Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early '70s whodunnit (and it will have you guessing...)
I really enjoyed this, and bought it knowing little about it other than it was made by Southern TV in 1973/74 and the cover had John Thaw upon it. It is a whodunnit centred around a 60,000,000 investment made in the 1920s and those who will murder to get their hand on it. John Thaw is good in it, but the person who really shines in Peter Sallis, best known in these...
Published on 8 Dec 2009 by Mr. C. J. Iredale

versus
2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Limited Budget
This moves a bit slow for my liking. There was obviously not much budget for this as when the actors are travelling in a car, the scene in the background is a recorded moving picture, so they are not really driving at all, they are in a static car in the studio. This makes it hard to watch for me and a little thing like that takes the gloss off the series for me.
I...
Published on 15 May 2011 by Mr. P. Fixter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early '70s whodunnit (and it will have you guessing...), 8 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. C. J. Iredale "juxtapose" (London Town) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Capone Investment [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this, and bought it knowing little about it other than it was made by Southern TV in 1973/74 and the cover had John Thaw upon it. It is a whodunnit centred around a 60,000,000 investment made in the 1920s and those who will murder to get their hand on it. John Thaw is good in it, but the person who really shines in Peter Sallis, best known in these enlightened times as Clegg in Last of the Summer Wine. His performance here is quite outstanding and makes one wonder why he spent the mid 70s onwards in a Mac with a flat cap, when he was capable of such wonderful acting. Money, I guess. Anyway, filmed in the Hampshire area (with some shots of Kensington), and also starring Glyn Owen, who plays a wonderfully grumpy DCI. Someone should have told Peter Sallis how to pronounce Capone, but that aside, this is a great bit of viewing, and comes highly recommended. More like this please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining 70s Crime Thriller...They don't make them like this anymore..!, 27 Feb 2013
By 
P. W. Ruck "pwruck" (North West, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Capone Investment [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoy 70s British Dramas & Thrillers, mainly from the ITV stable...some are hit & miss and some are classics due to the acting, pacing of the stories & filming style. When I bought this, I had read the reviews on this....I felt that I wanted to find out for myself, and I'm glad I did...It's an enjoyable, unusual but well produced mini-series, made in 1974 by Southern Television (made famous for making Children's programmes RUNAROUND & WORZEL GUMMIDGE). Starring Peter Sallis (Summer Wine) & John Thaw (Sweeney), the story centers around a vast amount of money that was kept hidden safe in the UK by gangster Al CAPONE, which he raised during the Prohibition period of the 1930's. After two americans are found shot in a small village in England (HAYDOCK to be precise..!!) the police investigate. Also, why they have links to a wealthy businessman, his son and certain friends/associates he knows...?? In each episode, the local police try to link each clue together, but as they do so, more murders take place, and with the help of a mysterious MI5 agent who knows more than he reveals, they piece each link to the whereabouts of the Capone Investment & who is killing off those who are entitled to it's share...! YES, it's dated.....fashions and cars show this, along with, and other reviewers have pointed this out, about the use of 'bue screen' back projection for scenes where actors are in a car with background moving scenes....this doesn't put me off from the great acting, specially in the last episode (NO SPOILERS...!!!), so if you're expecting CGI for 1970s TV drama, you're dreaming....!!! As stated, it's well acted, some 'very light' humour mixed in, some great action scenes & twists & turns that keep you on the edge of your seat.....! Violence is graphic but shown briefly...must have been shown after the watershead, but adds to the tension and overall feel of the series. A must for fans of cult 70s British TV drama. No extras, but if you watch individual eps. 2-6, footage of a caption & voiceover of announcer of storyline summary is included before the episodes which is a nice touch..! TV Dramas & Thrillers of the 70s aren't made like this anymore, and never will be...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent mini-series from Southern Television, 6 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. A. J. Tennant "Metalhead" (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Capone Investment [DVD] (DVD)
**THIS MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS**

Notorious gangster Al Capone went to the grave without revealing the full extent of the wealth he amassed during the Prohibition era. Anybody able to discover the whereabouts of the hidden money would become a multi-millionaire. It is a secret that many people would kill for.
It is revealed that a 60,000,000 slice of the gangster's goldmine was hidden in England in the 1920s and a brutal murder triggers the chase. Businessman George Hunter holds the key to the mystery, while the police and DI6 follow a trail of bodies and clues which shatter the rural calm of a small country town...

Produced by Southern Television in 1974, The Capone Investment was written by Ian Kennedy Martin, who created The Sweeney later the same year.

NOTE: Just to let you know that John Thaw, who starred in this classic thriller serial, did not play George Hunter as stated on the DVD sleeve, he played the businessman's son Tom. Although the series had a network screening in 1974, it was originally screened by its own Southern Television area in 1973 (according to the IMDb).

I discovered The Capone Investment on the internet by chance and felt that I should see if it was available on DVD, and I'm glad of doing so because it was a very good show. When having watched the first episode, I was really impressed with it, so much so that I decided to watch the entire series in one go as each episode is around 25 minutes (minus advert breaks from when it was first shown on ITV). Another reason I bought this series is because I'm a huge fan of the late great John Thaw who starred in the show, and I pretty much like anything he starred in. This is a truly compelling drama that is very entertaining, and is very highly recommended to anyone who likes great dramas such as this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The Capone Investment (1974) ... Ian Kennedy Martin ... VCI Ent. (2010)", 12 Sep 2010
By 
J. Lovins "Mr. Jim" (Missouri-USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Southern Colour Productions presents "THE CAPONE INVESTMENT" (July 1974) (149 mins/Color) --- Six full episodes has us on the edge of our seats with character building drama --- Locations and some fine acting give this release some teeth which dialogue plays an important part --- First rate production with some of the best British actors during that time, good show!

Check out the Amazon's Editorial Reviews and Product Description for further info.

Under the production staff of:
Alan Gibson [Director]
James Gatward [Director/Producer]
Ian Kennedy Martin [Screenwriter]
Alexander Faris [Original Music]
Mike Womersley [Production Design]
John Dilly [Production Design]
Sid Squires [Sound]
Dick Bayley Camera Dept.]

BIOS:
Peter Sallis
Date of Birth: 1 February 1921 - Twickenham, Middlesex, England, UK
Date of Death: Still Living

Glyn Owen
Date of Birth: 6 March 1928 - Bolton, Lancashire, England, UK
Date of Death: 10 September 2004 - Caernarfon, Gwynedd, Wales, UK

Isobel Black
Date of Birth: 15 December 1943 - Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
Date of Death: Still Living

John Thaw
Date of Birth: 3 January 1942 - West Gorton, Manchester, England, UK
Date of Death: 21 February 2002 - Luckington, Wiltshire, England, UK

the cast includes:
Peter Sallis ... Wheatfield
Glyn Owen ... Reaygo
Isobel Black ... Fran
John Thaw ... Tom
Roland Curram ... Bunty
Jill Dixon ... Abigail
Richard Coleman ... Duncan Hall
John Bown ... Metcalfe
Richard Shaw ... Greener

Special footnote, actor John Thaw had great success as Detective Inspector Regan in "The Sweeney" (1975) - also with "Inspector Morse" (1987), Thaw was yet again cast as a policeman, but this time a more cultured character than Regan --- Morse was Thaw's most popular and long-running project --- It established him as British television's most bankable actor, and during the 1990s he had many other starring vehicles --- Thaw was a favorite of film director Richard Attenborough, who cast him in "Cry Freedom" (1987) and "Chaplin" (1992).

Under some good direction and an outstanding cast with a copy that is good for viewing --- Check out "The British Are Coming" is the three minute sum and pieces of various British Films coming attractions to view on VCI, other than that no other bonus or extras --- Highly recommend for all the collectors of "British Films" from the early '70s with good drama characterization --- Take note of the hair styles and clothing that is clearly the '60s and '70s, and made casual living the uniform of the day from then on.

Total Time: 149 min on DVD ~ VCI Home Video #8497 ~ (8/31/2010)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PETER SALLIS ..FINE ACTOR!, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Capone Investment [DVD] (DVD)
(SPOT ON MR IREDALE, WHY WAS PETER SALLIS NOT GIVEN HIS OWN SERIES? ON THE BACK OF THIS.I LOVE JOHN THAW AND THIS WAS HIM A LITTLE CLIPPED BUT NONETHELESS REGAN! DRIVING ROUND IN HIS STAG-GETTING TO THE TRUTH ABOUT HIS FATHERS PAST,ONE STEP AHEAD OF THE POLICE LED BY GLYN OWEN, A MAN PLAYING CATCH-UP WITH THE DI6 MAN PLAYED BY PETER SALLIS WHO IS VERY GOOD.I THINK THE FACT EACH EPISODE RUNS AT (25 MIN)IS GREAT FOR THOSE OF US NOT GLUED TO THE BOX 24/7)AND I LOOK FORWARD TO FIND SOME MORE OF THESE GEMS I WAS TO YOUNG TO WATCH FIRST TIME ROUND! IF YOU LOVE THE ERA PLEASE BUY THROUGH AMAZON UK,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Limited Budget, 15 May 2011
By 
Mr. P. Fixter (Wakefield, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Capone Investment [DVD] (DVD)
This moves a bit slow for my liking. There was obviously not much budget for this as when the actors are travelling in a car, the scene in the background is a recorded moving picture, so they are not really driving at all, they are in a static car in the studio. This makes it hard to watch for me and a little thing like that takes the gloss off the series for me.
I know we're talking 1974 but this is the sort of thing that used to be used in films of the 50s and 60s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Capone Investment [DVD]
The Capone Investment [DVD] by James Gatward (DVD - 2009)
8.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews