Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Glam Rock Comedy Cornucopia!
OK, depending on your point of view on political correctness, knowledge of rock music, sense of humour and probably how fat you are, you will either see this record as a work of genius or a steaming pile of (insert excremental equivalent here)!

To love this you will need an in-depth knowledge of 80s hair metal bands, the sense of humour of a 15 year old...
Published on 25 Jun 2009 by A. Boylett

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a love album to play to your girlfriend.
OK, so it's not subtle. OK it isn't pushing the boundaries of rock music. But if you have always thought Spinal Tap were under-stated and should have been ruder then this is for you. If you take Steel Panther seriously then I think you need to get out more.

If you are easily offended then tough. If you are sweet and innocent then obviously you won't understand...
Published 11 months ago by DARREN "Big Nose" WALKER


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Glam Rock Comedy Cornucopia!, 25 Jun 2009
By 
A. Boylett "andyboylett" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feel The Steel (Audio CD)
OK, depending on your point of view on political correctness, knowledge of rock music, sense of humour and probably how fat you are, you will either see this record as a work of genius or a steaming pile of (insert excremental equivalent here)!

To love this you will need an in-depth knowledge of 80s hair metal bands, the sense of humour of a 15 year old schoolboy and think PC should only ever stand for police constable. Thankfully, all of the above still apply to me, so I LOVED this.

You have to admire Steel Panther's ability to mimic some of the great bands of that generation. Part of the fun is listening and picking out which band each song was obviously modelled on...Iron Maiden, Enuff ZNuff, David Lee Roth, Whitesnake, Bon Jovi, Extreme... the "tributes" just keep coming, each one crafted with careful attention to detail, great energy and some fantastic playing.

If you didn't speak english, you could actually be mistaken for thinking that this is one of the best glam metal albums you have ever heard. But if you do speak english, you'll know that this is actually one of the funniest most un-PC records you'll ever hear. To write most of their lyrics, they must have just went to the local school and asked the kids to tell them what they knew about sex!

In truth, the non-stop onslaught of debauchery does get a little repetitive after a while, but when it's done well, like on Asian Hookers or Community property, you can't help but laugh out loud (partly in shock that they were actually allowed to put some of that stuff on a record). I think that the jokes will probably wear thin very quickly though, which is a shame as the music is good enough to Warrant (pun intended) repeated listening.

This is the album that the Darkness didn't have the balls to make. Justin and co managed to keep their tongues in their cheeks, whereas Steel Panther make a point of sticking their tongues firmly between somebody elses!

Makes you wonder what sort of an album they could have made had they taken themselves a little more seriously?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All hail the mighty Panther, 8 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feel The Steel (Audio CD)
Utter genius. The timing of Spinal Tap, attitude of Twisted Sister, riffs of prime-era Motley Crue and the potty mouth turn of phrase straight from Derek and Clive.

There have been other musical parody acts, but none of them could play or write this well. Go back 25 years and they would be up there with the giants of the genre filling arenas and corrupting countless teenage girls in the American Mid-West.

But what really makes all this work is that it is done with such great love for its source material. It would have been easy to make the mick with a sneering sense of superiority, but Steel Panther play it like they mean it. They make no excuses and there is none of the post-modern knowing nudges and winks that just about everyone else would have done. By playing is straight rather than outright laughs and by not making out that once they are off stage the wigs come off and they go home and listen to The Strokes, it all works with total credibility. You just know that Steel Panther genuinely still wish it was 1987 and that they really do still trawl strip clubs and listen to Faster Pussycat. Steel Panther are the band of the year by an absolute mile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a great buy!, 31 Aug 2009
By 
Kim Rogers (Toronto (Canada)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Feel The Steel (Audio CD)
They're as funny (or more) than Spinal Tap and musically they're much better. The ultimate combo of hot riffs and rip-my-guts-out-laughing lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They are what's been missing!, 5 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feel The Steel (Audio CD)
Put Guns N' Roses, Def Leppard, Iron Maiden, Motley Crue into a blender and add a splash of The Darkness, and these guys are what you get!

Some might see them as an o.t.t. cover band or just sending up the genre, but make no mistake; Steel Panther are a group of seriously talented singer/song writers and musicians in their own right. Their live performances also, are slick, very well choreographed and professional.

Ok, 99.9% of their lyrics are maybe not for anyone even slightly shy and retiring, but those are not lyrics tinged with any anger or hate or any other negative mood intended to inspire that type of feeling; they are funny and very intelligently written.

If you like any or all of the bands mentioned above, there is no doubt you will instantly take to Steel Panther!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too good to be just a parody, 7 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feel The Steel (Audio CD)
The band have been around under various monikers for quite some time, and whilst it's fair to say that yes they are taking the mick out of the whole hair metal genre, they are doing it with such panache, their love of the genre shines through.

The quality of songwriting and playing here cannot be faulted, and whilst I'm sure their lyrics will attract criticism from some quarters, they are no worse than some rap acts have been doling out for years, and are a whole lot funnier.

The band are more than capable of playing their material live, including acoustically which they do often at radio stations in the USA, and for a metal band the ability to play well live can make or break them.

I'm sure the band will go down a storm worldwide, and become the band that they think they've already been(see their 'Behind The Music' segment to see what I'm on about!)

My only criticism of this release, is that there is enough video footage of the band out there already to have put this out with a bonus DVD, but maybe that will come in the universe tour edition!

Up until now, Bad News have been my favourite of the metal parodies, but Steel Panther have left them in the distance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked, 4 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
GET THIS!!! GET THIS!!! GET THIS!!!

You're parents/partner will love it
Put it in the car full volume and give your neighbours a listen and they will love it too.

You wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its Marmite Rock......, 10 Aug 2009
By 
A. Grainger "Zipper Man" (Plymouth UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This will divide opinion. Either you'll love it for the purile lyrics and absolutely fantastic playing/excellently crafted songs or you'll just not appreciate the joke. I guess it depends on your opinion of bands like Motley Crue, Poison, Ratt, Bon Jovi, Warrant, Extreme etc. For my part I was lucky enough to see them in their "Metal Shop" incarnation and as a live cover band it was possibly the best night of a holiday to Las Vegas (that's high praise indeed). Consistently funny between song banter amongst themselves and with the audience - playing the dumb metal card but on record they don't get the chance to share that. Certainly an excellent set of tunes in my opinion but will the lyrics detract from the band's longevity. Sadly I suspect it will because musically the band is good enough to make its mark.

A band you should definately not miss live, if you get the chance. As for the album, I'm not so sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy Hair Metal At Its Best!, 6 Jun 2009
By 
V. Mawhinney (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feel The Steel (Audio CD)
I first heard of steel panther last year when they appeared on Kat Von D's Show LA Ink. It was love at first sight!
The spandex and big hair - all an 80's fan girl could want!
Then I heard the music - catchy and very amusing lyrics. Excellent guitar rifts and solos!

This is a must for all metal fans! watch out spinal tap!

DEATH TO ALL BUT METAL!!!!!!!!! \m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ouch!!, 22 Jun 2012
By 
nm1270 (Tonypandy,Mid Glamorgan, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feel The Steel (Audio CD)
For those of us who remember and loathed all those awful 'Glam Metal' bands of the 1980's such as Poison, Motley Crue, White Lion, Glass Tiger etc, etc, then Steel Panther are a real treat. They back-comb their hair, are spandex clad and with names like Michael Starr, Lexxi Foxxx, Stix Zadinia could have been part of the LA rock scene in 1987..
Their rude 'n' crude, tongue in cheek music is much more enjoyable and better than any of those bands, these songs are about girls, life on the road in a band, more girls and downing shots of tequila, sounds familiar?
Joe Elliot, Brett Michaels, Nikki Sixx and their aging chums must be squirming with embarrassment.
Listen a little closer into these songs though and you will realise that Steel Panther, joking aside are good musicians. 'Satchels' guitar playing particularly on 'Asian Hooker' is great, and drummer Stix (geddit?) Zadinia is LOUD.
Whitesnake's 'Here I Go Again' is the target on 'Fat Girl' (Thar She Blows!) and 'Party All Day' (F*** All Night) unashamedly has Bon Jovi written all over it, complete with Richie Sambora style talk box!
Steel Panther are to be commended for exposing the shallow and cliched 'hair metal' music of the late 80's in such an entertaining manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly great metal, parodic or not., 25 Jun 2009
By 
J. Morris "jasonmorris12" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feel The Steel (Audio CD)
Steel Panther is a band that wants it's cake and to eat it (or is that pie...), mercilessly lampooning the excesses of 80s LA metal, while being a superior LA metal band themselves. For the most part, this works exceptionally well; the level of detail is staggering. They are, musically, more on a par with the better hair metal bands (Winger, Dokken), and are certainly a better band than the likes of Poison or Motley Crue. Guitarist Satchel, aka Russ Parrish, is a Mark Varney approved, Paul Gilbert protege, who cut his teeth with Rob Halford; a seriously top notch player.

However, things are not all fine and dandy, there's a couple of points on the album where the parody element weakens the music; Fat Girl, Party All Day & Girl From Oklahoma aim their sights at specific songs
and resultingly, come across as a heavy metal Barron Knights; fine if they were just a mere parody band, but as they have so much musicianship, they are closer to the "humorous but quality music" of the likes of Zappa & Bumblefoot than mere "comedy music", a la Weird Al Yankovich. Also, the gags around a certain couple of (ahem, rather rude) subjects, get a bit too repetetive, to be honest.

One of the areas where the band truly shines is the ballads, Michael Starr has the voice to carry off an uncannily aithentic 80's metal ballad, replete with lashings of mock sincerity, but the lyrics... ...oh, the lyrics. It reminds me of some of Zappa's classic moments where the immense soul voices of Napoleon Murphy Brock & Ike Willis were used to sing smuttliy sarcastic lyrics, utterly betraying the percieved "emotion" of the voice. As I'd mentioned earlier, Satchel is simply a top of the pile guitar player, the solos (and razor tight rhythm playing) are superb, parody band or not, a George Lynch influence to the fore.

In an previous review, I said I don't give away 5-star reviews, and in this case, I'd concur that the 5th star is out of Steel Panther's grasp, but the 4 stars I've deemed it worthy of are well earned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Feel The Steel
Feel The Steel by Steel Panther (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews