Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New batteries
Sigur Rós's astonishing 1999 LP, "Ágaetis Byrjun", was unreplicable. In the years since, they've made catchier songs and noisier songs; but nothing quite matches the otherworldly ambience of their early masterpiece. "Meš suš í eyrum viš spilum endalaust" marks a change of direction. In short, it's the first time Sigur Rós have sounded like a...
Published on 24 Jun 2008 by Jonathan Birch

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everything but the kitchen sink !
Those seeking a minimalist musical experience then this is not for you. The band and producer appear to have thrown everything but the kitchen sink into the mix including heavenly choirs, massed orchestral ranks on top of the usual rock instruments and vocals.
I've played the album a number of times now and it's been a slow burner.The usual mix of sombre slow ballads...
Published on 29 Jun 2008 by Arthur Dooley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New batteries, 24 Jun 2008
By 
Jonathan Birch (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Sigur Rós's astonishing 1999 LP, "Ágaetis Byrjun", was unreplicable. In the years since, they've made catchier songs and noisier songs; but nothing quite matches the otherworldly ambience of their early masterpiece. "Meš suš í eyrum viš spilum endalaust" marks a change of direction. In short, it's the first time Sigur Rós have sounded like a band, rather than a school of whales at the bottom of a fjord.

The first four songs are fresh, sunkissed, acoustic, playful: you'd hardly believe it's still Sigur Rós, but it all works beautifully. The message is clear: this is a fun album, a soundtrack for summer, for festivals, for beaches, for running naked across roads. After this brilliant opening, the album loses momentum a little (in particular, "Ára bátur" is overlong and overblown, with choirs and orchestras battling with the vocals for space in your ears), but it's all done with enough verve to keep your finger away from the skip button. "Meš suš" is by far Sigur Rós's most accessible record, and is a fine place for newcomers to start.

The bottom line is that "Meš suš" is good news: the successful sonic evolution of one of the most consistently interesting bands in the world today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's actually very good, 18 Jun 2008
After finding out that music maestro 'Flood' was to produce their 5th album, I was a little,(some may say justified) cautious about this new offering from Icelandic cloud landscapers, Sigur Ros.

Their new and latest free download Gobbledigook, took me somewhat by surprise, it's a brave move. I couldn't help but think bands like 'The Flaming Lips' could carry this off with absolute ease, but as a Sigur Ros track, for me, didn't really work.

I couldn't help but think it's like someone taking a wild endangered animal, sticking it in a cage and getting it to perform tricks for a paying audience. Thankfully, the other tracks are as good as anything they have done previous. Some Sigur Ros purists still may be a little disappointed with its more structured sound, but for me, I'm happy to report, it still sounds pretty darn good.

I think it's a fine mix of lets try something new/with not wanting to alienate their core audience, the only slight problem for me is that at times it seems a little obvious and slightly mechanical. Compared to their usual style of organically producing stunning backdrops for movies that have never been made, Meš suš í eyrum viš spilum endalaust, may be a tad forced, I like my Sigur Ros tracks less obvious, taking something different from them every time I hear them.

Having said that, it isn't a criticism, just a personnel preference.

I read a review that said "some of the tracks sound a little OTT", couldn't help but laugh when you consider this is a band who live in Iceland, record music in churches and caves and sing in a made up language no one can decipher.

Sigur Ros remain superb, the back lash may have started, but if they had continued doing another Takk or ( ), the critical damage could have been far worst. At least it proves that Sigur Ros are not beyond criticism like some suggested. Sit back and enjoy, tracks Ára bátur & Festival are an absolute treat. Over blown syrup? .. yes, maybe, but isn't that why we like them?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Crowning Glory, 7 July 2010
By 
Mr. George Edward Maier "George Maier" (Ilkeston, Derbyshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sigur Ros, Victory Rose - If the battle is one for my heart, then victory has been achieved. Cascading with energy, power and emotion: this album is the crowing glory to the band in a world of their own. Sigur Ros are now on indefinite hiatus, when I found out I was saddened deeply, as I imagine all other Sigur Ros fans were, but if this is their last album, then my god it is it worthy of their honour.

There are so many moments within this album that can be considered artistic purity. True music. True brilliance. I can't express in words how much this album means to me, and could mean to anyone who listens to it.

If you are contemplating buying this album then I ask you not to hesitate a moment longer, buy. Don't delay for every second you are without this album is a second you are not living to the full.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Build Your Own Paradise, 16 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
In the year Sigur Ros released their first album "Von", it sold 313 copies. Things have changed a lot in the past decade, and yet, they haven't. Their records are round and they play instruments, but that's about all they have in common with anyone. Their songs still have unique titles, their albums have unwieldy names, their artwork is still uniquely individual : the cover of this sums up the record in an instant : naked men and women running across a road, breaking with convention - not because it is an act of rebellion, but because it is what the heart feels is true.

From the off, Sigur Ros have never been so accessable, and yet it is still, utterly and completely filled with the trademarks of their sound : ascending rhythms, vistas of strings, ethereal otherworldly vocals that soar and elevate, music that eschews the convention of verse / chorus / guitar solo in favour of a unfolding panorama of invention. Sure, all this flowery language is so very 1986-NME-Cocteau-Twins, but then again, about the only thing that is familiar about this record is that you can buy it in shops.

Starting with the rampaging crescendo is "Inni Mer Syngur Vitleysinger" (rough transalation : "I have no idea what this means"), "Meo Suo I Eyrum..." is very possibly the greatest Sigur Ros record yet. It opens like a weird James hit single, then within 17 seconds takes an abrupt left turn into a fluffy Jesus & Mary Chain with a vast chorus. This record hints at a world yet unseen, touches upon the vast possibilities, takes the promises of other music, and leaves them all in the dust. You thought Radiohead were weird? Compared to Sigur Ros, Radiohead are Take That.

The first half of the record is vibrant, uplifting, all drums and choruses and massive swathes of indistinct angels trilling in your ears. The second half is quieter, more reflective, introspective half-seen glimpses of songs, an alien lullaby, or an insomniac sunset seen from the window of a transatlantic jetliner.

In fact, words are pretty much redundant to explain the intricate and unique world this record creates. Unlike any other music I've heard. Sigur Ros is immersive. It's the sound of music you hear on the stairs when two different records are playing at the same time, and you heard a new third, impossible song - and that is Sigur Ros, a world underneath your fingertips you didn't know existed. And its also the closest thing Sigur Ros have ever come to a conventional pop music : at times ("Ara Batur") it sounds like something Coldplay and Brian Eno would reject as far-too-weird. In one respect, Sigur Ros music is a blank canvas - there is no `meaning' except that we make ourselves, no interpretation but that we add. Every listener, every reader, everyone who's ever seen a film brings with them, unwitting or not, their baggage, their interpretation, their world, and creates something that is what the author intended but also, far far more than that. Sigur Ros music is impressionistic, foggy, a musical Rosharch Inkblot Test that provides the listener to create their own paradise and get lost in that forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Icelandic four piece deliver more beautiful melancholy, 24 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Following on from the bittersweet atmospherics of Takk..., the verbosely titled Meš suš í eyrum viš spilum endalaust is imbued with essentially the same approach but this time the tracks are more shaped, and lean far less towards the largely instrumental symphonies of Takk..., bad news for those at the BBC in charge of soundtracking clips of everything from horse racing to obituaries. Not that the more frequent presence of lyrics and semi-choruses makes a tremendous difference to the overall mood that the band create; Icelandic is a language little understood in the English speaking world and as a consequence whatever it is that Jónsi Birgisson is actually enunciating merely adds to and meshes with the wall of sound created by the rest of the band and what is obviously a veritable army of strings and choirs and what might just possibly be the haunting wails and whimpers of the long-deceased. At times, as on Festival (one of two tracks here with an English title, three if you include the misspelt Gobbledigook), the music is so impossibly sad and weary that even Birgisson sounds morbidly depressed and broken. Somehow though, it all works and as with Hoppipolla on Takk... there is often a curious euphoria to what the band conjure up. The epic Ára bátur begins in so funereal a fashion that it could easily soundtrack a walk on the windswept moors with the Bronte sisters and its orchestral climax is so stirring that is could serve as a sort of requiem for every single thing that has ever happened, like someone finally cracking under the weight of the terrible beauty of it all. With this in mind, some may view the opening Gobbledigook as a form of misdirection, a sleight of hand that suggests an album of Flaming Lips-type eccentricity. But by the third track the melancholia has well and truly set in for the winter, and it only gets deeper as the album goes on. This may be the only flaw here; an album of such interminable sadness could wear heavily on some and perhaps the album could have been differently sequenced or the tracklisting amended to avoid this. But to argue with music this beautiful is like complaining about a bed being too comfortable. Soon, if you look up melancholy in the dictionary, you may simply find the words Sigur Ros by way of a definition. Stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a transitional album, 28 Nov 2008
I think this album is a transitional one for Sigur Ros. They've become a band that had a specific sound and they were no doubt aware that they needed to develop their style to avoid stagnation.

With their latest release there are clear signs that the band wanted to make a different kind of a record. The songs are shorter, more acoustic sounding and generally more upbeat. They've tried to rely less on tried and tested ways of working and moved towards spontaneity and improvisation.

At least half of the album sounds a little different for Sigur Ros especially with the single "Gobbledegook" with its tribal drumming, hand claps and chanting. A couple of the tracks almost border on indie pop which would have been very out of place on the "( )" album from a few years ago.

The rest of the album is on more familiar ground but at the same time it doesn't feel like a band going through the motions. The track "Festival" bridges the two styles of the album by sounding beautifully sad and slow to begin with and then upbeat and euphoric towards the end.

If there was one criticism it's only that taken as a whole it feels more like a collection of songs than a carefully constructed album. Previous releases felt like they had been carefully planned out whilst this one feels more like a collection of songs that they happened to be working on at the time (if this makes sense).

I think it will be interesting to hear what they do next. They've had the courage to try out new ideas so who knows what this will lead to?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Practically perfect, 17 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. Mc Williams (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was so cautious about this album, surely Sigur Ros couldn't top their previous LP 'Takk', which has spent more time on repeat in my CD player and iPod over the last 2 years than I care to remember - I even bough 3 copies in total (one for home, one for the car, one special edition to treasure)... But the unthinkable has happened!!!

So what is the album like? We firstly, if you liked previous tracks like Hoppipolla, Hljomalind or Agaetis Byrjun then you'll love it. Scratch that, if you like any of Sigur Ros' back catalogue then you'll love it - the album is a logical progression from previous works without abandoning all that we love about them. Almost all tracks will connect with the listener on first listen, and even those that feel they could be forgetable have a knack for sounding oh-so-familiar 2nd time around. However the album is notably shorter than other albums in their repetoire, at just under 1 hour, the album only includes 1 'epic' Sigur Ros track ('epic' like the ( ) album).

Gobbledigook, the album's opening track is a tricky one. It's raucus and youthful, and probably the most surprising track by the band so far - and an odd choice to open with. The timing unfortunatley really gets in the way of this track being 'sing-along-able', no matter how many times you listen to it. However it doesn't stop the listener from enjoying it from a voyeurs point of view (ie not part of it) and it does do a really good job of getting the album off to a blinding start.

It seems that 2nd track Inni Mer Syngur Vitleysingur is this year's Hoppipolla, and is destined to appear on the more sophisticated sporting event round-up VT, or even another advert for a David Attenborough nature show (!) And although at the end of track 2 you might find yourself thinking 'can the album get any better than this?', listen on!

Gotan Daginn is a mellow affair, in the vein of Agaetis Byrjun or Heima - a good track to watch the world go by in front of you. It has it's cute moments but it will surprise you at how quickly the song goes by. Vid Spilum Endalaust takes the listener back into Hoppipolla territory, which is a nice surprise to hear 2 of this kind of track on the album together!

Track 5 (Festival), although fairly long-winded (do not read 'epic') has by far the most catchy melody of the whole album, or even arguably their entire back catalgue. The first 4 minutes or so of Jonsi's solitary singing acts as a brilliant palette-cleanser prior to the album's 2nd half starting from the major breakdown in Festival... Think Glosoli but less progressive... the whistling at the end will YOU by the end of the album!

The album's 2nd half is a more subdued affair (do not read 'boring'), with the last beat-y track being the lush 'Sud i Eyrum' (track 6 - which leaves another 5 tracks relitively drum free). Ara Batur is similar in structure to Festival, yet it seems to flow-in better from previous tracks - there isn't such a stark contrast between it's neighbouring songs. The song itself is one of Sigur Ros' most sensitive works, Jonsi's vocals seem so fragile at times, yet perfectly beautiful. The track swells into a full orchestral and choir affair worthy of a classy and poignant end-credits for an intelligent blockbuster.

The remianing 4 tracks are quite a surprise to the listener, they seem to get more and more stripped down as they go, with my personal favourite Fljotavik. The tracks themselves are lowkey strings, vocals, and the odd piano or acoustic guitar. These tracks seem heavility influenced by their Heima Tour of 2007 as they seem a lot more intimate in terms of performance; they have an almost 'live' feel.

The closing track, All Alright, could have worked well as a secret track, with the final restrains of Straumnes (a coda to Fljotavik) most listeners would expect the album to have reached it's natural cadence and ended there, but the final track strips the album down to its bare minimum. Jonsi's vocals are so fargile they sound almost like they were sung in his sleep. Aparrently the lyrics are in english, although they are so murmered that they could be Hopelandic to most listeners.

If Takk was an album themed upon nature then Med Sud i Eyerum... is themed upon the memories of nature; the sound seems less a first-hand experience of nature and more third-hand in it's translation, although there are some distictly lush moments to remind us of the elemental backbone that Sigur Ros are all about. But like nature, the album isn't perfect; perhaps top heavy, perhaps not - it will depend on the listeners prefernce, although I imagine first time listeners to Sigur Ros will be ending their albums after track 7... listen on an you will be rewarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best yet?, 5 Mar 2009
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The first truly great moment of this album occurs during track 2 - towards the end the music abruptly stops for a second, then bursts back in, louder and brighter than before. It's like the sun moving behind a cloud on a sunny day, then suddenly emerging from the other side. It's possible that, like me, when you hear this bit you'll grin, laugh, then punch the air. It's fantastic.

In my opinion this is Sigur Ros's best album, certainly their most consistent. Of the most noteworthy tracks here, track 1 is a percussive monster, track 2 is the most feelgood song I've heard in a long time, track 4 is also euphoric... and then we meet the epics.

"Festival" starts quietly but then, half-way through, a kick drum and a bass guitar charge to the front and the song changes into a hugely exciting - and loud - track. Soon after this comes the album's best track. "Ara Batur" is guaranteed to make me cry. The early part of the song is quiet and subdued, Jonsi singing beautifully until an orchestra and a choir join in. It is an extraordinary track.

After these two, the final four tracks are excellent but are more "typical" Sigur Ros. The much-discussed "All Alright" is indeed sung in English, but you'll still be hard-pressed to make out any of the lyrics.

Absolutely fantastic. I can't wait to hear what they do next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 18 Feb 2009
By 
S. Osborn (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an absolutely amazing album. If you dont have goosebumps after the first 5 songs, well; frankly you're not human.

Who cares if its in an uncomprehensible language (invent your own lyrics). Who cares if the final few songs a a bit of a let down compared to the first few (theyre still pretty damn epic). Who cares if the music lacks genre definiton (at my last attempt I put them down as neo-classical folk-rock).

This is emotive music at its very best, and you would be a fool to miss out on the bst album of 2008. Please, for your own sake: Buy this!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't hit the heights of Takk but still good, 2 July 2008
By 
K-Pax (Bonnie Scotland) - See all my reviews
I salivated at the prospect of Sigur Ros' latest offering as I couldn't get enough of them after the brilliant last CD/DVD, Heima. Sigur Ros are one of the few truly remarkable bands out there and their music is ethereal, beautiful, poignant and at times completely odd. While there are some wonderful pieces of music here-in, I don't think the album works as well as their previous albums. I'm just not sure Gobbledigook works for me but thereafter and as the album progresses, they claim you. I can understand the slight change in their work and fair play to the band, they are continuing to evolve and certainly are more accessible but I feel that this is slightly detrimental to the ethos of Sigur Ros. We love them because they are so out there on their own, producing music that is peerless. Still one of the best groups ever though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews