Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moggie heaven, 17 Sep 2009
By 
Blackhorse47 "I.J. Parnham" (Moray, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Joanna Lumley: Cat Woman [DVD] (DVD)
Originally shown as a 2 part tv series, this dvd version is surprisingly entertaining. It doesn't dwell on the joys of finding dead mice under the washing-machine and chasing your cat away from the fish pond. Instead this is an engaging exploration of cats and their history around the world.

Some segments are a delight such as the cheetah sanctuary while others such as cats being dressed up in Japan are frankly a bit creepy. But all the segments are short enough to avoid the stranger obsessions becoming annoying while being just long enough to provide interesting information. And there's lots of globe-trotting taking in cat festivals in Belgium, jaguars in the Mayan jungle, Zen Buddhists... the list of interesting features is considerable in a program of around 90 minutes.

Throughout the lead comes over as being someone who really likes cats and who is genuinely interested to learn more about them and about the other people who obsess over them, whether the moggies be large or small. The rapport she develops with the cats and the cat-lovers is clear to see and adds to the pleasant feeling this show provides. This is an almost perfect piece of light entertainment that manages to inform and entertain in just the right proportions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joanna Lumley, Cat Woman, 22 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. James Hall (Mallorca) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joanna Lumley: Cat Woman [DVD] (DVD)
Who better to host this very entertaining history of one of the world's most fascinating animals than the remarkable Joanna Lumley. This DVD is a must for all cat lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cat lovers heaven, 31 Dec 2009
This review is from: Joanna Lumley: Cat Woman [DVD] (DVD)
this DVD is wonderful if you like cats, I watched the TV programme earlier this year and decided I just had to have the DVD, it explores every avenue of cats and Joanna Lumleys wonderful personality compliments it well.
If you like cats and want an entertaining DVD this is definately for you, I have watched it many times now and will continue to see it over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fascinating, 7 Oct 2009
This review is from: Joanna Lumley: Cat Woman [DVD] (DVD)
This documentary was absolutely amazing and fascinating. It tells us the history of cats including fascinating stories and folklore and what different cultures and countries think of cats. I haven't enjoyed a documentary this much in a long time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dvd, 10 Dec 2011
This review is from: Joanna Lumley: Cat Woman [DVD] (DVD)
Received my purchase cat woman by Joanna Lummley within a few days exellent service exellent DVD if you love cats you,ll really enjoy this joanna is an exellent narrator, worth a watch and my cat loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joanna Lumleys' Cat Woman, 31 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joanna Lumley: Cat Woman [DVD] (DVD)
Such a beautiful DVD for all big and small cat lovers. Joanna Lumley has a lovely way with her and is a pleasure to watch and listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prrrrrr, 23 Jan 2011
This review is from: Joanna Lumley: Cat Woman [DVD] (DVD)
A fascinating insight into how cats have become part of our every day life. Joanna Lumley is always such a perfect presenter for these documentaries I feel. Highly enjoyable and pleased I bought it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A puuurfect treat!, 10 Sep 2009
By 
Ms. V. Grantham (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joanna Lumley: Cat Woman [DVD] (DVD)
I am finding this mini-series really fascinating and it has even made me want to get kittens just so I can have more cats around the house!

So far I have only watched the first of a two part series on ITV and I guess it won't be for everyone, but if you have any interest in cats or simply like Joanna Lumley then this is for you. She quickly covers huge areas of the globe, a vast array of cat related issues and all the while you find yourself learning more about and appreciating more these beautiful creatures.

So much was covered in fact that I'm not sure how they will make another episode! I really cannot wait to find out!

I will be purchasing the DVD or asking for it for Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CATS & LUMLEY - PURRFECT !, 1 Nov 2013
By 
Carolyn MOULET (FRANCE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joanna Lumley: Cat Woman [DVD] (DVD)
Joanna Lumley has a way with words and is just a natural for this type of documentary. Being a cat lover to have the two together in this sort of documentary was purrfect .... sorry about the pun but this DVD is highly entertaining and well worth watching and having in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joanna Lumley: Cat Woman [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say! As a dedicated cat woman myself, what's not to like about this affectionate study of our feline friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa251c48)

This product

Joanna Lumley: Cat Woman [DVD]
7.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews