Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You cannot overthink on this job
Jermaine and Bret are a pair of New Zealand musicians, living in New York City and hoping to hit it big. Yeah, "Flight of the Conchords: The Complete Collection" sounds like a terrible generic sitcom, but instead this series is one of the most hilarious comedies of the last decade -- a quirky, weird, tongue-in-cheek little show with hilarious dialogue. Think a musical...
Published on 17 May 2010 by E. A Solinas

versus
1 of 75 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not so great
We have seen the program on TV and found it so funny that we had to buy the whole DVD. When we watched it it was very average and not funny whatsoever. We even didn't finish watching it all. Waste of time. Wouldn't buy it again!
Published on 23 Feb 2011 by Martina


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You cannot overthink on this job, 17 May 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Flight Of The Conchords - Complete HBO First and Second Season [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Jermaine and Bret are a pair of New Zealand musicians, living in New York City and hoping to hit it big. Yeah, "Flight of the Conchords: The Complete Collection" sounds like a terrible generic sitcom, but instead this series is one of the most hilarious comedies of the last decade -- a quirky, weird, tongue-in-cheek little show with hilarious dialogue. Think a musical version of "The Office."

Folk-pop group Flight of the Conchords is Jermaine Clement and Bret McKenzie (played by themselves), who came all the way from New Zealand to New York. They are being managed by the ineffectual New Zealand Consulate official Murray (Rhys Darby), and they have exactly one fan/stalker, Mel (Kristen Schaal). They don't have many gigs, and even fewer successful ones.

As they chase elusive fame'n'fortune, the guys have to deal with girlfriend woes (dating the same girl, a "Yoko", a girl who just wants to use Bret for sex), financial difficulties (Bret bought a cup!), jobs, muggings, anti-Kiwi racism, a problematic rock'n'roll tour, two new fans with impure intentions, a semi-professional actor/compulsive liar who makes Murray think they've got a multimillion-dollar deal, the Crazy Doggz, Australians, epileptic terriers, the Prime Minister of New Zealand, hair gel, and a stage musical based on their misadventures.

If I had to come up with a description for "Flight of the Conchords," it would be that they're the folky New Zealand love child of Spinal Tap and "The Office." No laugh track, rambling dialogue, and the main characters tend to spontaneously break into song-and-dance at pivotal parts of the plot. And it's brilliant.

The writing is brimming over with effortless weirdness, as the guys encounter everyday problems (threesomes, girlfriend woes, weird dreams) which soon turn into hilariously surreal situations (the disturbing children's show, "Albi the Racist Dragon"). The dialogue is amazing ("When I first met you you tried to have me deported from New Zealand because you thought I was an Australian"), and full of rambling conversations that just get stranger with every line ("Have you ever had a threesome?" "Nearly." "What do you mean, nearly?" "I've had a twosome").

The songs are gutsplitting as well, since they're all about homicidal robots, mermaids, toothpaste, hip-hop spoofs, hermaphrodites ("Oh you sexy hermaphrodite lady-man-ladies"), rappers, cannibalism, and the hiphop-potamus. Not to mention "Frodo, Don't Wear the Ring" and its accompanying music video, which are a nod to McKenzie's role as the elf Figwit.

But none of this would be even half as funny if it weren't for the actors -- Clement's self-named chatacter is stoic and kind of weird (he writes a song about putting a wig on Bret), while McKenzie's is more childlike, naive and likes to sit in a cardboard box. Darby rounds out the cast as their harried, rather pathetic manager (who isn't even supposed to be managing a band), and Schaal is also quite funny as a woman who has a creepy sexual fixation on the guys.

"Flight of the Conchords: The Complete Series" is one of the rarest kind of comedy out there -- steady, hysterical, and only gets better with repeated viewings. And boy, are you sorry when it's over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest programme since partridge, 13 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Flight Of The Conchords - Complete HBO First and Second Season [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is an amazing series especially the first one. If you are a fan of Alan Partridge, Peep Show, Boosh you will love this. Buy it now, I have recommeded it to all my friends and everyone loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!, 20 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight Of The Conchords - Complete HBO First and Second Season [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Flight of the Conchords are pretty much the greatest comedy duo of the 21st century. Their stuff is really original and random and if you like The Mighty Boosh or Family Guy, you will love this. Great price from Amazon as well, the price is often what you would have to pay for just the second season.
5 stars!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight Of The Conchords - Complete HBO First and Second Season [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Great condition and as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight Of The Conchords - Complete HBO First and Second Season [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
classic, for your information theres an inflamation in my tear gland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best show out there!, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight Of The Conchords - Complete HBO First and Second Season [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This has to be one of my favourite shows! It is an extremely clever and witty piece of work, that I promise will stick with you forever!

I also suggest you purchase the album, I seriously can't get enough!

I will forever be singing its business, it's business time...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Downbeat, underplayed delight, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight Of The Conchords - Complete HBO First and Second Season [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Now an oldie, but a goldie. Loved this from the start - a tale of three losers trying to succeed in love, life, and music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very happy!, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight Of The Conchords - Complete HBO First and Second Season [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
worth every penny. amazing show, shame there's only two seasons, very funny and can watch over and over again! happy with speed of delivery too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight Of The Conchords - Complete HBO First and Second Season [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Very funny - we are kiwis so we get the humour! Nice item and happy with this product but I won't be ordering again because without European Free Super Saver delivery, no thanks'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight Of The Conchords - Complete HBO First and Second Season [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This was bought as a gift for my daughter as she loves Flight of The Conchords. Very funny and clever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews