Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy but fun
Well, after first reading the reviews of others and seeing the trailer for this film, it does what it says on the tin!! If you enjoy films that are slightly OTT, tongue in cheek and often cringeworthy (but still funny and entertaining) this is for you. You have to suspend your beliefs at times or you will find yourself shouting at the screen "Noooo! As if!! etc"...
Published on 1 Jun 2007 by M&M

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You gotta laugh
This is your typical no-brainer action movie and if that's the kinda movie you're in the mood for then Snakes on a Plane will keep you mildly entertained. The plot is a stretch to say the least but then the title could tell you that. It won't win any Oscars but it'll make you laugh and jump a few times....especially if you're not a snake person. All in all it passed a...
Published on 28 Mar 2007 by O. Doyle


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy but fun, 1 Jun 2007
This review is from: Snakes on a Plane [DVD] (DVD)
Well, after first reading the reviews of others and seeing the trailer for this film, it does what it says on the tin!! If you enjoy films that are slightly OTT, tongue in cheek and often cringeworthy (but still funny and entertaining) this is for you. You have to suspend your beliefs at times or you will find yourself shouting at the screen "Noooo! As if!! etc".

All in all though, this is a good fun film to watch with a few mates whilst tucking into a takeaway. Recommended!!! Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars silly but kept me happy, 8 Oct 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Snakes on a Plane [DVD] (DVD)
this film is bad,it knows its bad but somehow and this is a rare thing,it is better for that,yes that sounds odd but this is a silly,no brainer film,the like of what arnie used to star in the 80s,except this premise is probably even sillier.
The title of the movie spoils the entire plot,no im joking,but i think you can tell what the film is about,yes,snakes on a plane.
A witness to a murder is needed by the fbi led by sammy l jackson,so they board a plane to go to trial,however the villains henchmen load the plan filled with snakes and release a hormone that sends the snakes tempers spiralling.We get to know the passengers piece by piece and can tell which ones will probably die,that being the scummy passengers and the very weak and so it goes,the snakes leap out biting faces,necks,arms,blood flowing like a sea,sammy l and some brave members on board fight them off,the plane may crash,silliness ensues in bucket loads,great daft quotes flood screen time,yes this is what we all need.
There will always be a cult following for films like these,they may not do well in the box office,but too many serious films makes us dull,we need films like this that are poor but some work and this is one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stupidly funny because it is so stupid!, 7 April 2007
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Snakes on a Plane [DVD] (DVD)
I only had to see the commercials to see what a lark this film looked, and I wasn't at all suprised to see how the film turned out. Blonde woman, helpless kids, frantic passengers, hundreds of snakes!

Only one man can save a situation like this.

Sammy L J!

The plot, cut long story short (as if it wasn't simple enough) see's a young guy witness a murder while out in the jungle. The result? He's seen, and hunted down by some angry chinese men. And now, Sammy l is on his back, telling him to testify in court about what he saw. This all takes about 15-20 minutes, leaving the rest of the film open to laughs all round, as the passenger plane that Sammy L, the witness, and hundreds of innocent passengers board has a box full of snakes that is rigged to open, in order to kill the witness. Yes, thats it.

But as my review title suggests, this film is entertainment for what you might consider the wrong reasons - its funny because its so pathetic. People running around like headless chickens as snakes bite them in 'nasty places' (most notably, the crotch for guys, and boobs for women) and you can't help but laugh at the situation. Our only english actor dies later on too - Hollywood obviously felt he didn't deserve to live! As a result, a pyhton crushes him to an amusing death.

And thats not the only thing thats amusing. Considering the venom the snakes inject is supposed to take around 2 hours to kill (the film suggests) then why the man who goes to the toilet and suddenly dies as a result of his crotch being munched on by a snake, I don't know!

The 'rebellion' moment against the snakes? Sammy l puts on his mean face with his gun in his hand and repeatedly calls everything "M****r F*****s* with some cheesey music backing it after.

I don't know how to rate this movie when treating it properly. It isn't scary, and its not nerve racking. The CGI snakes don't look entirely convincing at times, as does the plane in the sky - the work of 'do it on the cheap, wait till the profits come in'. All I can say is that if your looking for a laugh in the evening, this more than does the job!

Go Sammy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You gotta laugh, 28 Mar 2007
By 
O. Doyle "celticshedevil" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snakes on a Plane [DVD] (DVD)
This is your typical no-brainer action movie and if that's the kinda movie you're in the mood for then Snakes on a Plane will keep you mildly entertained. The plot is a stretch to say the least but then the title could tell you that. It won't win any Oscars but it'll make you laugh and jump a few times....especially if you're not a snake person. All in all it passed a few hours......but it isn't a movie I'll be adding to my collection.....renting was quite enough! I do wonder who wrote the lines for Samuel L Jackson though.....they were such clichéd tough black guy lines that I cringed more than once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Do as I say and you will live", 26 Feb 2007
This review is from: Snakes on a Plane [DVD] (DVD)
Do you feel like having fun without needing to think too much? And you don't mind being more than a little scared as long as you are safe in your living room? Then, "Snakes on a plane" is likely to be the movie for you :)

"Snakes on a plane" is (obviously) a film about lots of poisonous snakes let loose on a plane that also happens to be full of people trying to avoid them, but with nowhere to go, given that they are on a plane over the Pacific Ocean. The responsible for that "little accident" is Eddie Kim (Byron Lawson), a mobster that wants to kill Sean Jones (Nathan Phillips), a person who was at the wrong place at the wrong moment and can send him to jail. Thankfully for Sean, FBI Agent Neville Flynn (Samuel Jackson) is between him and the snakes. Will that be enough? Well, watch "Snakes on a plane" and find out!

All in all, I think that this movie is good entertainment, but not more. So if you expect to find anything else than "Snakes on a plane", lots of scary moments and fast-paced action in this dvd, you won't. Taking that into account, recommended...

Belen Alcat

PS: If you didn't like snakes before watching this moving, afterwards you will simply hate them!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most enjoyable films of the year!, 25 Sep 2006
By 
P. DENNEY "Man Of Action" (Manchester England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snakes on a Plane [DVD] (DVD)
Samuel L. Jackson signed up because of the title and nearly pulled out of this movie when they tried to change it, and in this case the title says it all.

There are snakes on a plane, the bad guy put them there to kill a witness, and it's left to Sam Jackson and the other passengers to survive untill the plane can land. Make no mistake, this movie does exactly what it says on the tin. The story kick starts immediatly, no long drawn out openings or exposition, and then rolls along very well with tongue wedged firmly in cheek. There is some comedy and alot of shocks. This movie never tries to be something its not and knows exactly what it is. It is nice to see a low budget film (which i believe it was) come out so well, it is as much a homage to B-movies as "Tremors" was over a decade earlier. It would have been very easy for this film to try and take itself too seriously and thankfully it doesn't.

If you are afraid of snakes it may be worth giving this one a miss (obviously) but if not then do as it said on the poster - SIT BACK, RELAX, AND ENJOY THE FRIGHT. Buy it, watch it, love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 3 Mar 2007
This review is from: Snakes on a Plane [DVD] (DVD)
Okay, I admit that there are a few mistakes in the storyline, and that the special effects are awful, ubt it is a very entertaining movie.

I don't know if it is meant to be funny, but i found it hilarious!!! I won't tell ya what as it would just ruin the suprise.

There was a very bad ending, so it made the movie look absoulutly pointless, but to me it wasn't as it got rid of my boredom.

There are some jumpy bits, but spme parts are predictable, so that kind of ruins it!!

The acting is ok, and Samuel. L Jackson wasn't at his best, but i do like it when he says lets get these mother******* snakes off of this mother******* plane!! lol.

Overall, it is a very good movie which should be bought by peepz who enjoyed Final Destination 2 as this is a laugh, like that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Film - Great Blu-ray, 24 Aug 2012
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok, there are 71 reviews on here that show very clearly that this film split the opinions of its viewers. I come down very firmly in the 'love it' camp. I'm a fan of 'creature features' and this is one of the best Grade A B-Movies I've seen (along with Rogue) and, as such, replacing on blu-ray was a must for me.
The picture quality on this blu-ray is absolutely stunning. The opening sequence involving aerial shots following a motorcycle and of the coastline demonstrate exactly what you're in for: an excellent viewing experience.
The Dolby True-HD 5.1 track is better than the DD5.1 on the DVD; but as with all True-HD tracks I would have preferred a DTS HD Master track. There's something about a True-HD track that's a little underwhelming. But, as this is a definite upgrade from the DVD I'm pleased. There are also English subtitles.
You get the following extras:
Commentary, Music Video, 4 featurettes, trailers, deleted scenes and a gag reel.
All in all, this is a no-brainer upgrade for anyone who loves the film and is considering buying this blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grade A , B Movie, 17 Feb 2009
By 
G. R. Donaldson (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snakes on a Plane [DVD] (DVD)
I thought SOAP was an excellent bit of horror, thriller, comedy hokum.The reviewers who reckon it wouldn't amount to much without Samuel L Jackson are probably right as the rest of the cast are pretty forgetable. Whilst I thought some of the CGI was a bit ropey and the scenario somwhat unlikely I did enjoy this romp. These films are fine when they dont take themselves to seriously and SOAP is such an animal. The disc had loads of extras including a gag reel. So all in all I would give this the thumbs up if your in the mood for some brainless thrills. Its certainly a lot better than I thought it would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On the surface it appears to be a jumped-up B-movie but..., 25 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Snakes on a Plane [DVD] (DVD)
What struck me about this film is its hidden references. Perhaps I am reading to much into it but I think not. The front cover of the DVD is snakes wrapped around a plane, the plane looking like a dagger. This is a reference to secret societies like the freemasons, skull & bones etc. They have snakes/serpants wrapped around a dagger or a sword.
We have terrorists trying to bring a plane down, if that isn't a reference to 9/11 i don't know what is. Many conspiracy theorists believe 9/11 was an inside job. If it was then it was set up by the secret societies that are trying to control the planet. Secret societies have a history of snake/serpent worship which is why the film depicts snakes as the aggressor.
Therefore this film jumps from an average 3 to a 4. I believe behind the CGI effects and the cliched acting the important message is not the actual plot of the film.
The film itself is reasonably enjoyable viewing. Set-up in a very cliched way the film rolls on like that all the way through. The hero and the man he is protecting in the name of justice, the crimelord, the sexist pilot, the token camp stewardess and his attractive female colleagues... you get the idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snakes on a Plane [Blu-ray] [2009] [US Import]
Snakes on a Plane [Blu-ray] [2009] [US Import] by David R. Ellis (Blu-ray - 2009)
4.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews