Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real music by that bloke who sung about cars
lost under the stickly sweet nastiness of the mid eighties Numan created one of his finest albums, musically and lyrically from the title song to the last Numan dishes up another paranoid and weary review of the world, the man is amazing, the album magnificent, buy it.
Published on 19 July 2001 by findlay@afindlay49.fsnet.co.uk

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars It was LINN DRUMS Pink! LINN DRUMS! not SYN-DRUMS
LINN DRUMS,1979, 1982, 1984, the years they appeared in revised versions, designed by Roger Linn, a machine, with a computer inside a large box, with buttons led and sliders for panning etc.
It can record 12 drums at a time, in real time or step record, it has a quantizer (for shifting notes) and a sequencer to keep timing, swing function, these drum sounds are...
Published 9 days ago by Leon and Susan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real music by that bloke who sung about cars, 19 July 2001
This review is from: Berserker (Audio CD)
lost under the stickly sweet nastiness of the mid eighties Numan created one of his finest albums, musically and lyrically from the title song to the last Numan dishes up another paranoid and weary review of the world, the man is amazing, the album magnificent, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Numan Gets The Blues, 8 Feb 2012
By 
Pink (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Berserker (Audio CD)
Blue hair? Check.

White face? Check.

White clothes? Check.

Hell, this must be Berserker.

Excellent album by the way. Opinion is divided, and many fans agree that the rot had set in by now, but I think that came a little later. However I would say that this was Gary Numan's last great album for a decade.

It would be the final time that the full live band would appear on a studio recording. It was also the first album to feature the PPG Wave sampler/sequencer, which lends a cold hard edge to the music, but at this point Numan was using it to add layers of colour to the organic bass, drums, guitars and synths, rather than composing specifically for it as he did on later albums. But it does steer the overall sound well away from the jazz-funk styling of previous album `Warriors'.

Aside from the rather uninspiring title-track, `Berserker' is brimming with unusual songs and inventive sounds, with `This Is New Love', `The Secret' and the rocky `The Hunter' being among my favourite Numan songs from the era. This album also features the shimmering `My Dying Machine' complete with crashing syn-drums and the brilliant `The God Film' with its stunning bass-solo at the end. And the claustrophobic `Cold Warning' even sees the return of Chris Payne's viola for added interest.

And nearly three decades after queuing up in the Oxford Street HMV for a signed copy on its release day in 1984, I still revisit and enjoy `Berserker' once or twice a year, which I guess must count for something.

So perhaps not the best place to start, but if you're investigating Numan's back-catalogue I would certainly recommend this as one of the great ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational stuff, 11 Dec 2004
This review is from: Berserker (Audio CD)
I was inspired to search for "Berserker" after reading a review of Dada Pogrom's album "Apocalypso". Although the two artists are similar in their genre, it is really clear how Gary Numan has inspired and paved the way for contemporary artists, such as Dada Pogrom. "Cars" was a classic, but "Berserker" has the emotional landscape synonymous with nu dark wave, which I happen to like a lot. This is now on my list of "must haves".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Berserker = Great, 15 May 2004
This review is from: Berserker (Audio CD)
This CD is an all-time favorite of mine. It has a very 80's sound, but stands above most of the other material from that era in its continuity. from beginning to end, there's not a dull moment on "Berserker" - Well, "Pump it Up" isn't all that great now that I think about it... Strong songs are "Child With A Ghost," "The Secret," "Cold Warning," "My Dying Machine" and "The God Film".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One man music industry, 11 Jun 2007
This review is from: Berserker (Audio CD)
Controversial cottage industry P.K. Dick fan maverick with aspergers sidelined by radio stations up and down the country who got up Bowie's nose in the biggest way, what more do you need? Listen and bleed with him.

Berserker is notable for the heavy slap bass sound he used so well with ace Welsh fretless bassist Pino Palladino on stage. Like Ron Mael highly subversive and brilliant odd-ball lyricist whose Numanoid fan base is devoted beyond belief. Numan will never appeal to the masses, but if you like wearing black nothing but Numan will do, and he keeps on going, just fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High energy Numan, 22 April 2007
By 
S. Morris (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berserker (Audio CD)
Gary Numan - Berserker Review

Once again Mr Numan surprises me with yet again a new sound. My first

listen of this album made me think two things; 1-Man! this was a

hi-energy release for the most part and 2-Boy! this sounds soooo 80`s.

The latter point was the one that initially troubled me. My

first though was that Numan was now being reactionary with his music

instead of pioneering. In other words, I thought that he had succumbed to

the commercial market to a much greater extent than anything he'd done

before. Upon my second listen to the album I completely changed this

feeling of Numan perhaps selling-out to Wow! this stuff is really good.

And so what if it sounds soooo 80's - it was released in 1984, so was

"of it's time".

Numan has obviously been influenced by the "sound" that was selling well

at the time, but put his own unique lyrical style into the mix. What

amazes me is that I was in my late-teens at the time of this albums

release and I had never heard of it. If I had heard some of the tracks off

"Berserker" then I would've raved as this effort from Numan really

deserves credit. There are a clutch of tracks on "Berserker" which in my

opinion would've made excellent 80's pop singles.

Listen to "My Secret" and if you're an 80's person you might recognize

the very Heaven 17 style male vocals during the chorus of this track for

example.

Even though "Berserker" sound-wise is very much planted in the 80's, it

still stands as an excellent effort from Numan with a very hi-energy

feel which may get many of you oldies out there dancing! That's not to

say that "Berserker" is one-dimensional. No, there's real depth with

tracks like "Empty Bed Empty Heart", "She Cries" and the touching "Child

With The Ghost".

Other great tracks include the excellent "My Dying Machine", the

wonderfully catchy "Pump It Up" and oh, check out the fantastic violins

on "Cold Warning".

Buy it and boogie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crazy dangerous Powerhouse, 30 April 2010
This review is from: Berserker (Audio CD)
This is not a normal album. It is breaking down any kind of boundaries. Such powerfull sound, so many killer-riffs: Berserker; The hunter. And so beautifull "ballads": Here am I, The child with the ghost. This one is on the same level with Replicas. It sounds icy at first and it will sound icy at last, but in the time between: You're in sheer magic. You're just blown away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great album - but remastering isn't incredible/or bonuses, 29 Aug 2008
By 
M. B. Wilson "crushtrash" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Berserker (Audio CD)
When this album first appeared I started with cassette edition (which had the extended mixes) but when that stretched invested in the standard album. Eventually Numa re-issued the extended version on CD, but no remastering. However some of these tracks work better in their 12" form (maybe MDM is a little too long, but Cold Warning and The Hunter benefit from the extra space), so it was great to have.

Then there's this 1999 Remaster, as part of the series from Eagle at the time. Overall this is the original lp version (from masters ofcourse) so some tracks are quite short, including MDM. Does it remaster well, hmm, not really.....some of the bonus tracks sound really crisp here, maybe as they were sparser to start with, but God Film and Pump Me Up still sound remarkably murky in places. The remasterer also didn't succeed in correcting the stereo tracking problem in the break in Cold Warning, which is a slight surprise. I still love this album, but the improvements on the original CD issue are not as great as you might think, and some of the bonus tracks are much louder than the album (so you have to reach for the volume control on a couple). However it's still a fierce percussive journey, and well worth the entrance fee!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated album, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berserker (MP3 Download)
The last of Gary Numan's great 1980s albums, in my opinion. Really powerful, atmospheric songs, oozing with style and a pounding energy. A perfect synthesis of everything he had been doing over the previous years, both in his electro and funk eras. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A return to form..., 18 Feb 2011
This review is from: Berserker (Audio CD)
...albeit temporarily. After the pretty rubbish "Warriors" this was a huge improvement with some genuinely excellent tunes, lots of atmosphere and a much needed harder edge. It's not perfect though, the use of female backing voclas and sax music is still in evidence, though to a far less detrimental effect than on Warriors. A major criticism I have is that I think Numan drags alot of the songs out too much, many tracks begin to outstay their welcome and would have greatly benefitted from being slightly shorter. There's certainly more variety here though, with tracks like A Child With The Ghost, Cold Warning and The Hunter displaying plenty of imagination. The title track was one of his best for ages and there are some excellent extra tracks on here, especially Here I Am and She Cries (which sounds like a leftover from his "Dance" album.)I've also noticed that Numan's antipathy towards God begins to show itself on this album - this is a theme that would increase with the years to the point where his most recent albums seem to be about nothing else. Anyway, Berserker is overall a pretty good album and one of Numan's best of the 80's. A shame he couldn't maintain this form as there were some real low points to come...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Berserker
Berserker by Gary Numan
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews