Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Glam Rock Comedy Cornucopia!
OK, depending on your point of view on political correctness, knowledge of rock music, sense of humour and probably how fat you are, you will either see this record as a work of genius or a steaming pile of (insert excremental equivalent here)!

To love this you will need an in-depth knowledge of 80s hair metal bands, the sense of humour of a 15 year old...
Published on 25 Jun. 2009 by A. Boylett

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a love album to play to your girlfriend.
OK, so it's not subtle. OK it isn't pushing the boundaries of rock music. But if you have always thought Spinal Tap were under-stated and should have been ruder then this is for you. If you take Steel Panther seriously then I think you need to get out more.

If you are easily offended then tough. If you are sweet and innocent then obviously you won't understand...
Published 19 months ago by DARREN "Big Nose" WALKER


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Glam Rock Comedy Cornucopia!, 25 Jun. 2009
By 
A. Boylett "andyboylett" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feel The Steel (Audio CD)
OK, depending on your point of view on political correctness, knowledge of rock music, sense of humour and probably how fat you are, you will either see this record as a work of genius or a steaming pile of (insert excremental equivalent here)!

To love this you will need an in-depth knowledge of 80s hair metal bands, the sense of humour of a 15 year old schoolboy and think PC should only ever stand for police constable. Thankfully, all of the above still apply to me, so I LOVED this.

You have to admire Steel Panther's ability to mimic some of the great bands of that generation. Part of the fun is listening and picking out which band each song was obviously modelled on...Iron Maiden, Enuff ZNuff, David Lee Roth, Whitesnake, Bon Jovi, Extreme... the "tributes" just keep coming, each one crafted with careful attention to detail, great energy and some fantastic playing.

If you didn't speak english, you could actually be mistaken for thinking that this is one of the best glam metal albums you have ever heard. But if you do speak english, you'll know that this is actually one of the funniest most un-PC records you'll ever hear. To write most of their lyrics, they must have just went to the local school and asked the kids to tell them what they knew about sex!

In truth, the non-stop onslaught of debauchery does get a little repetitive after a while, but when it's done well, like on Asian Hookers or Community property, you can't help but laugh out loud (partly in shock that they were actually allowed to put some of that stuff on a record). I think that the jokes will probably wear thin very quickly though, which is a shame as the music is good enough to Warrant (pun intended) repeated listening.

This is the album that the Darkness didn't have the balls to make. Justin and co managed to keep their tongues in their cheeks, whereas Steel Panther make a point of sticking their tongues firmly between somebody elses!

Makes you wonder what sort of an album they could have made had they taken themselves a little more seriously?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All hail the mighty Panther, 8 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feel The Steel (Audio CD)
Utter genius. The timing of Spinal Tap, attitude of Twisted Sister, riffs of prime-era Motley Crue and the potty mouth turn of phrase straight from Derek and Clive.

There have been other musical parody acts, but none of them could play or write this well. Go back 25 years and they would be up there with the giants of the genre filling arenas and corrupting countless teenage girls in the American Mid-West.

But what really makes all this work is that it is done with such great love for its source material. It would have been easy to make the mick with a sneering sense of superiority, but Steel Panther play it like they mean it. They make no excuses and there is none of the post-modern knowing nudges and winks that just about everyone else would have done. By playing is straight rather than outright laughs and by not making out that once they are off stage the wigs come off and they go home and listen to The Strokes, it all works with total credibility. You just know that Steel Panther genuinely still wish it was 1987 and that they really do still trawl strip clubs and listen to Faster Pussycat. Steel Panther are the band of the year by an absolute mile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a great buy!, 31 Aug. 2009
By 
Kim Rogers (Toronto (Canada)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Feel The Steel (Audio CD)
They're as funny (or more) than Spinal Tap and musically they're much better. The ultimate combo of hot riffs and rip-my-guts-out-laughing lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too good to be just a parody, 7 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feel The Steel (Audio CD)
The band have been around under various monikers for quite some time, and whilst it's fair to say that yes they are taking the mick out of the whole hair metal genre, they are doing it with such panache, their love of the genre shines through.

The quality of songwriting and playing here cannot be faulted, and whilst I'm sure their lyrics will attract criticism from some quarters, they are no worse than some rap acts have been doling out for years, and are a whole lot funnier.

The band are more than capable of playing their material live, including acoustically which they do often at radio stations in the USA, and for a metal band the ability to play well live can make or break them.

I'm sure the band will go down a storm worldwide, and become the band that they think they've already been(see their 'Behind The Music' segment to see what I'm on about!)

My only criticism of this release, is that there is enough video footage of the band out there already to have put this out with a bonus DVD, but maybe that will come in the universe tour edition!

Up until now, Bad News have been my favourite of the metal parodies, but Steel Panther have left them in the distance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Steel Panther, the fine line between insanity and genius., 13 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Feel The Steel (Audio CD)
I had no idea what to expect when I stuck this album on for the first time, with some trepidation I might add, but I was blown away. Possibly one of the most hilarious albums you are ever likely to hear from tracks like "Fat Girl(Thar She Blows)" to, a personal favourite, "Turn out the lights".

Probably the most misogynistic band you'll ever hear as well, as most of the tracks focus around their various sexual exploits with women. At the end of the day they really have to be taken with a massive truckload of salt and with your tongue firmly embedded in your cheek. Part tribute, part pastiche, all METAL is the best way to sum them up, but don't be under the assumption that they're not very good, far from it, they are fantastic musicians in their own right.

I had the pleasure of seeing them live last month and it was utterly brilliant, to reinforce my above point, the lead guitarist burst into a 10 minute solo of epic proportions that, rightly so, received huge cheers and rounds of applause from the audience.

So I can't recommend it enough, however if I really had to pick faults then I'd say the last track on the album is pretty poor compared to what's come before it, and repeated listenings can lessen the impact of the songs. Still don't let those minor quibbles turn you off, if you're a fan of the hair metal era then I'm sure you'll love it, if you're an upstanding 21st century woman....you'll probably hate it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked, 4 Oct. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
GET THIS!!! GET THIS!!! GET THIS!!!

You're parents/partner will love it
Put it in the car full volume and give your neighbours a listen and they will love it too.

You wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its Marmite Rock......, 10 Aug. 2009
By 
A. Grainger "Zipper Man" (Plymouth UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This will divide opinion. Either you'll love it for the purile lyrics and absolutely fantastic playing/excellently crafted songs or you'll just not appreciate the joke. I guess it depends on your opinion of bands like Motley Crue, Poison, Ratt, Bon Jovi, Warrant, Extreme etc. For my part I was lucky enough to see them in their "Metal Shop" incarnation and as a live cover band it was possibly the best night of a holiday to Las Vegas (that's high praise indeed). Consistently funny between song banter amongst themselves and with the audience - playing the dumb metal card but on record they don't get the chance to share that. Certainly an excellent set of tunes in my opinion but will the lyrics detract from the band's longevity. Sadly I suspect it will because musically the band is good enough to make its mark.

A band you should definately not miss live, if you get the chance. As for the album, I'm not so sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy Hair Metal At Its Best!, 6 Jun. 2009
By 
V. Mawhinney (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feel The Steel (Audio CD)
I first heard of steel panther last year when they appeared on Kat Von D's Show LA Ink. It was love at first sight!
The spandex and big hair - all an 80's fan girl could want!
Then I heard the music - catchy and very amusing lyrics. Excellent guitar rifts and solos!

This is a must for all metal fans! watch out spinal tap!

DEATH TO ALL BUT METAL!!!!!!!!! \m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hair scare, 22 Oct. 2011
I can't believe nobody's reviewed this. Where Spinal Tap were actors in a make believe band Steel Panther are a very good band trying to be actors. Each member has taken on a persona consisting of numerous 80s hair metal heroes, replaced innuendo in the lyrics with just coming straight out & saying it & producing marvelous tunes in the process. They are ignorant, sexist, chauvinist & it's as if the last 30 years never happened. If you take it seriously you will be mighty offended but if you take it at it's intended tongue in cheek then it's themselves they're really making fun of.

If you ever liked Poison, Crue, Van Halen, Whitesnake, Bon Jovi & so on then you should hear this because it's musically as good (& borrows a little here & there). Just be careful if you're the sort of person who sings along to choruses in public as you might find yourself in a spot of trouble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As hard as Steel, 15 Oct. 2010
By 
Mr. A. Mcgrath "Of Chaos" (Eldwick UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feel The Steel (Audio CD)
This album Rocks.

I bought this album after a friend recommended it to me as he said it was funny. It isn't funny, It is seriously funny and also brilliant music at the same time.

From "Death to all but Metal" up to "Hells on Fire" you will be amazed at the level of talent of this band. You will laugh aloud at the lyrics and also be surprised at the skill that must go into each of the songs.

The subjects and lyrics of this album are, very rude and close to the bone but as its done in such a clever way, this doesn't feel cheap.

All in all I love this album and now after seeing their amazing live show at Download 2010 I love this band.

I highly recommend to any fans of 80's metal, anyone into rock and anyone who appreciates good music, as well as good humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Feel The Steel
Feel The Steel by Steel Panther (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews