Customer Reviews


242 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good
I was almost put off by a lot of hype trying to connect this film to Bollywood in some way which wouldn't have really been my cup of tea. What Danny Boyle has achieved here, however, is a stunningly vivid and touching film all about ordinary people which should translate to just about every country and culture in the world. A well deserved barrel load of Oscars.
Published on 26 Aug 2011 by Shrewlord

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Slumdog Millionaire" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With The 'US' Disc...
Never did understand why this harrowing and at times horrible film was peddled on us as 'an uplifting' tale. It isn't.

However if you're a fan - note that the ‘US’ edition of the BLU RAY on 20th Century Fox is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which most aren't).

Buy the UK...
Published 4 months ago by Mark Barry


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh and original, 9 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] (DVD)
Slumdog Millionaire is a huge boost to the movie industry. It offers a fresh and original piece of film making.

The concept of "Slumdog Millionaire" is interesting and fascinating. After watching the movie, you can draw your own concluions. Well, it about a villager (Jamal) raised in the slums of Mumbai, India. He is no ordinary child. Jamal has observed a wide picture of Indian society. These include religious conflicts, the widespread poverty, underworld activities, meeting Bollywood movie stars, the beautiful Taj Mahal and corruption. He relieves and shares the experience in a quiz show "Who want to be a millionaire?, Indian version to win a million pounds. Does the experience prove valuable in the bid to win a huge jackpot? It certaintly does, but it creates suspiscion from the host ( Bollywood star Anil Kapoor), producers and the police. Ram is interograted by the police on the suspiscion of cheating. He battles to set the record straight with the police. That is the general gist of the story.

Slumdog Millionaire is a small budget movie, that achieved overwhemling sucess depsite low expectations. It has won numerous awards. Now it become a world movie brand. The point raised in the review is that you do not need an extravagant budget to be assured of success. It backfires and is an unnecessary waste of resources. Slumdog Millionaire used it resources effectively to provide a fine and original piece of filmaking with a well crafted plot, excellent characters and realism about society in the country. It portrays a dark side of the Indian society, which some viewers may find distrubing, but it offers a story to make you feel good with a touch of Bollywood magic, even though the movie is targeted at western audience. Overall. I really enjoyed the movie and it deserves the huge suceess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not feel good, 5 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] (DVD)
I think this is the most depressing movie I have ever watched! I clearly live on a different planet to the people that describe this movie as "feel good". I'm off now to look for a beam and a length of rope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FUN AND FAST MOVING;, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] (DVD)
Loved this film, and the music, which is why I bought it as a film to go in my collection for holiday visitors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not so thrilled..., 29 April 2014
By 
P. Pool (Brighton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] (DVD)
I expected the film to be more upbeat. Its actually quite unpleasantly violent in places. While I am sure that is sadly closer to the real life experiences of many children in India this did not sit well with the marketing or upbeat hype of the film. Its still a good film, but don't expect as I did that it will lift your spirits or be mainly about the songs and music. The "Who Wants to be a Millionaire" thread being the story works as a fairly clumsy, in parts, means of telling the story.

Given the positive hype I was expecting an extraordinary film and perhaps judging it by that expectation is harsh - its a good film but not, for me, a great one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A different kind of millionaire, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have been to India many times and this is true to a lot of what I know about it. Was also quite funny in places and sad in others. Thought it was really good overall and would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing film!! classic!!, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] (DVD)
great film featuring my favourite TV quiz show that is Who Wants to Be a Millionaire? to be watched over and over again!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes simple ideas turn out into a Great Film, 17 Mar 2014
By 
Dale Green (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not just another rags to riches film with some great shooting and messages of the unjust difference in wealth in this world. The twist with the police interviews is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Believe the hype, 16 Mar 2014
This review is from: Slumdog Millionaire (DVD)
Slumdog exceeds expectations by brilliantly telling a touching and compelling story whilst creating suspense and excitement for a climax that has already been revealed by the title of the film. The characters are utterly believable and I have to confess I was more nervous watching this episode of Millionaire than any other I have ever watched. Virtually the perfect film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great movie, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] (DVD)
Did not follow the story at times but it was still excellent and a good price. I will watch it again sometime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very Average- you get the feeling it could have been done much better, 24 Jan 2014
This review is from: Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] (DVD)
Slumdog Millionaire was the film everyone was talking about- with a great story, one feels let down and that the film could have been ten times better. Lets get something straight first, forget about the DVD blurb saying that this is the feel good film. This is a dark movie with moments of black humour. And of course why wouldn't it be? Anyone who cares to read the plot would know. If you're looking for a feel good movie go and check most comedy/adventure movies from the 1980s.

The movies biggest fault is that it is so predictable and plays its cards way too early. You're just waiting for the end which has already played out in your mind about an hour before final credits.

Danny Boyle has directed well enough but the overall story and script is weak. It's a shame because with a decent team of writers this could have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slumdog Millionaire
Slumdog Millionaire by Danny Boyle (DVD)
8.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews