Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
12
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
5
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 October 2009
I've waited along time for this Cd to be re-issued and now I've got it, it was worth the wait. I was familiar with the Mojos hits and liked their sound and style, but was unsure what their other material would be like. Well, I needn't have worried; apart from the disastrous 'Goodbye Dolly May' recorded at the insistence of their record label (to try to cash in on the anti-war song popularity), it's full of good stuff. Sleeve notes are very comprehensive, including full explanations for changes in personnel. Recommended.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2009
This cd brought back great memories of the 60's in my mind a very underated band of the time would recommend this cd to any lover of 60's music.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2009
What a great album for such a little heard band. Apart from the title track, this group's songs rarely see light of day and are of great quality, especially some of the later tracks such as Seven Park Avenue.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2011
The Mojo's were more than just everythings alright, a tight well drilled Mersey band and still performing today with Nicky Crouch, one of the great nice guys of the 60s scene at the helm. I like many purchased the edsel album back in the dark old days and waited one day for the cd to arrive complete with a lot of extras. They sound as fresh today as they must have sounded back in the 60s, diferrent from the Beatles, different from the Rolling Stones there own little place in 60s music history. Again available at bargain prices on amazon, the edsel lp set me back about £6 years ago, so this cd was about the same price its just £6 went a lot futher back then. This is not 60s merseybeat as we know it this is the Mojos and their piece of the 60s, well worth the wait at last we can stop playing the vinyl.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2011
First appearing as the Nomads and recording a track for the Oriole comp the Mojos missed out on the British Invasion for reasons no one could explain.
With a variety of music from the Beatles influenced Forever,the frat stomp of Everything's alright,the folk song Seven Daffodils, a cover of Mary Wells' The one who really loves you (seen from a male viewpoint) and the most remarkable record of all-Goodbye Dolly Gray.Not only years before its time as Rolf Harris was years away from Two little boys.And the Bonzo Dog Band were yet to happen.Plus the film Oh What A Lovely War
The band might have disowned the song which they were forced into but its the collector who benefits especially if like me the collector likes Edwardian drawing room ballads.I don't think anyone else ever attempted this Civil War song which lasted into the Edwardian era as it was topical because of World War 1 and they make a good job of it.GEMM show just one 78 of it by Hugh Donovan
In years to come future collectors will realise that Goodbye Dolly Gray by the Mojos is a total classic

Since the above review its now a reality as a CD appears called The Beautiful Old which has had very positive reviews in all the music mags and is of songs written as long ago as 1839 cutting off a 1907.Artists include folk,country and even a couple of rock stars in Graham Parker and Dave Davies (Kinks) with strong input from Garth Hudson of the Band.
The Mojos would have fit in well here
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2009
Excellent example of the music from a band who made a highly under-rated single and very good others.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2009
I have been waiting a long time for this disc, why so long? I have fond memories of this band, after collecting the original vinyl 45`s. I can remember the band on Discs-A-Go-Go, a welsh pop show many years ago, singing Wait A Minute. The group`s name changed to Stu James and The Mojos at that time and were a much underated bamd, with songs like the title track and Why Not Tonight? excellent. Thank goodness for Amazon.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2011
Hi Again Everybody:

This collection is a definative one, no doubt. Along with a complete recorded collection, the write-up is superb. Both the music and the background are a good bit of education
on the road to complete musical dominance.

Enjoy the tunes

Crazy Canuck
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
I saw these live in the sixties. So this brought back memories of that time. Well worth hearing in my view
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2014
One of the best Liverpool bands of the 60's ! Great album !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)