Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like watching a new film!
First of, a confession; I'm a Powell and Pressburger nut! Already owning this in standard DVD format - a print that was perfectly fine - I took the plunge and asked for this on Blu-ray as a birthday present, havingwatched an on-line preview of the restoration process. I sat down to watch it and was frankly blown away; I had expected to see some level of improvement, but...
Published on 25 Oct 2010 by D. Parkin

versus
3 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AN ATROCIOUS TRAVESTY
This film is a malevolent work of art. Its "message" is that dedication to art is impractical--and ultimately suicidal.

It is made even worse by the fact that its star player--Moira Shearer--was one of the loftiest and loveliest of artists ever to grace this earth.

I can only conclude that, sensing her noble stature, Powell and Pressburger...
Published 23 months ago by jayeldee


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i find the music literally enchanting., 9 April 2000
By A Customer
from the moment i sat down to watch this movie i was blown away by the quality and beauty of the music! that, along with the dancing is the reason i find this movie the classic that it is. i recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest British film and not just that, 25 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For anyone who would like to see this on the cinema, search on google, say, using the terms: events Pressburger genius. There are about 100 screenings in January and February,2011, alone, the justified acclaim for this masterpiece being huge now, 60 years after the fact! This is a film that bears repeated viewing due to there being so very much here to marvel at all the time, with each character; the marvelous, pointed dialogue; magnificent art design; brilliant acting; humour; ballet; locations, etc, etc, plus the spine-tingling sense of the 'dark fairytale' that is written in to much of Powell and Pressburger's work. Look at the bare bones of the plot, and it is said to be quite simple. I don't know if that's true as I'm am so busy wondering at every detail, every moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars thank you, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thank you for my DVD The Red Shoes
it came on time and in good condition's
It is not as good as i remember but that it my folt not yours
J Rimmer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Rd Shoes, 5 Aug 2009
By 
B. R. Baker (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Red Shoes [DVD] (Special Edition) (DVD)
DVD was in very good condition - very pleased with my purchase. All my transactions with/via Amazon have ben most satisfactory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Film, 26 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Shoes [DVD] (Special Edition) (DVD)
On the DVD box itself, it says that this film is 200 minutes long. It's not. It's 2 hours, 8 minutes. I think ITV-DVD can't count, but there we go.

I watched this film with three friends, one of whom was patently uninterested in ballet. He did, however, ask me 'is all ballet like that?' when we had finished the long dance scene. I told him that some of it was, and he said it wasn't so bad in that case. This proves that you don't have to be a ballet fan to enjoy watching this film!

One thing that did irritate me the whole way through was the voices of the actors - they were so posh, and the Russian guy (Lermontov -sp?) had rather a dubious accent. I guess that's because it was the forties. Certainly Moira Shearer's voice is very 'proper'.

I also found that at points I wasn't entirely sure what was happening, possibly because my friends kept distracting me. I think it is not something to watch with half your brain - you have to dedicate yourself to watching it, or you'll just lose the plot.

But it was very enjoyable anyway, and of course made me want to dance afterwards!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, quite long..!, 5 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Shoes [DVD] (Special Edition) (DVD)
Great film, received it very quickly.. A long film, be prepared for a few breaks :) beautiful visuals, nice story. A classic must see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AN ATROCIOUS TRAVESTY, 11 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Red Shoes [DVD] (Special Edition) (DVD)
This film is a malevolent work of art. Its "message" is that dedication to art is impractical--and ultimately suicidal.

It is made even worse by the fact that its star player--Moira Shearer--was one of the loftiest and loveliest of artists ever to grace this earth.

I can only conclude that, sensing her noble stature, Powell and Pressburger deliberately sought Shearer out, above all other possible candidates, with the aim of amplifying their vicious theme, and at her expense. Anyone who knows the history of the film knows that their pursuit of her was indeed unrelenting, in the face of her persistent refusal; it was quite as though they were desperate to say--"See? Even a creature THIS exalted can be brought to ruin, through art."

If only Miss Shearer had remained steadfast in her refusal.... She regretted her acquiescence for the rest of her life, of course. And the tragic irony? Art DID destroy her (to some extent)--and her career (to a very substantial extent). But it was not her chosen art--the art of the ballet--that did it: it was, rather, the art of cinematography--and specifically, that realm of it infested by the likes of Powell and Pressburger.

(As a postscript: note that, even after THIS travesty, P&P were not satisfied. In the subsequent "TALES OF HOFFMANN"--they chopped her, literally, into pieces. Their hatred of her, and of what she symbolized, must have been intense.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Red Shoes [DVD] (Special Edition)
The Red Shoes [DVD] (Special Edition) by Emeric Pressburger (DVD - 2009)
5.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews