Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars8
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: DVDChange
Price:£11.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 December 2009
I really enjoyed this, and bought it knowing little about it other than it was made by Southern TV in 1973/74 and the cover had John Thaw upon it. It is a whodunnit centred around a £60,000,000 investment made in the 1920s and those who will murder to get their hand on it. John Thaw is good in it, but the person who really shines in Peter Sallis, best known in these enlightened times as Clegg in Last of the Summer Wine. His performance here is quite outstanding and makes one wonder why he spent the mid 70s onwards in a Mac with a flat cap, when he was capable of such wonderful acting. Money, I guess. Anyway, filmed in the Hampshire area (with some shots of Kensington), and also starring Glyn Owen, who plays a wonderfully grumpy DCI. Someone should have told Peter Sallis how to pronounce Capone, but that aside, this is a great bit of viewing, and comes highly recommended. More like this please.
33 comments18 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
I enjoy 70s British Dramas & Thrillers, mainly from the ITV stable...some are hit & miss and some are classics due to the acting, pacing of the stories & filming style. When I bought this, I had read the reviews on this....I felt that I wanted to find out for myself, and I'm glad I did...It's an enjoyable, unusual but well produced mini-series, made in 1974 by Southern Television (made famous for making Children's programmes RUNAROUND & WORZEL GUMMIDGE). Starring Peter Sallis (Summer Wine) & John Thaw (Sweeney), the story centers around a vast amount of money that was kept hidden safe in the UK by gangster Al CAPONE, which he raised during the Prohibition period of the 1930's. After two americans are found shot in a small village in England (HAYDOCK to be precise..!!) the police investigate. Also, why they have links to a wealthy businessman, his son and certain friends/associates he knows...?? In each episode, the local police try to link each clue together, but as they do so, more murders take place, and with the help of a mysterious MI5 agent who knows more than he reveals, they piece each link to the whereabouts of the Capone Investment & who is killing off those who are entitled to it's share...! YES, it's dated.....fashions and cars show this, along with, and other reviewers have pointed this out, about the use of 'bue screen' back projection for scenes where actors are in a car with background moving scenes....this doesn't put me off from the great acting, specially in the last episode (NO SPOILERS...!!!), so if you're expecting CGI for 1970s TV drama, you're dreaming....!!! As stated, it's well acted, some 'very light' humour mixed in, some great action scenes & twists & turns that keep you on the edge of your seat.....! Violence is graphic but shown briefly...must have been shown after the watershead, but adds to the tension and overall feel of the series. A must for fans of cult 70s British TV drama. No extras, but if you watch individual eps. 2-6, footage of a caption & voiceover of announcer of storyline summary is included before the episodes which is a nice touch..! TV Dramas & Thrillers of the 70s aren't made like this anymore, and never will be...!
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
**THIS MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS**

Notorious gangster Al Capone went to the grave without revealing the full extent of the wealth he amassed during the Prohibition era. Anybody able to discover the whereabouts of the hidden money would become a multi-millionaire. It is a secret that many people would kill for.
It is revealed that a £60,000,000 slice of the gangster's goldmine was hidden in England in the 1920s and a brutal murder triggers the chase. Businessman George Hunter holds the key to the mystery, while the police and DI6 follow a trail of bodies and clues which shatter the rural calm of a small country town...

Produced by Southern Television in 1974, The Capone Investment was written by Ian Kennedy Martin, who created The Sweeney later the same year.

NOTE: Just to let you know that John Thaw, who starred in this classic thriller serial, did not play George Hunter as stated on the DVD sleeve, he played the businessman's son Tom. Although the series had a network screening in 1974, it was originally screened by its own Southern Television area in 1973 (according to the IMDb).

I discovered The Capone Investment on the internet by chance and felt that I should see if it was available on DVD, and I'm glad of doing so because it was a very good show. When having watched the first episode, I was really impressed with it, so much so that I decided to watch the entire series in one go as each episode is around 25 minutes (minus advert breaks from when it was first shown on ITV). Another reason I bought this series is because I'm a huge fan of the late great John Thaw who starred in the show, and I pretty much like anything he starred in. This is a truly compelling drama that is very entertaining, and is very highly recommended to anyone who likes great dramas such as this series.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
Really enjoyed this TV series. It was really odd but John Thaw is always worth watching. Surprised that ITV 3 etc have not added this to their schedules as they show Morse 100s and 100s of times but not some of his other wonderful shows
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 September 2010
Southern Colour Productions presents "THE CAPONE INVESTMENT" (July 1974) (149 mins/Color) --- Six full episodes has us on the edge of our seats with character building drama --- Locations and some fine acting give this release some teeth which dialogue plays an important part --- First rate production with some of the best British actors during that time, good show!

Check out the Amazon's Editorial Reviews and Product Description for further info.

Under the production staff of:
Alan Gibson [Director]
James Gatward [Director/Producer]
Ian Kennedy Martin [Screenwriter]
Alexander Faris [Original Music]
Mike Womersley [Production Design]
John Dilly [Production Design]
Sid Squires [Sound]
Dick Bayley Camera Dept.]

BIOS:
Peter Sallis
Date of Birth: 1 February 1921 - Twickenham, Middlesex, England, UK
Date of Death: Still Living

Glyn Owen
Date of Birth: 6 March 1928 - Bolton, Lancashire, England, UK
Date of Death: 10 September 2004 - Caernarfon, Gwynedd, Wales, UK

Isobel Black
Date of Birth: 15 December 1943 - Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
Date of Death: Still Living

John Thaw
Date of Birth: 3 January 1942 - West Gorton, Manchester, England, UK
Date of Death: 21 February 2002 - Luckington, Wiltshire, England, UK

the cast includes:
Peter Sallis ... Wheatfield
Glyn Owen ... Reaygo
Isobel Black ... Fran
John Thaw ... Tom
Roland Curram ... Bunty
Jill Dixon ... Abigail
Richard Coleman ... Duncan Hall
John Bown ... Metcalfe
Richard Shaw ... Greener

Special footnote, actor John Thaw had great success as Detective Inspector Regan in "The Sweeney" (1975) - also with "Inspector Morse" (1987), Thaw was yet again cast as a policeman, but this time a more cultured character than Regan --- Morse was Thaw's most popular and long-running project --- It established him as British television's most bankable actor, and during the 1990s he had many other starring vehicles --- Thaw was a favorite of film director Richard Attenborough, who cast him in "Cry Freedom" (1987) and "Chaplin" (1992).

Under some good direction and an outstanding cast with a copy that is good for viewing --- Check out "The British Are Coming" is the three minute sum and pieces of various British Films coming attractions to view on VCI, other than that no other bonus or extras --- Highly recommend for all the collectors of "British Films" from the early '70s with good drama characterization --- Take note of the hair styles and clothing that is clearly the '60s and '70s, and made casual living the uniform of the day from then on.

Total Time: 149 min on DVD ~ VCI Home Video #8497 ~ (8/31/2010)
0Comment5 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2015
Great John Thaw drama.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
(SPOT ON MR IREDALE, WHY WAS PETER SALLIS NOT GIVEN HIS OWN SERIES? ON THE BACK OF THIS.I LOVE JOHN THAW AND THIS WAS HIM A LITTLE CLIPPED BUT NONETHELESS REGAN! DRIVING ROUND IN HIS STAG-GETTING TO THE TRUTH ABOUT HIS FATHERS PAST,ONE STEP AHEAD OF THE POLICE LED BY GLYN OWEN, A MAN PLAYING CATCH-UP WITH THE DI6 MAN PLAYED BY PETER SALLIS WHO IS VERY GOOD.I THINK THE FACT EACH EPISODE RUNS AT (25 MIN)IS GREAT FOR THOSE OF US NOT GLUED TO THE BOX 24/7)AND I LOOK FORWARD TO FIND SOME MORE OF THESE GEMS I WAS TO YOUNG TO WATCH FIRST TIME ROUND! IF YOU LOVE THE ERA PLEASE BUY THROUGH AMAZON UK,
0Comment1 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2011
This moves a bit slow for my liking. There was obviously not much budget for this as when the actors are travelling in a car, the scene in the background is a recorded moving picture, so they are not really driving at all, they are in a static car in the studio. This makes it hard to watch for me and a little thing like that takes the gloss off the series for me.
I know we're talking 1974 but this is the sort of thing that used to be used in films of the 50s and 60s.
33 comments3 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Learn More About Our Belief In Long-Term, Diversified Investment.
  -  
Invest in a number of low risk film projects with guaranteed returns
  -  
Because We Can Help You Determine If You're On The Right Track. Apply