Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Heat Is Most Definately On...
Having just purchased this product from Amazon, I would like to share with you the following information...

The Beverly Hills Cop Trilogy (Triple Feature it says on the actual cover) has finally been newly re-released in a standard sized dvd case (Amaray hinged triple-disc case) with new artwork (not as shown by Amazon), and not the old style cumbersome larger...
Published on 24 Jan 2010 by DavrosDigital

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Price, Mixed Bag Quality Wise.
i like these movies, they are some of the best to come out of the 80's (3rd one was made in 94 though) the main problem with this set is that the aspect ratios are messed up, the 1st and 3rd movies are presented in a 1.78:1 ratio (near 16:9) and the 2nd movie is presented in the cinematic 2.35:1 ratio which is quite good.

the main flaw is that the 1st film...
Published on 29 Sep 2009 by Samba Pa Ti


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Heat Is Most Definately On..., 24 Jan 2010
This review is from: Beverly Hills Cop: Triple Feature [DVD] (DVD)
Having just purchased this product from Amazon, I would like to share with you the following information...

The Beverly Hills Cop Trilogy (Triple Feature it says on the actual cover) has finally been newly re-released in a standard sized dvd case (Amaray hinged triple-disc case) with new artwork (not as shown by Amazon), and not the old style cumbersome larger sized multi-disc case which I have grown to dislike.

I have uploaded some photos of the item I recieved.

Most people will have seen the films, so this is a list of the Special Features, as Amazon has failed to provide the details as of the date I write this...

DISC 1:
BEVERLY HILLS COP:
Run Time - 101 mins.
Aspect Ratio - 1.85:1 Anamorphic Widescreen, Dolby 5.1
- Commentary by Director Martin Brest.
- Exclusive Cast and Crew Interviews.
- Casting Beverly Hills Cop.
- Music of Beverly Hills Cop.
- Location Map.
- Photo Gallery.
- Theatrical Trailer.

DISC 2:
BEVERLY HILLS COP II:
Run Time - 99 mins.
Aspect Ratio - 2.35:1 Anamorphic Widescreen, Dolby 5.1
- Original Behind-The-Scenes Featurette.
- Deleted Scenes.
- "Shakedown" Music Featurette.
- Theatrical Trailer.

DISC 3:
BEVERLY HILLS COP III:
Run Time - 96 mins.
Aspect Ratio - 1.78:1 Anamorphic Widescreen, Dolby 5.1
- Theatrical Trailer.

The interactive menus are cool (especially on the first film), and the whole trilogy for under a fiver (get it while you can) is a no-brainer... so get on the case with Axel Foley and enjoy a time when Eddie Murphy could do no wrong.

And best of all, with this being a standard sized case, it fits superbly on the shelf with my other DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have collection, 11 Nov 2003
By 
Steven Tillsley "rtillsley" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not only is this DVD set a must have for Eddie Murphy fans, it it also an essential buy for fans of both comedy and action films! Although there are perhaps films more funny or with more action then these, there are few that have managed to blend the two together so well.
In terms of comedy, the Beverly Hills Cop trilogy shows Murphy at his finest. Comedy highlights include the hilarious and clever way in which he cons his way into a top hotel in the first film and how he manages to 'steal' a whole house to stay in during the second film.
The action is both fast paced and funny as the classic car chase scenes in the first two are improved by music from the Pointer Sisters and by Murphy's comments and facial expressions in the second and third films.
All three films are superb, although possibly the third film is weakest in terms of plot, but it does contain some of the funniest scenes such as when Murphy attempts to make the intercom work at the police station and ends up leaving his car at the entrance.
All three films are made better by the great soundtracks that acompany them(i've got the first two) and songs such as 'Shakedown' and 'Stir it Up' keep the fast pace of the film going and of course 'Axel F' is one of the most popular tracks from a movie of all time!
With the Beverly Hills Cop trilogy, Murphy has without a doubt created one of my favourite movie characters of all time, Axel Foley I love you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase, great price, 8 Dec 2008
By 
Piran Armes "Piran" (Brighton, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have to say that Beverly Hills Cop is one of my favourite trilogies, possibly soon to be a quadrilogy. This DVD box set is well worth every penny you pay. If you've enjoyed any of these films I highly suggest you purchase this.

For anyone in the dark on these movies, summed up they're about a streetwise young Detroit police cop named Axel Foley (Eddie Murphy) getting mixed up in cases which lead him to Beverly Hills. In 1 and 2 he meets up with the brilliant characters Det. William 'Billy' Rosewood (Judge Reinhold) and Det. Sgt. John Taggart (John Ashton). In these films the laughs aren't only when Eddie is in the scene. There are some particularly brilliant scenes; I wouldn't want to spoil for you, between Rosewood and Taggart.

Highlights of these movies for me and I suspect many other people are Eddie's unique laugh, Serge's hysterical banter with Axel and the phenomenal chart-topping soundtrack It also has some of the most exciting movie stunts one particularly memorable moment is when Axel is jumping around a variation of a Ferris wheel featuring dangling oversize birdcages.

Many scenes of the movies are improvised as the cast, directors, writers and producers will confirm in interviews included in the special features (includes interviews with Eddie Murphy, Judge Reinhold and John Ashton).

This is definitely the best set of movies Eddie Murphy has ever done and with constant action mixed with humour, not to mention a few special guest stars; it's got something for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic films to own at a bargain price!, 12 Nov 2011
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beverly Hills Cop: Triple Feature [DVD] (DVD)
There's no other way for me to describe Eddie Murphy than as an absolutely hilarious man. Look back at his works, and the man is just so funny and brilliant; 48 Hrs., Trading Places and Coming to America were renowned box-office smashes, award-winning masterpieces and downright comedic genius.

A significant amount of all this can indeed be attributed to Murphy. The man is just so sharp, quick-witted, charismatic and all-round excellent. The fact that he's been given some of the greatest scripts his performances deserve and demand is a plus. A natural comedian and actor, Eddie can do anything and everything that's expected from him and more.

Further proof of this is unquestionably his role as Detective Axel Foley, the streetwise city cop from Detroit, Michigan, whose highly-questionable methods (including talents for trouble-making and lying) are matched only by his brilliant mind, loyalty and true desire for justice. To me, Beverly Hills Cop (1 & 2) represent Eddie Murphy's finest work. And with the whole trilogy now on DVD for a fiver, you'd be daft to overlook such a bargain.

Right away, I will say that the only weak-link in this set is Beverly Hills Cop 3. Fellow reviewers have said it time and time again, but it remains true that they should have just left the series with the first two-films. The third film follows a tired, repeated formula with some embarrassing comedic elements that makes it feel like the Police Academy sequels. Beverly Hills Cop 3 (despite having a really powerful opening) doesn't feel anywhere near as sharp and as cutting-edge as its predecessors, the script feels lifeless and not even Murphy and the rest of the cast can be bothered. The absence of certain characters (played by Ronnie Cox, John Ashton and Paul Reiser) and only a theatrical trailer for the special feature (unlike the other films which are packed with goodies), says it all about this one.

But the set is STILL worth having for films 1 and 2 alone. Eddie Murphy is truly at the top of his game as Axel Foley, determined to avenge his friends and bring justice to their killers, causing all kinds of carnage along the way. But it's not all just great laughs, there's some superb drama here and there, and the direction of Martin Brest (Beverly Hills Cop) and Tony Scott (Beverly Hills Cop II), plus the producing of Don Simpson and Jerry Bruckheimer, make the films must-see entertainment.

Aside from having strong stories, dynamite scripts and wicked soundtracks, the films also have the perfect supporting cast, featuring the likes of Ronnie Cox (Andrew Bogomill), Judge Reinhold (Billy Rosewood), John Ashton (John Taggart), Paul Reiser (Jeffery Friedman) and the incomparable Gilbert Hill as Inspector Todd (who has tremendous chemistry with Murphy's Axel). All have so much brilliant material, character depth and interaction with Eddie, that their performances also contribute so much quality to the films.

Whereas praise for the first Beverly Hills Cop film was pretty much unanimous, reaction for the second movie was surprisingly mixed. I find that strange, as Beverly Hills Cop II is the superior of the two (for me). The first film is a wonderful, absolutely superb intro to the world of Axel Foley and his friends, but the sequel feels much more comfortable, like the producers gained a true know-how of the characters and the setting, allowing them to tell the story that was meant to be told. I find Beverly Hills Cop II has more hilarious sequences, gags and dialogue, developed the characters further and bestowed even more emotional investment in them. And of course, Bob Seger's "Shakedown" is a favourite of mine.

As DavrosDigital has said, the single DVD case is one of the most appealing things about this product. All three discs snap into the standard-size DVD case perfectly, the case will fit better on your shelf, it's nice enough and longer-lasting than a box set and there's plenty of special features to sink your teeth into. Featurettes, cast interviews, trailers, galleries, deleted scenes and commentaries are all a-plenty on the first two discs. The interactive menus score high for presentation, there's useful subtitles and the picture/sound quality are wonderfully crisp thanks to Paramount.

So you're not just getting the films, you're getting a compact package that's full of wonderful extras...all for a fiver! Which makes the Beverly Hills Cop Trilogy all the more good value for money. Again, the third film is by far the weakest (although others may enjoy it), but that's only a small blemish on what is an excellent collection with Eddie Murphy at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If only there were two, 11 Sep 2010
This review is from: Beverly Hills Cop: Triple Feature [DVD] (DVD)
I remeber watching Beverly Hills Cop 1 and 2 years ago and I was glad when I came across them in this boxset. They are great films and I enjoyed watching them again. I gave this review four stars because film 3 in my opinion was a disappointment. Same characters but different personalities and the entire film was trying to be funny but wasn't. Just didn't work for me. Still this boxset is worth buying for films 1 & 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Which sub-titles?, 10 April 2009
By 
flyinghyphen "flyinghyphen" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Sub-titles for all three Beverley Hill Cop films are: Arabic, Bulgarian, Czech, Danish, German, English, English for the Hearing Impaired, Icelandic, Hungarian, Dutch, Norwegian, Polish, Romanian, Finnish, Swedish and Turkish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 + 1 + 0 = 5 stars., 2 Feb 2009
By 
MORTEN AASTAD (Oslo Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I can't really write anything about the movies people haven't allready said. The first movie is a great 80s icon, with the right music, the right young star, the right humour and the formula. Adding to the things we allready saw in 48 hours. The second movie is a great variation of the first, more expensive and a fine example of Tony Scotts directing. The third movie is a contrived unpleasant affair, trying to live on the merrits of the previous, made into a "lets not offend anyone" Disney type affair with a star who can't do anything right at the time.

But those first two movies are the stuff of legend, and when you combine the two with the fine DVD transfer, the handy little box and an amazing price, well, then you have the recepie for a 5 star purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at last on bluray!, 2 Nov 2013
By 
D. P. Samuel "kempo" (wales,uk.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I received the bluray box set and I watched all 3 films and I really enjoyed them on bluray..considering bevery hills cop was made in 1984 it looks stunning,far better than the previous DVD releas and I also enjoyed the bonus features on the first disc.(the other films do not have any bonus features)All-in-all a superb box set for only £15.00..fans of Eddie murphy will simply love this release,its a must have..if you havtn yet ordered this box set get it while you can on amamzon for only £15.00.(a great price)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eddie's Big Break With the original Popcorn movies!, 7 Nov 2002
By 
Matthew Landau (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
The original masterpiece Beverley Hills Cop was the film that established Eddie Murphy as a very funny guy, and started a trend in Hollywood for popcorn movies. That means a movie that is just plain fun. The two sequels are also very funny, and Murphy's character Axel Foley is so wonderful to watch, that the excitement is sustained throughout the trilogy. Personally, as a major Eddie fan, this is one of my favourite all time movies, and I also reccomend "Coming To America", also excellent. And who'll forget that amazing soundtrack that is actually in the top ten mobile ringtones, 15 years after the 1st film was released!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beverly Hills Cop Trilogy, 11 May 2009
By 
Jack Bowen "J.B" (UK,Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I like beverly hills cop so much i had to buy so i got the trilogy which was even BETTER !!! my dvd came very quickly but i was unhappy that i didnt get my super saver delivery that was an issuse with me as i did pay a good price for the box and no free postage but the trilogy its self was good i recommond this user to any one :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beverly Hills Cop: Triple Feature [DVD]
Beverly Hills Cop: Triple Feature [DVD] by John Landis (DVD - 2009)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews