Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm in love with Puccini
Never seen an opera in my life - except perhaps when they have been televised and then generally shouted down by the rest of the family so not exactly an afficianado - BUT this is SO beautiful I defy anyone not to fall in love with it - Kiri Te Kanawa is wonderful and so are many others - you never know I might just get to the opera yet - note to self - add it to the...
Published on 13 Mar 2012 by Wigwam

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A compilation somewhat lacking in originality.
Pleasant enough but hardly inspiring. Do we really need to hear 'Nessun Dorma' ever again? I shall be giving this one to my local charity shop.
Published 14 months ago by B. R. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm in love with Puccini, 13 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: Great Opera Arias (Audio CD)
Never seen an opera in my life - except perhaps when they have been televised and then generally shouted down by the rest of the family so not exactly an afficianado - BUT this is SO beautiful I defy anyone not to fall in love with it - Kiri Te Kanawa is wonderful and so are many others - you never know I might just get to the opera yet - note to self - add it to the bucket list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For all music lovers, 9 Mar 2011
This review is from: Puccini: Great Opera Arias (Audio CD)
I had wanted a La Bohome CD but couldn't find one so was 'directed' to this Puccini CD and it is lovely - now one of my favourites. You don't need to be an opera buff (I'm not) to just enjoy the beautiful music and listen to some of the most brilliant singers in the world. Excellent value and I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 20 Mar 2012
This review is from: Puccini: Great Opera Arias (Audio CD)
This is so beautiful I could play it all day long - I have not seen a Puccini opera (this was a Bday present) but it's now top of my wish-list!Absolutely lovely...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical., 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: Great Opera Arias (Audio CD)
As a lover of rock music I was surprised just how much I love this album. Puccini was a musical genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: Great Opera Arias (Audio CD)
A very comprehensive and enjoyable collection of some of the greatest arias produced by Puccini. Well worth the money.
Excellent product and delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: Great Opera Arias (Audio CD)
Delightful - as it should be. Nice to have them together on one disk. It's true others could have been chosen, it's true that other listeners might have preferred other singers, but with this disk you have many of the true greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Place to Start, 12 April 2014
By 
N. Gosney (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: Great Opera Arias (Audio CD)
Let's face it: opera has a bit of an image problem. OK, many people are vaguely familiar with certain pieces - without necessarily realising they are of operatic origin. But opera is music for posh people; fat ladies singing too loudly; incomprehensible French or Italian lyrics etc etc. Sadly, it took me far too long to realise what I had been missing.
There can be little doubt that Puccini is one of the best - certainly the most 'accessible' - in the field, which makes this an ideal starting point for newcomers to operatic music. Sure, it will still take a bit of familiarisation. But it will be well worth it.
This compilation is not just for novices, however. It's a well-chosen selection of Puccini's best, excellently sung by top artists.
Outstanding value and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: Great Opera Arias (Audio CD)
The cover is a bit off putting but the music isn't - once again a lot of familiar tunes on here, Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: Great Opera Arias (Audio CD)
The c.d arrived quickly and is a delight to listen to . Brilliant for chilling out to when you are "stressed"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: Great Opera Arias (Audio CD)
A great collection of music and a really good introduction to Puccini who I think is one of the greatest composers of all time!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Puccini: Great Opera Arias
Puccini: Great Opera Arias by Placido Domingo... Jose Carreras (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews