Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Naked Goodness
In my opinion naked gun is brilliant, thats pretty vague, but for me it has to be spontaneous humor that gets me, things that you think should go really smoothly but thanks to Frank Drebin often never does. Naked gun is based on the TV series Police Squad, and each film Frank Drebin and his team have to solve a certain crime, and following a strict police code *sarcasm*...
Published on 4 Nov 2004 by Cook

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dvd of naked gun trilogy
Was delighted with product and received quickly
Published 1 month ago by E. Clark


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Naked Goodness, 4 Nov 2004
In my opinion naked gun is brilliant, thats pretty vague, but for me it has to be spontaneous humor that gets me, things that you think should go really smoothly but thanks to Frank Drebin often never does. Naked gun is based on the TV series Police Squad, and each film Frank Drebin and his team have to solve a certain crime, and following a strict police code *sarcasm* to solve the crime results in instant laughs.
Ive found with the movies you have to watch them more than once to notice all the gags, or just laugh at the same ones. The actors for all characters are supurb, all actions, expression and talking is done brilliantly. The three movies now sit happily on my DVD rack, I thought it criminal keeping them in the box and not on display for the world to see, or least anyone that enters my room.
Special features are lacking but to be honest they arn't needed it's the film you want, there is a directors commentry with director/writer David Zucker, Producer Robert Weiss, and Peter Tilden, and theatrical trailers.
So overall whether or not your a fan already of naked gun, or want to give it a try this is definatly worth getting, guaranteed laugh for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frank Drebin is a legend........"just accept it!", 7 Oct 2003
By 
The Naked Gun box set is one of the funniest dvd sets anyone could ever possibly own. Its the story of Frank Drebin, unlucky in love, dopey cop who is an integral part of police squad and fighting against crime.
Slapstick at its best, its 2 1/2(the smell of fear) which is my personal favourite of the trilogy has lots of subttlties, check out the bar where frank goes when he is feeling down where every picture on the wall is of a disaster! (i.e. the titanic sinking etc)And the lady singing in the background of the bar the saddest song of all time with lyrics such as 'im just screwed!'.
By the third one it could be argued that the jokes are getting a bit tiresome but still worth seeing frank come out of retirement and go undercover in a prison, rooming with a notorious criminal (who reads the book 'how to break out of prison').
Every film is worthy of consistent laughter from the ghost parady with the clay making to frank giving a lecture about filth to a worker in a sex shop only to find they had received the stock of his order for a suck machine!
There is no point pretending slap stick is everyone's cup of tea but those who find utter stupidity extremely witty and funny it will not disappoint. The box set extra's which include the directors commentary is very good, informative and very funny!If you like the work these guys did on the classic 'airplane' then this will be your sort of films!Every line and visual is a gag!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leslie Nielsen is the best, 24 July 2004
By A Customer
This box set is one of the best things that ever happened to slapstick humour and humour in general. It's something wich cannot be done again (although it has been tried). Leslie shows why he is one of the best comedy actors in the world ,together with Jim Carrey of course. It's certainly worth 5 stars just for the price alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Three classics for a bargain price..., 14 Mar 2006
By 
M. Mason (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Naked Gun Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
The Naked Gun films, along with Airplane!, really set the benchmark for spoof films when they were released, and now, for the second time ever, you can buy the trilogy in a set. Leslie Nielsen is great as Frank Drebin, and his dry delivery is perfect. All three films are great fun, and hilarious to watch. At roughly 80 mintues long each, they don't drag at all, and are thoroughly entertaining from beginning to end. Get some beers, pizza, and some friends and watch these for a great night in...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good product good supplier, 1 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Naked Gun Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant from the much missed and recently departed master of the dead pan dry sense of humour,delivered with a caustic and superb sense of timing and humour.Purchase essential for all fans of this master and of comedy in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clasic Comedy!, 10 Mar 2003
I first saw the Naked Gun when I was ten, I thought it was one of the funniest things I had ever seen. And now, 6 years on from that I still do! Whether its small subtle gags or huge visual ones, the Naked Gun is a film that could entertain even the coldest of people! Leslie Nielsen is one of the funniest actors there is and his performance in all three Naked Guns are his best to date! The Complete Naked Gun Collection is well worth the small price Amazon are selling it for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great laugh!, 14 Dec 2001
By A Customer
I have enjoyed watching the Naked Gun films since I was a kid and I am pleased that they have finally released them all together on a DVD box set. These films are absolutely hilarious. The First Naked gun film is probably the best...and although it's over 10 years old it's still a great laugh. Each film is crammed with so many gags that when you watch them the second time you will still find something funny you hadn't seen before. Some may find the humour a little dated and at times predictable but if you like films such as Airplane, Happy Gilmore or Austin Powers then chances are you'll love the Naked Gun Series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These are what movie spoofs should be, 18 Jan 2012
By 
D. W. Bissett "dave_bissett" (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Naked Gun Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
Nowadays, movie spoofs are the bane of comedy cinema. Poorly-scripted and horribly directed, they serve as nothing more than to raise a juvenile finger at a film image or something in the media and portray it in an insulting way. It's even more painful to notice that those spoofs - DATE MOVIE, EPIC MOVIE, MEET THE SPARTANS, DISASTER MOVIE and VAMPIRE SUCKS - are made by the same two people, Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer, who should be NEVER allowed to make more movies forever. But back in the 70's and 80's, most of the movie spoofs that were made, either by Mel Brooks or the ZAZ team (David Zucker, Jerry Zucker and Jim Abrahams) worked because the filmmakers cared about the material and the audience.

The NAKED GUN films are a spin-off of the sadly short-lived TV series, POLICE SQUAD (1982), featuring the bumbling police detective Frank Drebin (the late Leslie Nieslen, who also appeared in another classic from the ZAZ team, AIRPLANE! [1980]). Also appearing in the three films are Frank's love interest Jane (Priscilla Presley) and his police companions, Ed Hocken (George Kennedy) and Nordberg (O.J. Simpson, before he became infamous). The first NAKED GUN film remains a classic, one of the funniest films ever made.

The two sequels, 2 1/2: THE SMELL OF FEAR and 33 1/3: THE FINAL INSULT, while there not masterpieces, are still very funny and are so much better than most of the movie spoofs we get today. I mean, who laughs when Drebin says "I've been swimming through raw sewage. I love it...I LOVE IT!!!" The next time you hear another movie spoof being made from the dreaded duo that is Friedberg and Seltzer, don't waste your money. Stay at home and watch the NAKED GUN films instead. Trust me, you'll love it!!!

Reviewer: Ben David W
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars naked gun, 3 Nov 2004
By A Customer
Well worth buying extremely funny well worth buying airoplane1and2 with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Language information, 30 July 2011
By 
This review is from: The Naked Gun Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
THE NAKED GUN
Language: English (DD 5.1) / German (Mono)
Subtitles: English, Arabic, Bulgarian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, German, Hungarian, Icelandic, Norwegian, Polish, Romanian, Swedish, Turkish

THE NAKED GUN 2 1/2
Language: English (DD 5.1) / German (Surround)
Subtitles: English, Arabic, Bulgarian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, German, Hungarian, Icelandic, Norwegian, Polish, Romanian, Swedish, Turkish

THE NAKED GUN 33 1/3
Language: English (DD 5.1) / German (Surround)
Subtitles: English, Arabic, Bulgarian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, German, Hungarian, Icelandic, Norwegian, Polish, Romanian, Swedish, Turkish

Classic movies, still one of the funniest comedys I know. The actual price is unbeatable!

Have fun and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Naked Gun Trilogy [DVD]
The Naked Gun Trilogy [DVD] by Peter Segal (DVD - 2009)
9.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews