Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A welcome addition
It's really nice to have some more Bowie material to listen to now that I guess he's retired for good. This is a lovely little package consisting of a CD/DVD from a 1999 concert at the Manhattan Center, New York to promote (at the time) his 'Hours' album. Overall, between the CD/DVD apart from a handful of 'Hours' tracks and a few obvious classics, there's also a few nice...
Published on 23 May 2009 by Richard

versus
17 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a let down audio wise.
As a massive bowie fan i have seen this already when it was shown on tv what seems like ages ago and so i was delighted to hear it was going to be released in this really lovely cd/dvd package.
It's always wonderful to see and hear david perform as after seeing him many times i get the the feeling i may not witness him live again.
So that's one reason i bought...
Published on 8 July 2009 by The Lost Golfer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A welcome addition, 23 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VH1 Storytellers (Audio CD)
It's really nice to have some more Bowie material to listen to now that I guess he's retired for good. This is a lovely little package consisting of a CD/DVD from a 1999 concert at the Manhattan Center, New York to promote (at the time) his 'Hours' album. Overall, between the CD/DVD apart from a handful of 'Hours' tracks and a few obvious classics, there's also a few nice quirks on this which are: 'Can't Help Thinking About Me', 'Drive In Saturday', 'Word On A Wing', 'I Can't Read' and 'Always Crashing In The Same Car'. One to add to the Bowie collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great release, 7 Jun 2009
By 
K. Alexander "bob" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: VH1 Storytellers (Audio CD)
This is a complete joy to watch from start to finish, Bowie is on form and very relaxed.The songs are fantastic but what makes this different from other live releases is the fact that Bowie tells a lot of funny stories worth buying for that alone.Buy it you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Add-on to any Bowie Collection, 22 Aug 2009
This review is from: VH1 Storytellers (Audio CD)
Very nice life performence by David Bowie in 1999. It is an CD and DVD with the same material (the DVD has some bonus-material as well).
The SOUND is very good (the DVD has also 5.1 Sound DOLBY or DTS as well as Stereo).
The quality of the sound is pretty good and definitely not comparible to MP3 quality (as sugested by an other reviewer).
Some of the stories are funny, others just interesting.
The songs are very nice and well preformed.
Especialy the preformance of "China Girl" is very nice and an welcome variation of the original.
I have the CD in the car-stereo for some time now, and it is a joy to listion to the show over and over again.
Recomended to fans of David Bowie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DB IS A SINGER/WRITER AND ENTERTAINER., 29 Jan 2010
By 
P. Clack "pete" (WITNEY, OXFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: VH1 Storytellers (Audio CD)
Storytellers is such a great idea,share some of your songs and between tell stories about your career and about the songs.When it comes to this type of idea and with a live audience David Bowie is in his element,he's witty,he's clearly enjoying the experience and one of the most talented and enjoyable performers ever in rock music.The band are superb throughout,good selection of songs with the bonus extra of three more on the DVD.But the stories are what makes this CD/DVD set so great.In Berlin with Iggy Pop,or in UK with Marc Bolan,and the northern town on the Ziggy Stardust tour and his need for a toilet(nothing crude just plain funny).This is David Bowie singing his songs,telling some wonderful stories giving his audience a very special time.This was recorded around the time of the 'Hours' album coming out and the version of 'Thursdays Child' is just stunning,as are all the songs.The concept of Storytellers is brilliant and I've others including Bruce Springsteen and Counting Crows,and every one of them is catching artists relating and contacting with their audience in a way you couldn't do it on major tours.This is a great DB release and is totally recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bowie the storyteller, 26 Nov 2010
By 
M. Lansdowne (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VH1 Storytellers (Audio CD)
Bowie's definately a storyteller. We never know when to believe him, do we, fans? :) I'm waiting for the man to release the 1980 Floor Show. In the meantime this is good enough to keep us sweet. It's just great to watch a real performer doing it with such ease. I read some reviews before buying. One of them kept popping into my head, uninvited, as I watched the DVD the first time. I just kept wondering what was wrong with the sound. Nothing really. This is one of the better Bowie DVDs on sale at the moment. There are some to avoid. Always check the reviews, folks :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!!!, 10 July 2010
This review is from: VH1 Storytellers (Audio CD)
Just bought this CD/DVD... I listened to the CD and then watched the DVD (they're exactly the same but obviously the DVD is much better because you can see David Bowie - the DVD also has 4 additional tracks that the CD doesn't have). I stayed glued in front of the TV for the whole performance! Not only are most of the songs classics you don't hear much these days (like Can't Help Thinking About Me) but David Bowie also entertains the audience with recollections from the past. It's an absolute joy to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bowie in your living room, 11 May 2010
By 
P. Tetteroo (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: VH1 Storytellers (Audio CD)
This album makes clear what a nice and funny guy David Bowie is besides a great artist and if you didn't have respect for him yet you will have after watching this dvd. The atmosphere is amazingly relaxing and has such a living room feeling that it's like Bowie is a good friend visiting you, telling some stories and playing some songs of his giant oeuvre. Since this was recorded just before the release of 'Hours...' there are also some tracks of this album played and they sound beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 stars???????????????????????, 11 Aug 2009
This review is from: VH1 Storytellers (Audio CD)
How anyone can give this fantastic c.d. and d.v.d.2 stars is absolutely beyond me...Yes a thousand, thousand stars would be a start..
The reviewer who says the sound is not great entirely misses the point and has really infuriated me.
If this was beamed to us on a piece of string from Mars and we had to amplify it through a million tin cans to even barely hear it , it would be worth selling your soul for.Great stories told with wit and an easy charm by a fabulous artist, many other so called "stars" would struggle to relate to their audience this way and many would probably remain too aloof to do so in their fragile ivory towers.
Im fed up and sick of people Bowie bashing because it has become cool to do so when he has been such an influential,enduring,modern icon.
It`s o.k I feel better now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bowie at his natural best, 16 Aug 2009
By 
L. Freeman (Lancashire, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VH1 Storytellers (Audio CD)
I have been a fan for 40 years. I love this DVD, D.B. is a gentleman and has aged gracefully. Still at the top of the game. Singing better than ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bowie raw and live, 12 Jan 2014
This review is from: VH1 Storytellers (Audio CD)
This is an absolute must for any bowie fan . Mentions of great musicians , now passed on . This makes you laugh and think of how good a time in the musical industry Bowie must have had . This will end up being one of my own classic collection albumns . Fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

VH1 Storytellers
VH1 Storytellers by David Bowie (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews