Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is your death
After a young man kills himself, the inhabitants of a small, God fearing American town start killing themselves one by one. Suspicion falls on the son of a woman who was widely regarded by the townspeople as a witch. She died in mysterious circumstances a while ago. Lindsay(Elizabeth Rice), tries to keep the peace, but it soon becomes apparent that history is going to...
Published on 8 Oct 2009 by Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull
I found this very slow and boring, and was not sure who this film was aimed at. The pacing was too slow and, although the body count is quite high, it was just not scary and there was very little tension.
Published on 5 Oct 2011 by John


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is your death, 8 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Within [DVD] (DVD)
After a young man kills himself, the inhabitants of a small, God fearing American town start killing themselves one by one. Suspicion falls on the son of a woman who was widely regarded by the townspeople as a witch. She died in mysterious circumstances a while ago. Lindsay(Elizabeth Rice), tries to keep the peace, but it soon becomes apparent that history is going to repeat itself in Grovetown.
Its a real slow burner this one. No explosions, big scares or gratuitous violence to be found. Instead, we get a sombre, character driven story, where the line between good and evil is very thin, and characters motivations are blurred, either through fear or ignorance. I think that the actors all did an excellent job, and the direction was assured.
An enjoyable film, with excellent acting, characterisation and a pretty good story to tell. 4 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong, scary, smart thriller, 4 Aug 2009
This review is from: From Within [DVD] (DVD)
If you judge From Within against most of the low budget indie horror films out there, it stands way above them. It looks really good and it's a lot smarter than the young cast would suggest although I'm sure fans of Twilight won't be disappointed - Rumer Willis (spawn of Bruce and Demi), Thomas Dekker (John Connor from the Sarah Connor Chronicles and Heroes), that guy out of Prom Night etc.

From Within is about a `suicide curse' moving through the kind of small American town you can imagine exists outside the safety of our tourist trips to Disney Land or Sea World...everyone goes to a church where the preacher is more of a used car salesman than a spiritual adviser and they're total hypocrites. What's really clever about it is that it doesn't set up a battle of `good' versus `evil' because the line between the two is blurred and I think that's the point.

The story is really clever, it's well acted and although a little slow in places (which you need to understand the backstory), there's a pretty high body count. It's low on gore, but it doesn't get in the way of it and doesn't rely on gratuitous violence for its many scares. It has a great beginning and an even better ending. One of the better films I've seen this year. I'm still thinking about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRAGEDY BRINGS US TOGETHER, 21 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A small town that boasts a mega-church is plagued by a ration of suicides. By the fourth suicide, we the viewer, know something the town doesn't. There is a conflict between the godly town folks, and a lone school boy (Thomas Dekker) who holds different religious views. His brother was the first victim. Lindsey (Elizabeth Rice), our religious neutral, and voice of reason in this film, attempts to figure out the curse and stop it before it reaches her. Kelly Blatz plays the unlikeable preacher's son who leads a town of vigilantes.

Well acted film. Good flow. Good ending. Worth owning. Walmart has the entire series III "8 Films To Die For" in one DVD pack in their $5 bin.

F-bombs, no sex, or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much better than expected with some great performances and directing, 12 Jun 2013
This review is from: From Within [DVD] (DVD)
Cover and blurb on the back suggest a average crappy horror movie. However, this is a brilliant film with great characters, performances and that is shot extremely beautifully.
The film is about how a religious community can become a religious cult. How a religious teacher can become a power mad leader of zealots by using peoples fear against them. The performances are amazingly good, Thomas Dekker is ok but is left in the dark by the fantastic performances from Elizabeth Rice as the heroine and very creepy but enigmatic turns from Kelly Blatz and Margo Harshman and you can't take your eyes off them in their scenes. Even minor characters get great performances from Jared Harris, Adam Goldberg and Laura Allen.
All the scares and creepy reflections in mirrors ect are fine but nothing you've not seen before. It is the character and dramatic scenes that you remember more than the horror scenes.
It is shot absolutely gorgeously especially the climax which is simply beautifully shot on a gorgeous location with amazing cinematography.
Minor flaw is that it comes up saying "Saturday", "Sunday" ,"10pm" it's really pointless and takes you out of the plot but when that's the worst you can say about it then it can't be that bad. When I think back on this I have forgotten all of the horror scenes and remember the excellent characters and performances.
This film was such a pleasant surprise as it is clearly made with a lot of love. The actors all bring their best game, lots of thought and effort has been put into all the shots, lighting, locations ect and it all pays off in a really excellent film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull, 5 Oct 2011
This review is from: From Within [DVD] (DVD)
I found this very slow and boring, and was not sure who this film was aimed at. The pacing was too slow and, although the body count is quite high, it was just not scary and there was very little tension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Okay Horror Film., 24 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: From Within [DVD] (DVD)
I picked this title up at my local rental store, thinking I haven't seen a good decent horror movie for a long while so I watched it last night. It's about a curse that hits a small town by a rising number of sucides, around the same time eighteen year old Linsey meets the mysterious Sean who's brother maybe the reason why all this is happening. Sure, it's not going to win awards for it's script or acting or the budget but it's entertaining and worth it's 80 minutes or so. The only thing that bugged me was the ending, it was shocking and way too sad to end. I like my kind of horror movies to have a calm ending, here it dosen't happen but it does make you think afterwards. It has a cast of upcoming actors and known ones like Rumer Wills (also known as Bruce's daughter) and Jared Harris, each giving a okay pefomance to root for. It's recommened to see though it's not jumpy or really scary at all but it's worth it's running time and entertainment for the night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BE PATIENT !!!!!!, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Within [DVD] (DVD)
This is a good scary film, but you really have to be patient with it as it takes a while to get to the basic story ! well worth the money !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars pretty good....., 20 July 2013
This review is from: From Within [DVD] (DVD)
well, i read reviews and took a chance..and am pleasantly surprised, after watching a couple of not so good movies after reading good reviews on amazon...but this one was actually pretty good. well worth a watch..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great service., 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Within [DVD] (DVD)
Consistent with a great service as always. If only evryone could provide service like this. Will continue to use without any hesitation. With thanks.....A+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars thriller, 10 July 2013
By 
John Marshall "JJ" (GLASGOW) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Within [DVD] (DVD)
Good film, very tense in parts, well worth the watch as it didnt cost a fortune either.would buy similiar movies as I like the genre very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From Within [DVD]
From Within [DVD] by Adam Goldberg (DVD - 2009)
2.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews