Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars23
4.1 out of 5 stars
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2010
One great film -Red River, one iconic (though overblown and overrated)-The Alamo and one so-so film (Horse Soldiers). The picture quality is not great and looks like a copy of poor video. However, for the price you can't quibble too much. Frankly, only Duke fans are going to be interested in this pack and they already know what they going to get.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2010
What a package treat for western fans, & all three films have the legend that is John Wayne in them, the original Alamo was always going to be the best version up against the later version.
The Horse Soldiers covers a troop of Union soldiers in the American Civil War, great story. Red River is in black & white but with a host of old classic "cowboys" with a Chisholm trail cattle drive. All in all a great package with the shortage of new Westerns being made this is a must for Cowboy films as they should be.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2011
To me this triple pack is three of the best of John Wayne. I am trying to build up his complete collection of westerns only as some of the other films he made were not his best,he even did some propaganda films about the cold war and the vietnam war. His westerns which he was the best at are excellent and this is truly some of his best and a very good price too!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
We know the films. On transfer quality, THE ALAMO gets a thumbs up from DVD reviewers. They say RED RIVER has its problems with an overall good look. What prompted this purchase was curiosity regarding THE HORSE SOLDIERS. Critics say it's a visual mess.
ALAMO looks and sounds really good, like you are on stage with these flag-waving right-wingers. Covers up a lot of the political incorrectness and makes for terrific entertainment.
RIVER is a classic, and after the first 10 minutes, most imperfections are gone. Watching Montgomery Cliff mount his horse is always an eye-opener.
SOLDIERS was a surprise. It ain't horrible. The film itself is no masterpiece, but it is John Ford. The print looks slightly soft and there is some wear. But once things get going, there's no trouble watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Great set I bought it for red river but am very pleased with the other two films as well very fast delivery well packed like most john wayne films you know what you get from this once great actor highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2011
I love the films by John Wayne, these are typical of his moods and swings, just wish he would smile a bit more !! A bit long drawn out, but if you like Wayne then they will not disappoint.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2012
The picture of this western dvd was very poor quality, thought it maybe a copy, not good as it was a christmas present.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
As said in review title you can't really go wrong for the price 3 really good outings for the Duke on offer here.

Red River is considered one of the truly great Westerns ever made so probably worth getting this set for that film alone.
Horse Soldiers is pretty much a stock outing for Wayne but a nice little story all the same.
The Alamo, this is the one I'm disappointed in Why Oh Why didn't they put the Full length Directors Cut out, I know it extends the film by quite a long way BUT its the version you struggle to find (especially in a region 2 format) SHAME.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2010
I enjoyed these movies, the triple DVD set was well worth the couple of pounds
I paid.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
purchased the box for "The Horse Soldiers", enjoyed the bonus of the two extra films, especially "Red River", in which the complexity of the character is magnificient.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)