Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have collection
Not only is this DVD set a must have for Eddie Murphy fans, it it also an essential buy for fans of both comedy and action films! Although there are perhaps films more funny or with more action then these, there are few that have managed to blend the two together so well.
In terms of comedy, the Beverly Hills Cop trilogy shows Murphy at his finest. Comedy highlights...
Published on 11 Nov. 2003 by Steven Tillsley

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Price, Mixed Bag Quality Wise.
i like these movies, they are some of the best to come out of the 80's (3rd one was made in 94 though) the main problem with this set is that the aspect ratios are messed up, the 1st and 3rd movies are presented in a 1.78:1 ratio (near 16:9) and the 2nd movie is presented in the cinematic 2.35:1 ratio which is quite good.

the main flaw is that the 1st film...
Published on 29 Sept. 2009 by Samba Pa Ti


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 + 1 + 0 = 5 stars., 2 Feb. 2009
By 
MORTEN AASTAD (Oslo Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I can't really write anything about the movies people haven't allready said. The first movie is a great 80s icon, with the right music, the right young star, the right humour and the formula. Adding to the things we allready saw in 48 hours. The second movie is a great variation of the first, more expensive and a fine example of Tony Scotts directing. The third movie is a contrived unpleasant affair, trying to live on the merrits of the previous, made into a "lets not offend anyone" Disney type affair with a star who can't do anything right at the time.

But those first two movies are the stuff of legend, and when you combine the two with the fine DVD transfer, the handy little box and an amazing price, well, then you have the recepie for a 5 star purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Price, Mixed Bag Quality Wise., 29 Sept. 2009
i like these movies, they are some of the best to come out of the 80's (3rd one was made in 94 though) the main problem with this set is that the aspect ratios are messed up, the 1st and 3rd movies are presented in a 1.78:1 ratio (near 16:9) and the 2nd movie is presented in the cinematic 2.35:1 ratio which is quite good.

the main flaw is that the 1st film seems to have been zoomed in losing the edges of the picture, its also very grainy in some of the indoor shots, i know these movies arnt exactly new but they could have at least remastered them for the box set.

each dvd has about 20-30 minutes of extras relating to the filming/characters and soundtrack, most of the actors are featured (apart from eddie) and most of the production crew is featured in the extras (including jerry bruckheimer).

at the moment im going to be waitign for the blu rays as they should be properly remastered, these movies have been shown on HDTV so it shouldnt be a long wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beverly Hills Cop: Triple Feature [DVD] (DVD)
I've always loved Eddie Murphy! He was the most popular actor in the 80's and 90's, Beverly Hills franchise his most famous films! the least said about Beverly Hills Cop 3 the better! It's a dog of a movie, even Eddie Murphy himself said it wasn't a great movie and that it was the wrong time to do it. But the first Two are outstanding! There's even talk of a Beverly Hills Cop 4. With the price you've got nothing to loose, buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eddie's Big Break With the original Popcorn movies!, 7 Nov. 2002
By 
Matthew Landau (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
The original masterpiece Beverley Hills Cop was the film that established Eddie Murphy as a very funny guy, and started a trend in Hollywood for popcorn movies. That means a movie that is just plain fun. The two sequels are also very funny, and Murphy's character Axel Foley is so wonderful to watch, that the excitement is sustained throughout the trilogy. Personally, as a major Eddie fan, this is one of my favourite all time movies, and I also reccomend "Coming To America", also excellent. And who'll forget that amazing soundtrack that is actually in the top ten mobile ringtones, 15 years after the 1st film was released!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, great films (apart from 3), 5 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beverly Hills Cop: Triple Feature [DVD] (DVD)
This was a very good buy. My dad showed my the first beverly hill cop and I instantly loved it so when I saw a collection of all 3 I had to have it. the 3rd film is very average, seemed like they were trying too hard.

The DVD itself is great, good packaging and came on time. Just a shame about the 3rd film but thats not amazons fault!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beverly Hills Cop Trilogy, 11 May 2009
By 
Jack Bowen "J.B" (UK,Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I like beverly hills cop so much i had to buy so i got the trilogy which was even BETTER !!! my dvd came very quickly but i was unhappy that i didnt get my super saver delivery that was an issuse with me as i did pay a good price for the box and no free postage but the trilogy its self was good i recommond this user to any one :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beverly Hills Cop Box Set, 2 Dec. 2009
By 
S. Tarbitt (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
The DVD arrived very quickly after ordering - in fact it was dispatched virtually the day following my order. When it arrived it was sufficiently packaged and was brand new factory sealed.

I am very happy with the supplier as the correct item arrived, in a very quick time, undamaged.

I would use this supplier again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beverly Hills Cop, Modern Humour! (still modern), 10 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beverly Hills Cop is a very funny police action/ drama as Axcell Foley (Eddie Murphy) is on a hunt to find mysterious murderes in Los Angeles. The trilogy ends in an explosive, high- octane movie when he searches for his boss's killer.
Classic, fun and very, very well-made. I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great old school action films!!!, 24 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not a big fan of paper dvd boxes. Can't understand why they are still making cases like that.After a bit of time and few hands trought they it looks badly. Apart from that it's a pack of comedy-action trilogy which you never get get bored.Every now againt the movies still impress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I love these films had not seen them for ages and ..., 26 Jun. 2015
By 
Pi Jesney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love these films had not seen them for ages and didn't have them in my collection so ordered this it was a used item in ok condition apart from one disc which skipped but it didn't really ruin the film and good for the cheap price I paid .otherwise great service great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beverly Hills Cop: Triple Feature [DVD]
Beverly Hills Cop: Triple Feature [DVD] by John Landis (DVD - 2009)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews