Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHITE/MOSSHART/LAWRENCE/FERTITA DELIVER
Somehow when i heard about the coming together of Jack White and The Kills Alison Mosshart i was alot more excited than if it was going to be another Raconteurs record and thats not because i don't like The Raconteurs (for the record i do), its just that ever since i saw the footage of white and Mosshart singing together on stage when The Kills were the support band for...
Published on 24 July 2009 by nin/ja77

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Really Sure
Have to say I was looking forward to this album, being a particular admirer of QOTSA, White Stripes and bands of that ilk. The album feels very inconsistent and I don;t understand the comparison with the work of QOTSA as it doesn't come close.

The closest that it sounds like to me is a poor mans relation to Desert Sessions mixed with some of the better tracks...
Published on 22 July 2009 by Carlo_Von_Sexron


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHITE/MOSSHART/LAWRENCE/FERTITA DELIVER, 24 July 2009
By 
nin/ja77 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Horehound (Audio CD)
Somehow when i heard about the coming together of Jack White and The Kills Alison Mosshart i was alot more excited than if it was going to be another Raconteurs record and thats not because i don't like The Raconteurs (for the record i do), its just that ever since i saw the footage of white and Mosshart singing together on stage when The Kills were the support band for The Raconteurs, you could see the connection between the two and sure enough they decided to collaborate, first it was only going to be one song, but in typical White fashion they did a whole album.

But with Horehound White and Mosshart aren't the only ones who contribute as Jack Lawrence (The Raconteurs,The Greenhornes) and Dean Fertita (touring member with Queens of the Stone Age and The Raconteurs) also play their part with Lawrence on Bass and Fertita on Guitar, they also both contributed to the songwriting on the album, so its simply not Jack White and friends this is a full band with everybody contributing. White handles Drums for the record as well as sharing vocals with Mosshart on a number of tracks.

Horehound was recorded in two weeks and has its rough edges but is all the better for it, especially in this day of over produced records. Mosshart vocals really suit the sound and can be quite haunting at times, The brillant Rocking Horse being a good example. The stand out tracks are opener 60 Feet Tall, I Cut Like A Buffalo, No Hassle Night and 6 minute album closer Will There Be Enough Water? The single Treat Me Like Your Mother is brillant as White and Mosshart trade vocals, There is also an instrumental track 3 Birds which shows off the fine sound this band has.

Horehound won't sell in White Stripes numbers nor will it get much radio play but the people who do take the chance on it will be glad they did, the hope being Whites name will draw them in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Your Music is Not Dead!!, 20 July 2009
By 
Scott Coates (Stoke On Trent UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Horehound (Audio CD)
Jack White continues once more to reinvent himself, The White Stripes are blues punk simplicity, The Raconteurs are musicianship at its very finest with its classic electric blues rock. His new project The Dead Weather are dark gothic blues rock that hooks you in and there is no chance of escaping. Horehound is an album that keeps you on the edge, not allowing you to get comfortable. Album opener 60 Feet Tall is cool blues rhytm that twice explodes into fury and one of the best tracks. Mind you every track is a winner, well this album may be straight out blues rock thrash such as the jarring Dylan cover New Pony there is also lots of groove, something not really seen with White's other projects, notable tracks are I Cut Like Buffalo with talk of cutting records across throats and the synth stomper Treat Me Like Your Mother with oedipal overtones, just one example of the theme of dark & dangerous that is portrayed across the whole album. Rocking Horse is the track most resembelent of the White Stripes circa Icky Thump era, perfect example of how good White and Mosshart sound together when both on vocal duties. Bone House with its lyrics of building a house out of bones and putting hearts in vaults,is not an album of sunshine and is Mosshart's finest moment. 3 Birds which is an instrumental, a possible soundtrack for a western from hell. No Hassle Night might be the less memorable track on the album but is still an excellent all out assault on your listening experience with a grinding Little Jack bass line at the forefront. The closer Will There Be Enough Water? is a superb closer, a blues ballad with White and Mosshart sharing vocals but White comes from behind the drum kit to play beutiful acoustic guitar and is a fitting end just like Carolina Drama from the Raconteurs album Consolers of the Lonely. This album is the perfect antidote for people currently tired of the middle of the road so called rock and indie music that is everywhere. A good rock album should be dangerous and thrilling to listen to and this is exactly what Horehound is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never heard of them, 13 Feb 2012
By 
J. Pedler "my opinion only" (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Horehound (Audio CD)
Bought this on spec because of the Jack White connection and have been really enjoying it. Particularly loving Alison Mosshart's voice so off to explore The Kills now.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good first album..., 19 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. G. Beck "Graham Graham" (Hull, East Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Horehound (Audio CD)
If you like your music dark, riff-based & with a raw edge, then this album is definately for you. Inevitably there's a mix of The White Stripes with The Raconteurs, which equals The Dead Weather.....but there's nothing wrong with that!
All the tracks are strong - no throw-aways here. There's the sound of real analogue instruments (digital effects & software don't get a look in....Goody!!).

Horehound is the album you should own. Now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jack Whites side project, 21 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. M. Collard "Mike Collard" (London uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Horehound (Audio CD)
Saw this band on "Later" & was very impressed, so I ordered the cd from Amazon, reminds me @ times of Led Zepplin, Alison's voice is great & Jack's drumming is very good, would have been nice to see Jack on the guitar but never mind, a great first album,hopefully they will make another one.Horehound Mike London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic ensemble - recording par excellence, 8 Nov 2009
By 
Stevie B (Derby, Greater Mancunia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Horehound (Audio CD)
Bought this on the strength of Jack White's back catalog with the White Stripes and The Raconteurs.
I'd seen the Kills on TV (Glastonbury) and was impressed with Alison Mosshart's moody & raunchy delivery in the style of PJ Harvey.

This fusion seems so natural - almost like the 4 members had been waiting for this to come together.
The sound takes me back 30-40 years and yet sounds so fresh.

If you can't get to see the band live then get this album - you won't regret the investment.
If you can get to see the band then get the album 1st - it makes the live experience even better!
If you're anything like me you'll be hooked and waiting with baited breath for the new material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Analogue and Awesome, 14 July 2009
This review is from: Horehound [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This LP sounds so so good on vinyl. The best LP I've heard in a looong looong time. Played this album 3 times already & I haven't even had it 24 hours. Will be buying another just incase I damage/play to death this one. Very phat full sound. A shame new bands dont record in analogue, it sounds so much more natural.

A good mixture of guitars & keyboards, with some excellent vocals & some itchy drumming. More of the same please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its very good, but not brilliant, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Horehound (Audio CD)
A very good album, but not quite as innovative as I was hoping. Having said that, its better than many albums I've listened to over the last few decades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rock-Blues, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Horehound (MP3 Download)
Pared down rock blues, the way only Jack White knows how to do it. And he surrounds himself with equally talented musicians on this CD.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark heavy blues with a groove, 13 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Horehound (Audio CD)
Love this album, think the title of my review says it all really. Dark, heavy, blues with a groove.
Great drumming from Jack, different to most drummers i've heard. Alison's voice is raw and poignant. Some of Dean's riffs (on guitar and keyboard) are killer! and LJ is the perfect bass player, locked in the groove.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Horehound
Horehound by The Dead Weather (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews