Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still relevant, 13 Aug 2009
This review is from: Stay Hungry [Us Import] (Audio CD)
Stay Hungry is a landmark album for Twisted Sister and possibly for metal generally. The band knew they had a monster on their hands before the release, but could not have predicted the positive effect that `those' MTV videos would have on the album's sales, the band's extreme profile and music videos generally. This was ground breaking stuff and aped almost immediately by other groups of that era.

And so to the music. First off, there are the two well known anthems of `I Wanna Rock' and `We're Not Going To Take It', both of which seemed pretty anti establishment at the time. Time has worn away the shock value, but the songs remain entertaining to this day - rowdy, bouncy and catchy. By contrast Captain Howdy and Burn In Hell are great dark horror movie style classics, the former bolstered by an urgent riff, whilst the latter speeds along on Pero's driving drumming, muted in power somewhat by the production style. The title track is a homage to Arnie and the film of the same name - it's a frenetic opener but loses some clout due to the aforementioned production style.

The overall production is now the stuff of infamy. But to my mind the straight forward, almost poppy, sound is a marked improvement over the garage grunge of the Epps produced predecessor, You Can't Stop Rock and Roll, which sounds lazy and sloppy in comparison. In hindsight they could have gone heavier (which they later did on the reworked Still Hungry) but it's arguable that part of the cds success is down to the accessibility afforded by the 80s pop production sound.

Of the rest, The Price is impassioned and a surprisingly emotional ballad, whilst closers The Beast and SMF are crunching, fist thumping, live favourites - not at all as commercial as the singles, but they do give the album the variety and heaviness that steers it convincingly away from being Alice Copper cloned bubble gum rock (a direction that Twisted Sister can lean towards on occasions - notably on Love is for Suckers).

Still Hungry or Stay Hungry? Not sure. Nostalgia will lead you to the latter - after all, you can't rewrite history. Purists will lead you to the heavier Still Hungry (with the bonus of the extra tracks). Personally I'd buy both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twisted Sister., 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stay Hungry [Us Import] (Audio CD)
Great CD. Bought it 'cos although I have the cassette, I have a CD player in the car. Many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stay Hungry, 30 July 2013
By 
This review is from: Stay Hungry [Us Import] (Audio CD)
Saw them live at Hellfest 2013. Totally did not expect the rampant tornado of pure energy that turned up and smashed me out of the park. Bought this so I can go through the whole thing all over again and again and again and again. Bang. Pure power thrust extravaganza!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Real men don't moisturise they were lipstick!, 3 April 2014
This review is from: Stay Hungry [Us Import] (Audio CD)
Having just finished dee sniders autobiography I came to this conclusion,he's a bigger bell end than I originally gave him credit for but fairs fair this was a cracking record all twisteds best stuff is on it and yes under the blade stands alone as a cracking debut ,this is what is was all about ,shame it all went to dees head cos I think they could've gone down the same route as wasp and maiden and grew up a bit but instead it all went a bit bay city roller ish in the end for the original SMfs shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Be Careful, 25 Jan 2012
This review is from: Stay Hungry [Us Import] (Audio CD)
Great CD, great music ,one problem, my computer couldn't play it clearly, CD player was fine, xbox, DVD player all worked fine. Same has happened to all CD's I have tried from WMG so if your computer plays anything else of theirs you will be fine otherwise just ensure you are only buying it to play in the car/ on a CD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WE'RE NOT GONNA TAKE IT ANYMORE!!!!!!!, 29 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Stay Hungry [Us Import] (Audio CD)
One night i was watching a documentary on heavy metal on VH1(which was awesome) and the song We're Not Gonna Take It came on and i loved it it was a good rebellion song. So i decided to download the album and the rest of it was awesome aswell. The vocals are indeed excellent the guitar riffs and solos are awesome and they have great lyrics so yes it's a brilliant album. I've always heard Twisted Sister mentioned some where i never really took much notice of them but they are really good 80s metal band. Best songs are We're Not Gonna Take It & Burn In Hell. Excellent album if you wanna buy something in early 80s metal buy this it's brilliant. Good old classic Metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Defining moment from the bad boys of rock n' roll, 16 May 2003
This review is from: Stay Hungry [Us Import] (Audio CD)
This album is widely regarded as the pinnacle of Twisted Sisters career as a band. The third of five genuine releases is has better production than earlier releases but manages to retain a gritty feel and avoid the commercial sound that later releases were slated for. There can be no doubt that 'We're Not Gonna Take It' and 'I Wanna Rock' were the anthems of the 80's metal nation, and tunes like the title track don't age - simply superb. If you're a SMF then this is one for you! If you want to know what SMF stands for you'd better ask around as I can't print it here! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eighties rock, 12 Nov 2002
This review is from: Stay Hungry [Us Import] (Audio CD)
I first listened to this album when I was 10 years old. It was a good way to annoy the neighbours and it still has the same qualities. Good old fashioned permed haired rockers. Mr Schneider doesn't have the voice of an angel but he has the perfect voice for good loud rock. I wanna rock is a great track and Burn in hell is a great head banging tune. But the best and probably most remembered track is We're not gonna take it. An eighties classic. If you never listened to rock back in the eighties then now is the time to start. If you did then time to remember. Good old fashioned heavy metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stay Hungry, 5 Dec 2002
This review is from: Stay Hungry [Us Import] (Audio CD)
An excellent album from the purveyors of in your face rock 'n roll. From the title track, dedicated to Arnold Schwarzenegger, to the sing-a-long tunes of "We're not gonna take it", "I wanna rock" and "SMF", to the statement/story of "Horror-Teria".
Full of riffs and simple songs - but hey whats rock music supposed to be like?
Well worth investing your hard earned pounds in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stay Hungry (Bonus CD)
Stay Hungry (Bonus CD) by Twisted Sister (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews