Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mark Porter, Client Relationship Director, Tonic
I thoroughly recommend this book to those looking to gain a map of the territory that lies between information presentation, behavioural responses, interaction design and the universal game of gentle persuasion. This is a great introduction to the user experience. It can be read and its wisdom applied to designing, planning and user profiling by those of us who create for...
Published on 8 Nov 2009 by Mark Porter

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Very disappointed - this is just a rehash of Robert Cialdini's book Influence with a few comments about websites. No real insights; no cohesive framework for developing persuasive websites. No rigorous analysis based on her own experience working on persuasive websites. So why 2 stars - well if you haven't read Cialdini there may be something there for you.
Published on 4 July 2011 by Mr. Lawrence Taylor


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Explains the "why"as well as the "how", 28 Feb 2012
This review is from: Neuro Web Design: What Makes Them Click? (Voices That Matter) (Kindle Edition)
I've reviewed a few resources in this field and this book draws on some familiar teachings. However what makes this book different is the examination of the neuro interactions of the human mind and its influence in online conversion.

Susan explains that we have one brain but that its evolved from 3 main segments. Layers that have developed during our evolution as a species. These segments continue to operate today, interdependently, informing and protecting us as well as influencing our decision making.

Its a book that gets better as it progresses. Very readable and essential reading for any one in the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Neuro Web Design, 2 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Neuro Web Design: What Makes Them Click? (Voices That Matter) (Kindle Edition)
This book explains how to apply human behaviour to the design of Web sites. Ideas, concepts, etc are explained in a very simple way and illustrated with examples. Both, the topics and the writing make this book very easy and interesting to read.

That is a list of the main ideas contained in every chapter:

CHAPTER 1: DESIGNING WEB SITES FOR PERSUASION AND THE UNCONSCIOUS MIND.
We like to think that we make our decisions based on careful thought, but...
Most of our decisions and actions come from the unconscious mind ' smart, efficient and fast; we couldn't survive without it.
Web sites that speak to the 3 brains (new: REASONING, mid: EMOTIONS & old: AUTOMATIC) are the most effective
CHAPTER 2: WANTING TO BELONG: THE POWER OF SOCIAL VALIDATION.
WHEN...
Whe know what others experienced with a product...
We know what other people is doing at a Web site...
We know what others are doing right now...
WE ARE CALLED OUT TO ACT ' we'll do what others are doing; we'll be drawn to belong.
CHAPTER 3: FEELING INDEBTED: HOW TO BUILD IN RECIPROCITY & CONCESSION.
Giving a gift trigers indebtness ' ' likelyhood that other will RECIPROCATE by giving you something.
First ask for something that others consider beyond their means so they say 'NO' ' follow immediately with a more reasonable request and they are more likely to say 'YES'.
CHAPTER 4: INVOKING SCARCITY - IF SOMETHING SEEMS UNAVAILABLE, WE SEEM TO WANT IT EVEN MORE.
If somethins is scarce, it seems more desirable & more valuable to us.
Showing limited quantity in stock / limited time frame that something is available ' invokes scarcity ' motivates to act.
INFORMATION might be hard to get ' will make that information more valuable to us.
CHAPTER 5: CHOOSING CAREFULLY - GIVEN TOO MANY CHOICES, WE FREEZE (AND THEN WE DON'T CHOOSE AT ALL).
Lot of choices
We think we want them.
Make us unable to take any action.
We can focus only in 1 or 2 product attributes at a time.
If we think we can take somethingright away, that notion will be a strong pull to take action and buy right away.
Put first
What you want them to choose.
What you want to see the most.
CHAPTER 6: IT'S ALL ABOUT YOU: SPEAKING TO THE SELF-CENTERED, UNCONSCIOUS MIND.
Old brain cares about YOU...
Protecting YOU (threat).
Feeding YOU (food).
Helping YOU to reproduce (sex).
Grab someone's attention ' get attention of old brain by...
Having something to change ' threatens ' scan environment.
Showing food.
Implying sex.
Using the word 'YOU'.
CHAPTER 7: BUILDING COMMITMENT - WE WANT TO THINK WE'RE CONSISTENT.
Ask people to commit (in stages) to an idea ' verbally / in writing
Commit in stages:
Ask for commitment first.
Ask for action consistent to commitment at later date.
Difficult experience: we will be even more commited to the product affiliation.
CHAPTER 8: USING SIMILARITY, ATTRACTIVENESS AND ASSOCIATION: ARE WE THE SAME?
For the OLD BRAIN is all about deciding to flee, eat or have sex.
ASSOCIATIONS:
Associating an object with a celebrity or an attractive person will make the object more attractive too ' don't underestimate the power of attractive people.
We are swayed most by those we think are similar to us.
CHAPTER 9: AFRAID TO LOSE - HOW FEAR OF LOSS TRUMPS OUR ANTICIPATION OF VICTORY.
We are programmed to notice and pay attention to situations that might result in our fear of losing.
Fear of losing motivates us more than the opportunity to win.
Body and unconscious will pick up on possible loss situation faster than our conscious mind picks up on them.
If an event is associated with an emotion we will remember it better.
Even subtle wording can affect your response.
CHAPTER 10: USING PICTURES AND STORIES - THE BEST WAY TO TALK TO OUR UNCONSCIOUS MIND.
Programmed to think in stories.
Web sites with stories or using the word 'story' will grab our attention.
We pay attention to and remember pictures better than words.
PICTURES + STORIES:
Grab + hold our attention.
Help us to remember.
CHAPTER 11: WE ARE SOCIAL ANIMALS - FINDING THE NEXT BIG THING BY MAKING IT SOCIAL.
History shows that whatever technology there is, we will find a way to use it to communicate (to make it social).

In case you've found that interesting and want a bit more detail on every chapter, you can find some notes at:
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Practical advice for your ecommerce project, 17 Aug 2011
This book will not change your life. But it will give you some tips (less than 10) that you probably already knew about, but never paid a lot of attention to.

Great introduction of the academic approach, even if the story of the drugged child is highly UNacademic and an overenthusiastic example of the power of Youtube.

Good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A good taster, 25 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is an accessible and easy read that provides an introduction to human behaviour as it relates to web interfaces. If this is a new topic for you and you want to dip your toe into the water, then this is a good starting book (though a better starting point would be Don Norman's The Design of Everyday Things). The easily digestible chapters refer to fundamental research that underpins the text and provide a 'take home' summary at the end of each chapter.

It is however a book that lacks depth, and is only really suitable as an introduction to someone who wants to understand how people use the web. If you already have an interest in the field of human behaviour or human-computer interaction then it is likely that this book has very little to offer you. Overall a disappointment, but potentially useful to those with a passing interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet, 29 Mar 2011
One of the best books I've read so far for learning how to create usable websites, it applies psychology to design, so backs up claims and suggestions with evidence. There are some great examples in the book to get insipartion from.

As others reviews have noted, it's not particulary long, I'd also recommend buying `Clout: The Art and Science of Influential Web Content (Voices That Matter)'. It contains similar information but goes into more depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very inspiring read, highly recommended for everyone (not only designers), 30 Jan 2011
By 
Anna Botsvine (The Hague, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This book doesn't limits itself by solving only typical design problems. It really about how we think, feel and make our everyday choices on- and offline. It lightens up the whole online communication from a very different and interesting perspective. It truly describes a total user experience and customer feeling towards a brand or company over a period time.

This is a book you read on one go, and want to read over and over again. So simple and yet so persuasive with great examples of various psychological research and recent studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars interesting read for anyone looking at website design, 28 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The key to a successful website seems to be 'Make It Easy To Buy' and this book gives some key identifiers into how such concepts can be simply incorporated into your website design.
Language is a bit simplistic at times but at least this makes the concepts easy to understand.
Well worth buying for anyone involved in websites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 1 Nov 2010
By 
C. Green (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It took me just over two hours to read this book cover to cover - it is an engaging and informative read. Even though I already knew a lot of the topics covered in the book, the way it is written really got me thinking.

It's a good easy weekend read for both experienced web professionals and people new to the field and I'd happily recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice read about human behaviour on- and offline, 3 Aug 2009
By 
Leen Demeester (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A fun and easy read, gives you great insight in the unconscious decisions we make when browsing the internet. Full of nice examples and handy tips on how to attract people to your website and make them stay there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good and interesting little quick read, 22 July 2009
This little book is a good start into the field of 'why do we do what we do'. It's a mix of stories, web-sociology, and recaps. Reading it is quickly done, and it does feel slightly 'simplified' but it is worth spending a few hours reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews