Game)
Gone are the days when I'd have to barter doing the washing up for a couple of hours on my Playstation 3. When I was playing the first Uncharted I noticed the girlfriend glancing up from her glossy mag keeping an eye on what was going on. She admitted it was like watching a film and whenever I'd put the PS on she'd ask me to play Uncharted.

When I sat down with Among Thieves she made us a cup of coffee each and we sat glued to the TV for three hours. Its been the same every night until I completed it. The game is immense and not really like anything I've ever played. I had to stop myself breaking my controller in two because I was gripping it so hard during the first 10mins. Naughty Dog have taken all the bits that made the first game a bit special and amplified them by 100.

Graphics are the best I've seen on any console, the story grabs you from the first second to the last, the gunfights and action sequences are mind blowing......everything just fits.

This is simply a must buy!!!

ps As with films limit your girlfriend to 3 questions per sitting......."So who's he?"...."What does that do?"....."Did you mean to do that?"........"Enough woman!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute steal, 23 Jan 2014
By 
Jakeisthecoolest "Jake" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 2: Among Thieves (PS3) (Video Game)
Enough has already been said about amazing this game is and it is all true. However, I picked this up with 5 other games pre-owned for a total of 35 quid (other games were Uncharted 3, Heavy Rain, Fallout New Vegas and Far Cry). What is amazing is how well this game still stands up, while people are spending 50 quid on a single game while I pick up 5 AAA games for a song. Forget the fact this is nearly 5 years old now, and get down to game and pick yourself up 10 hrs of epic gameplay for just a few pounds. Bargin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action, Adventure, Romance. Get This Game Now!, 22 Oct 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 2: Among Thieves (PS3) (Video Game)
Uncharted Drake's Fortune was a brilliant and outstaning game, it was a sleeper hit for 2007 and is a cult hit for Playstation. When I read the news in a Playstation magazine they were going ahead with a sequel, I got very exicted and couldn't wait to get my hands on it. I have just finished it last night and it has simply taken my breath away, it has to be the best game of 2009 hands down. The story is about a artefact is found in one of Marco Polo's lost ships that brings a intrest to fortune hunter Nathan Drake. He meets his old friend Harry Flynn and new love intrest Chole Frazer who need his help so he accepts only to be taken to a dangerous ride to the Himalayas where the trail of the Cintammani Stone is awaiting. He's not alone as yet again mercenaries are out to get him while also meeting up a few familer faces during the game, Elena and Victor. They must risk everything to unravel this dark secret, will they do it? Gameplay is much better than the first, I felt comfortable during the way and have new guns to shoot too. It's funnier, more romantic, holding in your breath moments and jaw-dropping visuals. Naughty Dog have really outdone themselves, this game has bought out a lot of my emotions as I was playing and when it was finished I shed a few tears that I have completed such a brilliant game. This game is just wow, I have fallen in love with Nathan Drake within the first few minutes and have laughed with his cheeky jokes. The voice talent is brilliant, the scenery is again stop and admire the sights which I have done countless times. So what are you waiting for? This has action, adventure, romance and plenty more. Check out the muiltplayer and also there is a very easy diffculty so if you are new to this start with that. My veridit on Uncharted 2? Better than the first, game of the year and just too damn good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best among thieves!, 27 Oct 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 2: Among Thieves (PS3) (Video Game)
On any console quite simply the best game I've ever played! I still need to play the first game, so many of my mates told me how good they were and I went and brought it, hooked from the train climb at the beginning of the game! one of the most entertaining, engaging games ever!

My favourite parts are when you don't know whats about to happen when you are jumping onto a ledge say and its loose and drake nearly falls, these dangers make the game varied and exciting and to be honest theres been no other game like it so far. But of course its not all about this, climbing is fun, not knowing where to go in places and the puzzle parts in the game are varied. The characters are all awesome but drake just kills it really, all the sarcasm and wit...how long do you reckon until they try and make a movie?

People probably say its over-rated when really its not, because it happens to be one of the best PS3 exclusives by miles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uncharted 2, 2 April 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 2: Among Thieves (PS3) (Video Game)
Ok, first things first. The hype surrounding this game is incredible, only surpassed by the hype machine of MW2. Take that either as a good thing, or a bad thing. You may be disappointed, or you may agree with the hype.

The game looks fantastic. The environments look amazing, and really lend to the cinematic feel of the game. The vistas also use colour and camera angle amazingly. If you've played Heavenly Sword, it is similar to that in how it cuts and moves between grandesque panoramas and intimate, close scenes. The framerate is solid, and there isn't a trace of a graphical problem. This is, without a doubt one of the best looking games ever made.

The story is epic, and without giving too much away, it features Drake retracing Marco Polo's steps throughout his return to Italy, searching for a legendary artefact. The characterisation is sublime and forces the story forwards, you feel like you're watching a film, the way you can relate to the characters. It actually puts many rpgs to shame, the way the characters evolve throughout the game.

The dialogue helps this through. The writers and voice actors have had such a delicate approach to this game, and it shows. The dialogue and banter is witty, while never becoming cheesy or over-emotional. The voice acting is also very good.

In action, it plays very well. The controls are razor-sharp, and the shooting elements work well. There is more of an emphasis on stealth within the game than the first Uncharted, and level design really helps this: whether you choose to sneak or go in all-guns-blazing. the level design always accommodates for the player with plenty of cover, without being too easy. The fighting mechanics are pretty good as well, and fist fights never last too long, so you can return to action without too much hassle.

However, it isn't perfect. The shooting is made slightly more difficult, due to the inaccuracy of the weapons. Also, some of the levels can flood with enemies a bit too quickly, to the point where it can seem a bit unfair. Drake is a treasure hunter, and should aim to avoid big fights: he isn't a soldier. The emphasis on stealth can make it easier to avoid combat, but as a player you are often punished for making the wrong choice, as only one approach is really appropriate to certain scenarios. For example, during one part of the game I had trouble blasting through four enemies who appear suddenly. However, when I chose to sneak, they didn't even spawn. I found that a bit unfair, and some of the enemies are armored up to the teeth.
Some of the enemies are a bit overpowered as well. Who takes chainguns on a jungle expedition? Well these guys do, and that's the type of firepower you should expect.

It could have done with a wider range of weapons, as well because it basically has the stock pistol/assault rifle/shotgun/rpg with a couple of grenades as well. I would have hoped that, given where the story takes them, there would be some more exotic weapons, and perhaps some melee weapons. This doesn't ruin the game, but it would have been nice.

The online mode isn't bad, but it's not great either. Basically, from what I gather the devs put it together as an afterthought, rather than a selling point like MW2. It kind of ends up in people running in circles spraying, but that's just the way it is. It is still fun, and as it's not the main attraction of the game it doesn't really matter much. And apparently some people really like it so, perhaps it's just my personal experience.

There were a few puzzling sections where I could not tell where to go next. A 'point of interest' view mode would have been nice, a la gears of war or mirrors' edge. There is a hint system, but it takes a while to actually do anything and isn't all that helpful.

Although the presentation is very good throughout, some of the costume and character design in the later stages of the game isn't to the standard to the rest. I won;t reveal the characters as it would be a spoiler of sorts, but I'll just say that I can see some of the characters looking really cool on the drawing boards, but their concept hasn't translated as well to the finished product.

None of these flaws are game-breaking, though. At worst, they disrupt the flow of the game, ruining immersion for only a moment. As an overall package, the game is fantastic, and I would strongly recommend it to any PS3 owners, especially if you have played tomb raider before. To some extent it actually kills Tomb Raider as an IP, as it just doesn't compare. Of course the game isn't perfect, no game really is, but it is deserving of all the attention it has gotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drake's The New Lara, 8 Mar 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 2: Among Thieves (PS3) (Video Game)
..which girl does Drake get in the end? Who cares, the dialogue is so slick and funny. It is part of the treat this game offers. The first game on the PS3 I was happy to pay full price for (the rest of my small but growing collecton is purely platinum / second hand)

Being a big fan of the first game I was delighted that the general logic and feel of this game was not tampered upon too much. At first I got a little irritated with the guards in the beginning (very sneaky, like old Metal Gear) and then by the new grenade-throwing buttons BUT this was all water under the bridge. Once mastered this adds to the already excellent gameplay and the grenades are an improvement) The game plays briliantly and although 'non 5-star' reviewers will moan that it's too easy to complete and effortless to make even difficult jumps I actually think this is mainly because they are missing a couple of points. The longevity of the game (like the first) lies with finding the treasures, adapting your combat style to gain medals and unlockables. The jumps are relatively easy because the control mechanism is brilliantly forgiving, I am in no mood to return to Tomb Raider's glitchy Lara with questionable deaths from 10 feet up. I loved Tomb Raider (see other review) but does failing to make a jump many times add to a game? No. The final criticism I have read is with the simplicity with the puzzles. Granted, these are easy but they are there merely to punctuate between the excellent fighting scenes (which are superb and v frequent) and allow you to take stock of your surroundings. Unchartered 2 is an action/adventure and it has this by the bucketload.

New guns have been added, which is fun and I am very excited by the prospect of online multiplayer - which I am not yet anywhere near approaching as I am going to complete the game on all difficulties in storymode. I am now on Crushing (the hardest setting) and the game is much, much harder! I have unlocked new 'skins' which also have amusing individual voiceovers too (i.e Skull-Masked soldier screaming "It's gonna blow" in a weird accent still makes me laugh). Another aspect which has blatantly been pinched from Rezzie Evil is the new ability to find treasures attached on buildings, trees, statues etc. This works really well as found all of the treasures on the first game just by snooping around in the overgrown grass or behind doorways. With 100 to find I now need eyes of a hawk to locate some of them!

A special mention must be given to the graphics which are truly jaw-dropping. If I could give 6 stars to the graphics I would. I have never seen such graphics and attention to detail before. Tibet is just staggering. The wealth of colour of masks, debris, signs, buildings are breathtaking - when it could've been easier to just present a cliched, monotoned, war-torn backdrop with grey, crumbling buildings. I have seen and played many XBOX and PS3 games and this sets a new benchmark for graphics.

Buy it and trust us on this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a cracking little adventure, 10 Jan 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 2: Among Thieves (PS3) (Video Game)
I wasn't so keen on this at first but my brother talked me into it as he owns this title too. Anyway the game has some great cinematics (especially the first few thrilling scenes on the train - or shall I say falling train!).

In terms of acting some of the British actors playing the characters in this game aren't as talented as the American actors involved - The actor playing Nathan Drake is excellent - The physical motions/lip sync in the voice acting sequences is very good but not in the same league as say Metal Gear Solid 4 or Final Fantasy 8.

It is very good however and where this shines is in its playability and action sequences - I loved the level design and character art - it was absolutely amazing - and the in game physics and animation when playing the game are fantastic, in that area it is top.

The game has you stealing artifacts, sneaking, fighting, shooting etc - It takes ideas from games such as Tomb Raider and Metal Gear Solid.

The online mode and trophies also provide an excellent extended longevity to this title - I had a crack at playing online team deathmatches which were really impressive (Although I kept getting shot dead, blown up by grenades, destroyed etc) and it kept me wanting to come back for more. While the online mode isnt exactly Modern Warfare 2 it is still fantastic fun and well created - and the whole thing just looks so beautiful!

I would definitely recommend this title to anyone - I haven't played Uncharted 1 but even then this game doesn't alienate the audience - you can easily jump right into the story and understand it - Its a classic adventure yarn, in the mold of the Indiana Jones movies (And why weren't the Indy games as good as this?)

A definite must buy for all action fans - The only reason I am giving this 4 stars instead of 5 is because in my opinion it can't at the moment compete with the likes of the Metal Gear Solid series in terms of its story, drama and even its comic moments.

This is well worth a buy for its classic 'lost artifact' adventure story and for its online gameplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Closest thing to being in a movie, 15 Nov 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 2: Among Thieves (PS3) (Video Game)
This is the only video game I've ever completed. Even the games I rate highly (i.e. Quake, Half-Life, Thief, Hitman, Splinter Cell) I've got fed up with long before getting to the end. This surpasses all of those. It's actually a good story for once. Very much like an Indiana Jones movie. But you get to take part!

I never got tired of the gameplay. Just when I was feeling I'd had enough shoot-em-up/run-for-cover action, I'd find myself in a new chapter that revolved around platforming or puzzle-solving. Always engrossing.

The scenery keeps changing too. A jungle, a war-torn crumbling city, ice-capped mountains... All beautifully detailed backdrops. Sometimes you feel a bit cheated because you are too busy fighting for your life to really stop and have a good look at the view. The sense of space is stunning - there were several moments when I was platforming my way up a statue or a rockface when my vertigo started to kick in and I felt genuinely alarmed, as if I was about to fall for real!

You feel the gameplay is where the story unfolds, even though the game does stop for cutscenes which explain crucial plot turns. I usually hate cutscenes (since Half-Life seemed to do away with the need for them) but the writing and acting here are terrific, especially the main characters. Even in the cheesier moments, there's far more intelligence in the acting and scripting than I've grown to expect from a videogame.

Favourite part? Fighting my way down the moving train. A bit of stealth action, a bit of shoot-em-up, a bit of platforming, even a little bit of puzzle-solving all wrapped up together - meanwhile the backdrop is subtly changing as the train travels from one landscape to another. Breathtaking.

I'll play this one again from the start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Uncharted 2: Among Thieves (PS3)
Uncharted 2: Among Thieves (PS3) by Sony Computer Entertainment (PlayStation 3)
£16.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews