Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This year's biggest surprise!
I don't review on Amazon very often but this album is something worth writing about. My previous opinion of Penate, I confess, was ambivolent at best.

The aptly titled 'Everything Is New' brings something completely different to the table. It's hard to believe it comes from the imagination of the same person who bored me to death two years ago with yawning...
Published on 20 July 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I was really looking forward to listening to this as enjoyed watching Jack live at Glastonbury. However apart from the 1st 2 tracks which i think have been singles the other tracks are frankly pretty dreadful. If i could ask for a refund I would. Sorry Jack.
Published on 5 Oct 2010 by lechef


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This year's biggest surprise!, 20 July 2009
This review is from: Everything Is New (Audio CD)
I don't review on Amazon very often but this album is something worth writing about. My previous opinion of Penate, I confess, was ambivolent at best.

The aptly titled 'Everything Is New' brings something completely different to the table. It's hard to believe it comes from the imagination of the same person who bored me to death two years ago with yawning mockney acoustic pop blah.

The album opens with the ethereal, pounding "Pull My Heart Away", which perfectly sets the tone for the delights to come. This, along with many of the following tracks is a very heart on sleeve account of making a fresh start and taking chances.

The religious allusions on 'Be The One' are also a recurring theme. Again, there is a throbbing beat and fantastic instrumentation that just has you hooked from the outset. Even the catchy break towards the end of the track gives it stand-out appeal.

Tonight's Today, which has a heady, almost tribal undercurrent, is inspired by Penate's all night partying. I read one interview where he said he'd been out for so long he saw a clock with 4 on the dial and had no idea whether it was 4am or 4pm.

The Balearic beats and catchy hooks continue with the title track, Everything Is New. The melting hawaiian guitar, hand claps and harmonies meld together perfectly. "Dance Away Defeat..." Penate joyously wails, and you can't help but move along with the rhythm. It conjours images of sweaty South American beach parties under the setting sun.

So Near combines happy clappy with techno beats and twinkly guitars and gets better with every listen.

The pace slows for Every Glance, (with Adele backing). Again, Penate's sighing vocals are given plenty of sultry echo and depth. Every Glance is one of the more lyrically sucessful tracks on the album and gives a clear idea of Penate's not-quite-fully-realised potential as a songwriter.

The pace picks up again for the toe-tapping Give Yourself Away, where Penate almost yells "I dare you to do it" to a sexy, Brazilian rumba-esque backing track.

Lets All Die is a chirpy little number but the rather transparent lyrics and weak structure let it down slightly. Epworth's influence redeams it, though, with shouty backing vocals and lots of noisy guitars to add interest.

Body Down, the closing track, is a departure from the rest of the album, although it has the same depth and hypnotic quality. It reminds me of a Victorian nursery rhyme set to a slightly fuzzy piano, and the crashing symbols and sudden key changes give it a haunting and mellifluous appeal.

This could have been a car crash album and must have felt like a huge risk for Penate. He couldn't possibly have pulled it off better, though, as every track is completely infused with his new-found sense of bravery and adventure.

This is a fantastic second album, full of enigmatic, exuberant, uninhibited tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking album, 10 July 2009
This review is from: Everything Is New (Audio CD)
Saw jp at glasto on the beeb and liked what i saw, got the album and its 9 quality tunes. Normally a dance/electronica man myself, but this is the best album ive purchased in ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under rated, 31 Jan 2010
By 
avl06 (The Village) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Everything Is New (Audio CD)
This was one of the best albums of 09, and its sad it was all but overlooked in the end of year lists. This is funky, soulful, and much of it sounds like it was recorded in the house that Lionel Richie was dancing on the ceiling of. Great production by Epworth and great tracks, Pull My Heart Away a particular fave. Hope for more of this quality, or of course better, very soon from Penate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good album, 24 July 2009
By 
M. Saxby (Fleet, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything Is New (MP3 Download)
I'd never heard of Jack Penate, but accidently caught some of his set in the John Peel tent at Glastonbury (on the Beeb! :) )and he seemed pretty good.

I bought his first CD and it's a pretty good album, but this one is something else altogether.

The tracks are distinctive and fresh (these are the tracks I remember from the Glasto set), with many influences but managing to sound different rather than another 'me too' indie artist.

Refreshing too, in that there are only 9 tracks, but all deserve inclusion, no pad the CD out filler dross here. I used to feel a CD with less than 14 tracks was poor value, but nowadays I'd rather have 9 good tracks than 7 good, 4 so-so and 3 duffers.

One of the best CDs I've bought in a while (actually set of MP3s as it was, unusually, cheaper to buy the MP3s than a second hand copy of the CD) - Amazon's MP3 Downloader worked very well for me too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars surprising reinvention, 19 Jun 2009
This review is from: Everything Is New (Audio CD)
I have listened to a preview copy of this album. I can't say I was ever a fan of Penate's last album. It was a bit rubbish, frankly, The kind of mass-market landfill that's here today, gone tomorrow. Between 2007 and 2009, Penate has undergone something of a radical reinvention. Everything IS New, indeed.

This record is nine songs of wide-eyed pure musical joy mixing up a huge array of sounds you don't hear on your average pop LP: African rhythms, Ibiza beats, fuzzy guitars, samples, choirs ... It has clearly been inspired by Vampire Weekend - and it's none the worse for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music mad, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything Is New (Audio CD)
I was completely happy and satisfied with the product. The product is everything I imagined and I was pleased with the price and packaging. Great tracks on the record with great quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as goods as the first but worth a look, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything Is New (Audio CD)
I really, really liked the first album and after reading a few reviews on here thought I might be disappointed by this. Not so. A good follow uo with a similar sound, not quite as many stand out tracks but you get that. Definitely worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything Is New (Audio CD)
Everything is New is a wonerful album that you will find yourselves listening to time and time again. A must!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love This Album, 9 Feb 2012
This review is from: Everything Is New (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album, quite expensive in the store but very reasonable here. If you lie Vampire weekend then you'd love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 5 Oct 2010
This review is from: Everything Is New (Audio CD)
I was really looking forward to listening to this as enjoyed watching Jack live at Glastonbury. However apart from the 1st 2 tracks which i think have been singles the other tracks are frankly pretty dreadful. If i could ask for a refund I would. Sorry Jack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Everything Is New
Everything Is New by Jack Penate (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews